We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of Siena” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B San Francesco

B&B San Francesco
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added B&B San Francesco to your Saves list
B&B San Francesco
Vicolo degli Orbachi 2, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 103 Siena B&B and Inns
Riga, Latvia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“In the heart of Siena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have spent 2 wonderful days and nights in this B&B. The room was cosy and very clean. The owners were extremely kind, friendly and cute. Breakfast was good and prepared with great hospitality and smile. Luigi (the owner) has excellent English, so it was great and very pleasant to speak about this beautiful city, Italian traditions, lifestyle and history. This B&B is well located: just 2 steps to any historical beauty (must see places in Siena), just 3 steps to any good restaurant and tasty dinner, just 4 steps to car rental office (to explore Toscana), just 5 steps to the bus station to go anywhere else. If you want to feel the heart beat of Siena, you definitely should stay in San Francesco B&B! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    46
    21
    6
    7
See reviews for
12
60
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights with a friend. The room and bathroom were clean, beds comfortable and the location is v convenient for exploring Siena. The owners were friendly; fortunately my friend spoke Italian but I'm sure if I'd been on my own I could have been understood and understand! Breakfast was good at E2.50- muesli, fruit juice, endless coffee, ham, cheese, croissant, cake, toast and yogurt. I would recommend this B+B. Also, it was one of the more economical options of accommodation in Siena.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a night here, and we were not impressed. We were turned off right away by the overwhelming smell of smoke. The room and bathroom were clean, but the beds were very worn down and we could feel all of the springs. It is also on a very noisy corner, so we didn't get a good night of sleep with late night people and scooters driving fast. We will unfortunately never go back.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

It was difficult to find but luckily we bumped into Luigi, the very friendly owner, on the way so he escorted us there.
The room was basic but clean and the bathroom large and fully functional.
The breakfast was adequate - we didn't get juice, ham or cheese so bought our own.
Bedrooms are off the communal kitchen / breakfast room so rather noisy but not excessive when we were there.
Met some lovely people around the breakfast table!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

This B&B is well located for anyone wishing to explore Siena. Our room was on the first floor with a view over part of the old wall and city. The room was spacious, clean and quiet with a well appointed bathroom. Breakfast was adequate, but not inspiring. Sitting around a large table with other guests was a good way to start the morning, we all had different stories and languages. Point to note that owners speak very limited English, however this didn't cause any problems. We are very happy to recommend this to fellow travellers looking for reasonable accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Struggled to find this B&B with my GPS, but once I found it I was pleased by the location as it was easily within walking distance to the Campo and other sights in Siena. Parking is available at a parking garage nearby w a discount with a stamp from the hotel. It is a steep hike to/fro, so be careful. The B&B is situated in a building over two floors (2nd floor and 3rd floors up) with a small office just before that. The older couple who owns the B&B are extremely nice, but smoke constantly, which is not very nice for the rest of the guests. They do not speak much English, but their son does, and he is also very helpful. The couple are usually there in the mornings to set up for breakfast and supervise the cleaning. The son is there in the afternoons til 6pm. After that, you'll need to contact them by phone if you have any issues. The room was clean and fairly large with two twin beds, perfect for us. The bathroom was a decent size, but had a lot of mold (should use some bleach to clean that up). The only drawback was that our room was right off the dining room (a large table where all guests share a table) so that guests who lingered in the area to talk could easily be heard in our room. Very disturbing especially at night when some guests insisted on carrying on conversations past 11pm. Then of course breakfast preparations at 7am are your morning wake up call. Breakfast was adequate with bread/toast, coffee machine, tea, juice, cereal, yogurt, sliced ham and cheese. The beds were okay, firm, not all that comfortable. The B&B is on a busy corner where lots of mopeds seem to come up, but that slows at night...mostly. All in all it was an adequate place to sleep after a long day of touring.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the dining room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

this is The b&b !
the advise write on the air conditioned is very simple don't use the a/c whitout the autorization of the reception , if you do it you will pay a penality of....€!!!
i've never feel the smoke of cigarettes on the breackfast floor and on the room !
the owner is a fantastic man !!! for our anniversary we found a champagne in our room with 3 red roses!!!
fantastic!
stop to say wrong about this b&b is a little part of my hart in italy!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B San Francesco

Address: Vicolo degli Orbachi 2, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your B&B San Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francesco Bed And Breakfast
San Francesco Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B San Francesco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.