We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Numero Unico

Ristorante Numero Unico
Via Di Citta 125, 53100 Siena, Italy
0577 287909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 440 Restaurants in Siena
Price range: $18 - $61
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I chanced to find this wonderful little restaurant off the main tracks when we were wandering Siena. As we strolled around the streets, we commented that a place not in the touristy busy area was where we wanted to eat. The front was on one of the normal alleys and you can dine inside but we chose to eat down the side street, down a incline with two platforms erected where you can eat outside in a quieter spot.

The tables were elegantly set with quality dinner and glassware and the girl who served us was smiling, polite and had a sense of humour. From our table, we could see into the kitchen through a large glass window and the two chefs smile and acknowledged us throughout our meal.

We both had pastas as a Primi and the servings were huge and so much so, my husband could not finish his pici, handmade thick spaghetti with a local sausage sauce. The food was of excellent quality and well presented and prepared.

This restaurant was a wonderful find and glad we ate here. We highly recommend it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    102
    12
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, NB, Canada
1 review
“Great Fine In Siena. More than pizza and pasta here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

If you are looking for more than the standard pizza and pasta in Italy this is it. Yes it is Italian but with great imagination making it more innovative and international. Thank goodness. The stuffed zuchini flowers were done perfectly. Nice batter and not greasy. I had the duck for a main and it was perfectly done and the honey infused spinach, a perfect match. The staff were great and chef came to the table when we told the waiter how surprised we were with the superior quality and taste. When we told the hotel the type of restaurant it was she said there were at least 2 more in Siena like it. There are approx. 460 restaurants in Siena. If you are tired of the usual fare this is the place. Italy has been a great trip but we have found imaginative food hard to find. Ristorante Numero Unicom is a must if visiting Siena.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, nb. Canada
1 review
“What a relief!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have been traveling in Italy for 8 days, and quite frankly we've struggled to find any innovative cuisine. My brother-in-law is a chef in one of Canada's largest cities and as a family food is our thing, it makes or breaks the vacation!
So what a relief it was to fall upon this gem in Siena! As the waiter said, we are moving forward with our food! Yes this was Italian food, but it was fresh and imaginative! The portions and presentation were perfect, and the flavors were modern, not over done but great combinations. The chef knows how to cook, taking classic dishes and adding to them, classic Italian food moving into the 21 century!
Service was prompt but totally un rushed and very, very, friendly. The chief took the time to come out and greet us. The atmosphere is crisp and clean, a "warm" modern feel. And the cost was very reasonable, excellent value for your dollar!
Thank you, what a great evening out in Siena!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great beef tartare, rabbit and wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Had light dinner at this place, 2 min from main Piazze. Food was excellent and wines were great - try the desert wines (offered by the glass), you will not be disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
America, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“"Buffet eccellente"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Well, what can I say... We found this restaurant in the center of Siena (a city not to be missed on your tour of Tuscany) totally by accident, and what a find - it's on via di Citta. The lunch buffet was incredibly and what was more incredible was the price 12e each - the vino Bicchire (Poliziano 2010) was excellent for only 3.50e a glass (in the shops this wine costs 11e bottle). As vegetarians (and vegans) this buffet was a delight because most are full of meat dishes, this was quite the reverse. The service was great and in a modern ambiance of the Palio, for which it's name is derived - a must if you are a vegetarian.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Numero Unico also viewed

 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Ristorante Numero Unico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Numero Unico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.