We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Athena to your Saves list
Hotel Athena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P Mascagni 55, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Siena
GreenLeadersSilver level
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Great hotel great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The location is perfect and the hotel comes with a private garage which is free. If you are driving anywhere in that area, staying at a hotel with a private garage makes a big difference. The room was very spacious and comfortable. Wi-Fi connection was good. Buffet breakfast was excellent. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile reception at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Alexandragirl123,

To receive such a beautiful review from a Top Contributor like you make as really really proud.

Thank you very much!

We hope to see you again so please feel free to contact us whenever you like or visit our website for your next trip to Siena.

Best Wishes,

Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    601
    165
    37
    35
See reviews for
292
1,034
50
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The restaurant was really nice. Prices at the restaurant at the hotel were very high. The lobby is nice, little outdated but nice. And I believe this would be a 4-star hotel if you pay a 4-star price fors 4-star room above floor 6. We however paid a little over a hundred forty dollars a night and stayed in the basement where there was a complimentary bottle of water and snacks you had to pay for. To top it all off they were doing construction directly above our room. The receptionist said that the construction would stop at 5 p.m. And it didn't stop until around 7:45 p.m.. Loud drilling and pieces of masonry falling between the walls very loud you couldn't hear someone speak. if you are going to book a room under $200 a night at this hotel I suggest you request a room with an even number. The beds were fine the room was fine the hotel was fine not impressive, just fine. But I'm pretty sure I'll never come back to Siena because they really really didn't like tourists or Americans it seemed. And this was during the of season. Now Montepluciano, that place is beautiful and everyone is kind smiling and willing to help if need be we will definitely be back there again and again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Jrsplorer,

I’ll start from the end,

Hotel Athena is a family business from Siena and we can tell you, knowing the reality of our town, that Siena is very tourist-oriented, it means that all the people from restaurants, bars and hotels are very happy and proud of how his city is appreciated by the tourists
Montepulciano is a great town indeed but we disagree totally your feeling about Siena.

Concerning your stay with us you left me very astonished because the lobby has been recently renovated as many other floors and common areas so is very up to date, we are always ready to renewal, testified by the drilling you heard: we are updating an entire economy rooms floor…… Classic Tuscan style is not old but just….Classic, that’s different!

I don’t like to talk about prices and rates, our fares are very flexible, you can book the same room paying many different rates depending the time of your travel, winter time is always the cheapest period.

Greetings and smiling from Siena

Ronny F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Athena for 8 nights in October. It was the nicest hotel we've ever stayed at. The room (# 708) was spacious, immaculate, and nicely furnished. We had a lovely view of olive trees, grape vines, and the Tuscan countryside. The hotel staff were uniformly warm, welcoming, and helpful. The parking was free and very convenient. If you plan on staying there, be sure to follow the hotel's advice about using the Porto San Marco to get to the hotel: as soon as you are through the archway, turn left and follow the road--it will lead you directly to the front of the hotel. Don't let your GPS try to get you to use one of the other portos!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Fred V,

This is a wonderful review!

Your beautiful words left us breathless, it is hard to explain how satisfying is to read a review like yours.

All the staff would like to say thank you for all your appreciations. We are waiting for you in Siena, at Hotel Athena…the best Hotel you have ever stayed at!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We've made three trips to Italy and Hotel Athena was the best hotel we've ever had in Italy. The hotel is located inside the walls of Siena but they have parking at the hotel. When we arrived in our room, we were greeted with a complimentary bottle of wine, and a bowl of fruit with wine glasses, plates, linen napkins, and silverware. Our room had a view over the wall into the Tuscan countryside with wonderful sunset views every evening. Given the height of the town walls, not all rooms are going to have such a view, so I recommend requesting a higher room with a view, either of the city or the countryside. The staff were extremely helpful. We speak Italian, but the front desk staff speak English and you don't need to be able to speak Italian. The breakfast was wonderful with a wide selection of everything you could want. We used the Hotel Athena as our home base for 5 days of exploring the ancient mountain top Etruscan towns in Tuscany and Umbria, and even went to Assissi and Spello one day, so Siena is perfect home base for an extended trip by car. (Just as an aside, if you plan to visit the old Etruscan mountain top towns, rent the smallest car that will hold your luggage as the streets were barely wide enough for the small Fiat we had. Several times I thought I was going to lose a mirror. And take out full insurance as most of the rent cars in that area have scrapes and dents when you get them and you don't want to argue with the rental company over when they got there!) When we get back to Siena, we will definitely stay at the Hotel Athena again!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view over the wall to the countryside for a wonderful view and great sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Gary,

Reading your words give us the strength to look forward and give us the desire to improve our services more and more.

