We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel near Siena” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo Grondaie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Borgo Grondaie to your Saves list
Borgo Grondaie
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Strada delle Grondaie, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 103 Siena B&B and Inns
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great hotel near Siena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Lovely hotel and an excellent base for exploring Tuscany. Good helpful staff, spotless rooms and a lovely breakfast served on the terrace. Grounds and swimming pool good for relaxing after a busy day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    100
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
103
201
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My family stayed here in July 2012 (2 Adults, 2 teenagers) and enjoyed every minute! Was tricky to find (behind the large CO-OP, but don't let that put you off, because it's out of sight once you arrive) but received a warm welcome with spotless rooms. The grounds are well kept, with a lovely pool on an elevated, quiet position. Fantastic buffet breakfast, with the best espresso served by "John". When not sightseeing, we would pop to the supermarket for fresh bread/picnic and sit at a quiet table in the grounds to lunch. Small bar in reception is an added bonus. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

As others have said, this is a lovely Hotel on the outskirts of Siema, set in wonderful grounds. The rooms are in various buildings clustered around a lovely courtyard. It is like staying on a Tuscan farm. There is a nice salt water swimming pool, perfect for a refreshing swim after a hot day exploring the city or the Tuscan countryside.

Siena is quite close - around 20 minutes' walk to the city walls and another 10 minutes to the Campo, Siena's grand piazza. By the way, if you have a car you will easily find in the evening a free on-street parking space near the top of Viale Guiseppe Mazzini - in or around the petrol station. This leaves only 10 minutes' walk to the restaurants and bars of the Campo. The staff also recommended the San Francisco car park, which has an escalator link to the city centre, but we didn't use that.

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, and the whole place is tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. We were in Villa 2 which was quite a big room, with very quiet, and most welcome, air conditioning. There was a fridge, which was replenished with bottled water each day, and a kettle to make tea or coffee. A good buffet breakfast is served each morning from 07:30 and you can eat either indoors, or in the pretty outside courtyard.

We can thoroughly recommend Borgo Grondaie, which provided us with a remarkably relaxing stay in the wonderful city of Siena.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed at Borgo Grondaie for 2 weeks while attending language school in Siena. I booked on the basis of the hotel grounds and trip advisor reviews. This place did not disappoint! The grounds are absolutely amazing and were perfect for my two year old to run around in. We stayed in 'Giardino 3' a one bedroom apartment on the bottom level. The apartment had plenty of space for us with a generous sized bedroom. Probably because we went to bed early, we could hear people moving around in the upstairs apartment but it wasn't a major issue. The kitchen is quite small and there was no oven or toaster (we mastered the grill in the microwave to make toast!) but it has a lovely large fridge/freezer for all the local gourmet treats. The Coop supermarket (closed Sunday afternoon) is so handy but it is a hot walk home up the hill with your groceries!! It is great to cool down in the pool after the walk back up the hill. The bus service into town is handy and there are stops just past the Coop. You can buy single tickets from reception. I found the walk into town very pleasant in the mornings as there is usually a cool breeze in the shade. The staff were wonderful and very accommodating. They managed the comings and goings of different family members well and were very friendly to our toddler who was running amok around the property. Overall I thoroughly recommend this property, especially to those with young families. It would have to be the perfect place to base yourself in Siena... and they have chickens for kids to look at too.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Borgo Grondaie is a 20 minutes' walk from the city walls of old Siena. You'll be walking through a quite trafficated area, but the resort itself is withdrawn from the noise. There is a large garden, and the buildings are charming and well kept. Good rooms and beds. Nice pool area, though no bar/service. There is a bar inside the reception/breakfast area open until 23:00 where you can buy drinks, but no scnacks or sandwiches. Helpful and friendly staff, happy to order a taxi for you into the centre (costs about €8-9). We were very happy with our stay. Charming breakfast room, and there's also seating outside. Good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in a 2 bedroom apartment with our 6 year old for 6 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were super friendly and helpful. Our room was well appointed and we enjoyed the flexibility of being able to eat in. The Coop supermarket was a 2 minute walk away. The pool was a marvelous place to cool off and there was plenty of green space to run around in. We had a car so the distance to town was not an issue for us.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed in the 2 bed apartment in June for three nights with my family. The location is central and the place is tucked away on its own land so you dont feel like you're in a city. Accomodation was really charming but very comfortable and clean, the pool area is also really cool. The staff are really welcoming and helful, free wifi is also a bonus.
The only downside is that the noise from the railway station nearby and the sirens from police and ambulances did wake us up each morning around 7 but hey...we are in a city and the place so makes up for it.
I'd stay here again without question if staying near Siena.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Borgo Grondaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Grondaie

Address: Strada delle Grondaie, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Grondaie 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming Hotel and Apartments Borgo Grondaie, built out of an old Tuscan farm just 2 km out of the city centre, was completely renovated in 2001. Maintaining its rural and rustic setting, Borgo Grondaie offers guests the possibility to choose between hotel or apartments accommodations both furnished in authentic rustic country Tuscan style and with all comforts. The 4 acres that surround the property and the salt water swimming pool will make your holiday unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Borgo Grondaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Grondaie Siena
Borgo Grondaie Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo Grondaie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.