We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and after sales care!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B San Francesco

B&B San Francesco
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added B&B San Francesco to your Saves list
B&B San Francesco
Vicolo degli Orbachi 2, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 103 Siena B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location and after sales care!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Spent 3 memorable days in The beautiful Siena. This B&B was great value for money. Spotlessly clean and inside the walls of the medieval town. I left behind a favourite dress and Stefano sent it priority post to my next hotel. That kindness cemented the wonderful experience of Siena.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    46
    21
    6
    7
See reviews for
12
60
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

B & B San Francesco was a DELIGHT... providing a great location, private bath, beautiful views, with a historic ambiance.
The owner, Luigi, was very kind and generous offering us his knowledge on the history of Siena along with special assistance with parking our car. We felt welcomed and valued as customers.
We will certainly return to Siena and when we do we will stay at B & B San Francesco.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a no frills bed and breakfast, but conveniently located if you plan to visit the city.

I arrived at 7:30 pm, and the reception was closed already (they close at 6:00 pm), so I had to let myself in via a door code the manager of the b&b had emailed me. I then found the key to my room in the letter box.

San Francesco is located in the heart of Siena, in a tiny vicolo, in a "ztl" (zona traffico limitato - restricted car entrance) area. This means that cars are not allowed to circulate at certain times of day and night, and you will get good sleep. I had a nice view from my windon, but I stayed at the top floor, in Giotto, so I can't promise the view is just as nice from other windows.

There is no elevator in the building, and the stairs are somewhat steep and tight, so be sure not to carry too much lugguage or weight when you stay there.

My room (Giotto) was spacious and clean. The bed was not the most comfortable one in the world but it suits the purpose. The furniture is a bit uncared for (ie the closet has no handles). The shower in the bathroom is nice and powerful. Rooms have a fridge (but no minibar) and a tv. Mine was not working. I had no remote and even when I tried to switch it on, it would not work. The manager claimed someone had stolen the remotes when I asked. Weird thing to steal, I suppose. There is wifi connection in the common areas, but it hardly works.

The breakfast room is on the second floor, it is just a big table where guests sit, in front of other rooms on that floor. So, if you are staying on that floor and on the room in front of the breakfast table, you might hear some noise. Breakfast consists of tea, coffee, hot or cold milk, cereals, yogurt, butter, bread (which you can toast) and jam, and sweet pre-packaged pastries. This is no more, no less than what you'd find in other Italian bed and breakfasts: according to national law, they have no licence to actually cook or serve something which is homemade.

The personnel is nice. I had a chat with the manager's father during breakfast. Of course, speaking Italian helps. I am not 100% sure they do speak English but I would assume so.

My advice is to go here if you do not require anything extra.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, get a room on the top floor. There is a supermarket almost right outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have spent 2 wonderful days and nights in this B&B. The room was cosy and very clean. The owners were extremely kind, friendly and cute. Breakfast was good and prepared with great hospitality and smile. Luigi (the owner) has excellent English, so it was great and very pleasant to speak about this beautiful city, Italian traditions, lifestyle and history. This B&B is well located: just 2 steps to any historical beauty (must see places in Siena), just 3 steps to any good restaurant and tasty dinner, just 4 steps to car rental office (to explore Toscana), just 5 steps to the bus station to go anywhere else. If you want to feel the heart beat of Siena, you definitely should stay in San Francesco B&B! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights with a friend. The room and bathroom were clean, beds comfortable and the location is v convenient for exploring Siena. The owners were friendly; fortunately my friend spoke Italian but I'm sure if I'd been on my own I could have been understood and understand! Breakfast was good at E2.50- muesli, fruit juice, endless coffee, ham, cheese, croissant, cake, toast and yogurt. I would recommend this B+B. Also, it was one of the more economical options of accommodation in Siena.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a night here, and we were not impressed. We were turned off right away by the overwhelming smell of smoke. The room and bathroom were clean, but the beds were very worn down and we could feel all of the springs. It is also on a very noisy corner, so we didn't get a good night of sleep with late night people and scooters driving fast. We will unfortunately never go back.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

It was difficult to find but luckily we bumped into Luigi, the very friendly owner, on the way so he escorted us there.
The room was basic but clean and the bathroom large and fully functional.
The breakfast was adequate - we didn't get juice, ham or cheese so bought our own.
Bedrooms are off the communal kitchen / breakfast room so rather noisy but not excessive when we were there.
Met some lovely people around the breakfast table!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B San Francesco

Address: Vicolo degli Orbachi 2, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your B&B San Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francesco Bed And Breakfast
San Francesco Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B San Francesco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.