We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo di Valli

Save Saved
You added Palazzo di Valli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo di Valli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Enea Silvio Piccolomini 135, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 43 hotels in Siena
Parrearra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

If you wish to experience a truly Tuscan holiday you can do no better than stay at this hotel. My wife and I spent 7 wonderful days of our Italian honeymoon at this boutique hotel. Lorenzo and Giacomo are the most gracious friendly hosts and were extremely helpful. Nothing seemed a bother for them. The rooms were clean and the location perfect. We managed day trips by car to Florence, Pisa, Assisi, San Gimignano and Montepulciano, stoping at numerous beautiful villages and towns on our way. Siena is walking distance from the hotel and is a must see. The hotel has breathtaking views and is very quiet given it's proximity to the centre of Siena. Overall, our experience at this hotel was fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    56
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
203
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This is one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in, given the price range. The room was huge, the owner Jacomo and Lorenzo were wonderful and the views are spectacular! This is a real Tuscan hotel right on the hills of Siena, in a close distance to the town, yet away so that you feel the real Tuscan sun!

The breakfast was wonderful, the terrace was wonderful, the room was clean, neat, and spacious. I will definitely return to this little gem of a hotel...

Room Tip: I beleive every room in this hotel comes with a view; we had the La Vita room and we loved every bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012 via mobile

Pros:
Clean rooms, great views, friendly owner/operator who was very helpful, location good and walking distance to Siena or easy to catch a bus, bed was comfortable, and superior rooms were large.

Cons:
Breakfast has room for improvement (coffee machine in Italy!), grounds still need some TLC, we would have preferred a sitting area in the room as opposed to an extra bed.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

We travelled down a narrow brick lined driveway to find this charming beautiful hotel. We viewed the tower of the ancient city of Siena, at the same time hugging olive groves, and being surrounded by beautiful Tuscany all at the same time.

The building is so very lovely.

The staff are so very friendly and helpful.

The breakfast was one of the best we had found in Italy. The breakfast room was beautiful with brick arches, and floors. The presentation was wonderful. We ate outside on the brick terrace.

The room was very comfortable with that wonderful historical flavour.

It was only a 20 minute walk to the walled city. It was a 5 minute to the countryside.

When back in Siena, we will stay at
Palazzo Di Valli.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed here in January as part of a month long trip around Italy. It was so nice to get away from the cities and spend some time in the slower pace of the countryside.

Just driving up the driveway through the olive trees you know you are in for something special! We received a very warm welcome and assistance with our very heavy bags! Our room was on the main floor to the right of the reception. When the windows were opened we were treated to an amazing view of the countryside - very much a wow moment. The room was very large and spotlessly clean and for the price was a real bargain. We really couldn't have done any better. The view from the carpark back up to Siena is also worth stopping for.

One of the biggest wow moments of our stay though was waking up to a sensational pinky orange sunrise, so despite the cold we threw open the windows and jumped back into the warm bed and watched the sky change hues. Very special.

The hotel is an easy 15-20 minute walk to the gates of the city and then its a step back into time as you discover the beautiful city. At the end of our day it started to rain so we caught the local bus back to the hotel which dropped us off about 50 metres from the gates - easy!

The staff were extremely helpful especially when it came to getting around and where to visit.

We can thoroughly recommend this hotel and it was one of the highlights of our trip. We'd definitely love to go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

The hotel is located within walking distance to the city centre, Friendly and helpful owner and staff who speaks good English. The view from the garden is great, morning and evening.
Breakfast spread is good.
Room clean with high painted ceiling and it's the only hotel during our trip that provides bedroom slippers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with window view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Pallazzo di Valli which we found through recommendations on Tripadvisor. It's about a 20 minute walk from the town centre, but if you're feeling adventurous and want to experience something a bit more special, then it's absolutely worth it. There's also an inexpensive bus every 15 minutes or so that stops right outside the hotel, that goes the town centre in 5 minutes. After discovering this there was no need to walk far! Upon arrival we were greeted by our Italian host who was absolutely charming and so helpful in getting us settled in and offering advice. We had a good chat about the complexities of finding truffles! Our room was the 'Classico' with high ceilings and the most amazing views looking over the Tuscan hills. The hotel is situated in an olive grove which we had a walk around and was full of singing birds. The breakfast was lovely. We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palazzo di Valli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo di Valli

Address: Via Enea Silvio Piccolomini 135, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Siena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo di Valli 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Palazzo di Valli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Di Valli Siena
Palazzo Di Valli Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo di Valli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.