We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was empty and now we know why” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Il Vinaio

Il Vinaio
Via Sant'Agata, 8 | (Near Porta Tufi), 53100 Siena, Italy
+39 0577 42491
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 441 Restaurants in Siena
Price range: $1 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Traditional "tuscany-old style" wine-restaurant.
Marsciano, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“It was empty and now we know why”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

We were hoping to have a romantic Sunday lunch without our children for the day. Although the Vinaio's owners were very friendly and their roughly one year old daughter was darling, we didn't have the relaxing lunch we had hoped for. The baby was shouted at not to disturb us, although her chatter was cute it was the loud reprimanding in this intimate restaurant which made it hard to have a conversation. Then they proceeded to park her in her pram about 2 meters from us and placed a smartphone with youtube videos of cats being silly in front of her to keep her quiet. Unfortunately the volume of these videos was excessive and we gave up trying to speak over the squealing yowls and meows of the cats. Our wildboar arrived quickly thank god, all reheated as they don't have an actual kitchen which was a further disappointment. Finally, the parents of the baby stepped outside, shut the door and left us alone in the place to babysit the (however sweet) baby while they had a cigarette and a chat with a friend outside. We had expected higher class in a city like Siena, this would be fine for an aperitivo with friends, not for an intimate lunch.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    53
    5
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Framingham, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quaint delicious tiny place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Family run. Eating a meal is like being a guest of the family. The bean soup was divine, as was the veal and the local wine was lovely. Very reasonably priced. Charming hosts.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Unexpected surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

We stumbled across Il Vinaio while looking for another establishment and were very glad we did. This is the type of meal we were looking for in Italy. A proprietor who takes pride in serving fresh great tasting food in connection with local wines. The atmosphere was cozy and appropriate for the location. Everything added up to a great experience. From the recommended wine, to the description of the dishes, to their preparation, we couldn't have asked for more. Best of all was Claudio. He made three American tourists feel welcome.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio G, Proprietario at Il Vinaio, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Google Translation
grazieeeee!!!vi ringrazio infinitamente è una gioia poter deliziare delle persone fantastiche come voi!!!!!siete stati gentilissimi voi e la vostra splendida compagna!!!vi aspettiamo di nuovo nel nostro locale!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We had plans to have dinner somewhere else that was full, so we wandered down the street and in the door. We were treated like honored guests, not the bumbling tourists that we are. We asked lots of questions and our waiter patiently made great suggestions. We sampled a lot of great food, including some local dishes we had never tried before. Quality of food, wine & service was excellent. Decor is fun. If this was in my hometown, it would be my local.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best place to taste Toscanian food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Very good value for money. This is a family restaurant offering a wide range of cheese, ham, wine, sweets of Toscany. We wanted to taste all the specialties and waiters did their best to satisfy us. On our way back we even returned to this cozy place to buy wine and pan forte and it cost really little!

Highly recommended!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Vinaio also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Il Vinaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Vinaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.