All the staff is really satisfied for the job done and to read your review confirm us that to choose Hotel Athena is a choice of quality, convenience and customer satisfaction. All our work is focused on it!

We are delighted to see that you enjoy the beauty of our rooms which are spacious, clean and really comfortable. Every year, in February, we do some renovation’s work to make the hotel even more charming and welcoming.

From all the people’s staff you knew in the days you were here I send you our big thank you and the hope to see you soon again in Siena for the second part of your trip. In that case we will be honored to take part in the construction of your holiday, by our side we will guarantee you the best service as ever.

Kindest regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Located at the top of Siena, the hotel has great views, but it does mean you have to be willing to walk about 10 minutes to get to the attractions. Of course, anywhere you go is up and down steep roads. I didn't put on any heels during the day or evening for dinner.

The good. Staff greet you warmly and the lobby area is bright and comfortable. You are given a good map and the city highlights are circled. Two elevators and nice wide staircases make it easy to go from floor to floor. A complimentary bottle of wine and biscotti was delivered to the room.

We booked a superior room with a view for about 169 euros/ night. Large bright nicely furnished room with mini fridge,a safe, good closet space and enough surfaces to be able to spread out easily. Task lighting good, but would still have liked more lights for the evening. Comfortable bed. Windows have shears and blackout curtains. Great bathroom. Very large with huge soaker tub and separate shower. Excellent lighting, including lit makeup mirror, (we left that on as a bathroom nightlight) and very cool step lights around the bottom perimeter of the room. Too bad they couldn't be controlled separately for either mood lighting for a soak in the tub or for night lights. Towels are good and supplied in several sizes, nice amount of racks and hooks. Also a laundry line (don't grab the line with the red pull - it's an alarm). Nice assortment of toiletries. Robe and slippers.

Breakfast room is large and bright with comfortably upholstered chairs and a plentiful buffet of hot and cold items. Had lunch in the hotel the day we arrived, (the only people there) and the food was excellent. We ordered wine and the initial taste presentation was the most elaborate I’ve seen anywhere. The waiter had two glasses in order to aerate the first taste for my husband. They have a sophisticated menu.

Great terrace bar which stays open till midnight has wonderful views and excellent internet connection. We skyped with our son and he loved seeing the view in the background.

The not so good The rooms with views are adjacent to the terrace. Two problems: you have to keep your shears closed most of the time unless you want to be on display to everyone out there, which defeats the purpose of paying extra for a view, plus you are cutting out nice daylight. Second problem, since the terrace is open till 12, it can be very noisy if you want your windows open, everything from loud laughing, drifting smoke fumes to clarinet playing (at least he was good and played jazz, so that didn't disturb us). But if you plan to go to to sleep before midnight, think twice about the view side of the hotel. Other problems - thin walls. Could hear people to the side of our room (one night the father was singing non stop and his kids had the tv on loud.) In the bathroom I could hear people using the shower and toilet above us. Internet service is terrible. The hotel offers several connection options, but the only one that worked was outside on the terrace. Since we were right next to the terrace we could set up out there in the late afternoon and pop in and out of our room as needed, the one advantage of being so close.

Housekeeping was spotty. One day no fresh glasses and one day no towels which we didn't notice during a very busy day until almost midnight when we wanted to shower and had to call for emergency towels.

