We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trip in Siena” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria del Gusto

Osteria del Gusto
Via Dei Fusari 13, 53100 Siena, Italy
0577 271076
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 440 Restaurants in Siena
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: L'Osteria del Gusto si trova in via dei Fusari a due passi da Piazza del Campo e del Duomo.Facilmente raggiungibile da qualsiasi punto del centro storico di Siena.L'atmosfera è tipica delle vecchie Osterie Senesi con un'arredamento semplice ma piacevole, si possono degustare i piatti tipici della cucina toscana accompagnati da una buona selezione di vini.
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“trip in Siena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Very good meal and honest prices and very good service.
The reastaurant is located in the city center in a good position near the duomo

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    186
    30
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Very pleasant lunch near the Duomo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Good lunch spot after touring the Duomo. Had their assorted appetizers for 10 euros which was huge and my husband had the pasta with boar ragu sauce for about the same. Both delicious. Modern decor with lots of striking photos of Siena on the wall and a life size portrait of the owners on the bathroom door. Nice clean bathrooms.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“delicious pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

very good pasta accompanying with good red wine.. after long walking hours in Siena,we had our lunch at this lovely place. All pasta dishes are good but pasta with pecorino cheese was the best one I tasted in the region.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If you want an authentic Italian Meal go here - if you want 'Tourist food', avoid.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great restaurant with friendly staff. It seems very busy with lots of locals eating here - a really good sign for me. The staff speak fare English but it's also a good place to practise your Italian. We rarely eat in the same restaurant twice when we're on our holidays but we returned to this one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Just behind the Duomo...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Since its opening in March 2012, the Osteria del Gusto is situated right in the medieval heart of Siena, just behind the cathedral. So once you've visited the beautiful cathedral with all its annexes (crypta, museum etc), you can relax and enjoy the best of local food in this lovely restaurant that is at once modern spacious and traditional. The restaurant is run by Roberto and Emanuele. You'll be served by Alessia. Their hospitality is warm and generous. Decorations all relate to local scenery and to the different contrada's that the owners and the restaurant are affiliated with. Ask for the details, they'll be happy to explain. The Menu has all the important local dishes. Try the Pappardelle al cinghiale or the Risotto con funghi procini. When we were visiting, truffles were on the menu. The house wine was excellent, and locally produced. Of course! Prices are reasonable. We had a first course with drinks and payed a little over €10 per person. The meal was served with fresh bread and foccaccia. Restrooms were clean. Next time I'm in Siena, I'll certainly go back to the Osteria del Gusto!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Gusto also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Osteria del Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria del Gusto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.