Our room was 720, the leftmost room which only has a partial view because of the terrace. I would request a room as far on the other side as possible if you want the best view and one which won't be affected by the terrace.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not by the terrace - it can obstruct your view and the interior of your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear alwayplanahead,

thank you for your exhaustive review, fill of content, the travelers shall find it so useful. For this reason let me do some clarifications: the superior rooms have no view, it is not guaranteed. Nowhere is write and nobody told you that the superior room has the view of the countryside, just the deluxe rooms have it. The room you had is a family superior room which is very large with sofa and with beautiful bathroom with the shower separates from the tub, just two rooms are like that and we thought to do a nice thing giving one of them to you.

From the pictures you adjoined I honestly don’t see the mix of three and four stars, I see a very well furnished room, large, with view of the medieval roofs of Siena and a super bathroom. I see even a personal touch with local wine and cantuccini biscotti. The terrace is close but the floor of that room had been recently renovated and no noise can be heard from the window.

Mix of stars does not mean nothing, if we provide the personal chef are we a mix of even five star so? We are a 4 stars hotel inside the old city of Siena, 500 meters from the Duomo which is not a long journey at all.

Kindest Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

After staying at a centrally located dirty hotel in Rome and a hard days travel on Italian timed trains and buses, I was expecting more of the same at hotel Athena. But to my surprise we were upgraded at no extra charge and had wifi that actually worked in the room, a kettle and clothes line. Getting late to Siena on a Saturday afternoon made us miss the inside of the Duomo and the City Tower but all in all, the hotel was only thing that kept me smiling when thinking of it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear pilgrimots22,

We are sorry for your experience in Rome as we are happy to read that we gave you back the smile!

The best result for us is make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible. It is so satisfactory to read that we're one of the best. That’s great!

Let me send you our sincerely thank you once again and we’re waiting to host you soon again.

Best Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Positives: Good location especially if you have a car. For a fee you can park in their lot and forget about it until your ready to leave. Easy walk to the sites. The breakfast rooms were clean and had plenty of seating with tasty food and plenty of it, waiters/waitresses were friendly and accommodating. Husband had dinner at hotel one night and said that was tasty. Our room and bathroom were spacious and clean. Bottled water in the room and bottle of wine was much appreciated. Negatives: After reading the reviews I decided to book a Superior room requesting a Tuscan view away from the lift. Our room was behind the lift, right above the kitchen trash bin's. We heard the noise of trash pick up and some personnel would gather there to smoke and chatter. I made reservation 2 months in advance. Upon seeing our view I questioned the front desk attendant. He informed me that they had replied to my request indicating that Tuscan view was not available in Superior room. Looked at my e-mail and indeed they had sent a notice... the day before I arrived at the hotel. However, today after reading some negative reviews about rooms, one of the hotel's responses to an economy room customer was if they wanted a better room with a view that would be the Superior and Deluxe, hmmm. The air conditioning didn't work in our room (it was end of May and unseasonably warm). We inquired twice and both times were told it takes time to cool the room, we were there 2 nights and it never cooled down. Parking is tight so an attendant parked our car while we checked into our room. The day we left we did not notice the dent on the rear bumper until we stopped for gas. He had backed the car into a tight spot next to a big trash bin and obviously hit it. Luckily for us the car rental service did not charge us. Having said this I would still recommend this hotel for convenience, comfort and good food. To whomever owns this hotel, the desk clerks could take some hospitality lessons from the service staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Rita,

It’s a pleasure anyway to read you after 6 months, we usually expect a fresh feedback after the stay just because it is more reliable.

Let me start my response telling you and to whom is reading this review that the rooms where the view is guaranteed are the deluxe ones, nothing else. When you booked the superior room you should know that. To leave a message in the notes does not entitle the service, we would be happy to offer you an upgrade into a deluxe room but evidently there was no availability.

May is the very peak season. Everything due to the behavior of our staff shall be investigate and fixed, thank you for the report.

Let me tell you that if you found a dent on a bumper and the rental car did not charge you….may be the dent there was at first before renting. Nobody noticed an accident into the parking neither the staff nor the guests.

Let’s go n’ try again our hospitality that does not need an improvement…..”curabitur docet”

Best Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#6 Family Hotel in Siena
#10 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Athena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.