We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Athena to your Saves list
Hotel Athena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P Mascagni 55, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Siena
GreenLeadersSilver level
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Our final night in Italy having travelled around for 10 days this was the fifth hotel and the best. The staff could not have been more helpful and courteous. Our room was clean, had everything we needed including a couple of what I would class as luxuries. There was free on site valet parking and an offer to help with our luggage. The bar / restaurant terrace overlooking the countryside was a treat. 10 mins walk from the Duomo and Piazza del Campo is a bonus in such a small city and all for extremely good value. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear vixpix,

Such a great and exhaustive review! I think your words can be so helpful for all the travelers who are planning to stay in Siena and to whom I recommend to stay with us.

All our staff from the kitchen crew to the front desk and bar wants to send you his special thank you for all the appreciations.

Do not hesitate to get in touch with us, we’ll be so glad to help you planning your next trip to Tuscany

Kind Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    599
    165
    37
    35
See reviews for
291
1,033
50
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Only stayed for one night in this hotel. The rooms and communal areas were very clean and bright and the staff quite friendly. Had a room on the ground floor which was quite small and the underground parking (parking was important to us) was a nit are to get into or out of and the reception staff were not keen to help. Judging by the scrapes and car paint on the wall, this has been a problem for many others. It's made for a stressful departure! Other than that it was nice enough,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
gentile traveler s,

Yes 4 stars in every way!
It would be much appreciated to get a review in italian by an italian people but anyway….let’s do this!

The room that you booked and personally choose as you had to know was a standard room located on the ground floor, as it is clearly explained everywhere, you never complained at the reception about that, if you had do that maybe we should do something, by now every word is useless as the tips you are giving to the travelers.

Yes I agree that the parking is a real plus and very useful to whom wants to come with the car, but if you found it hard to drive in and out it is a personal experience and I want to treat as it is. About the scrapes on the wall, well, there’s nothing to talking about it, the importance of what you sad talks for itself.

Best regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I’m very late in writing this review. My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Athena from December 30 - Jan 3.

Siena itself isn’t very big, so the hotel is located a short uphill walk to the city square. We stayed in a Deluxe Room that ran about 140 Euro per night. The room was spacious by Italian standards, the bed was comfy and the bathroom was very big; compared to some previous rooms we stayed in, this room was huge. The best part however, was the view. We were on the 7th floor and faced the city wall and valley; our room had doors that opened up to a great view, perfect for enjoying the sunset with a bottle of wine. The hotel also has a great terrace with a bar, but we decided to just stay in our room, open our balcony doors and enjoy the view from there.

On a personal note, the hotel staff was great and basically saved our New Years Eve. We didn’t realize how big the New Years celebration is in Siena and just how few restaurants there are. We thought we could go out and find a place to eat early (around 6pm) and then go celebrate; we were wrong. Every restaurant told us they were booked, we returned to the hotel at 8pm and thought we could eat in the hotel restaurant, but they were completely full as well. We talked to the people working the front desk, and they made a call to the kitchen, and they were able to deliver the New Years Eve dinner to our room that night. This may not seem like a big deal, but for 2 American tourists, with nowhere and nothing to eat, I feel like the hotel went above and beyond in helping us eat dinner that night; which we ended up eating near our balcony, drinking wine; an unexpected romantic meal :)

Overall, this is a great hotel, with a great staff! I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the area, who wants to go to Siena/Pisa or to stay outside Florence.

Room Tip: For New Years Eve - Just make reservations with the hotel restaurant, and then go enjoy a memorable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Jdiddy78,

wow, thank you! We’re so glad to see that we saved your winter holiday and thank you twice for the photos, they are gorgeous and……beautiful the winter Tuscan sky! Amazing!

The NYE is the only busiest period during the winter time and all the restaurants in town are fully booked even the hotel and for those who wants to stay in Siena for the NYE 2013 I recommend to book earliest as possible.

What are you waiting for? That’s the time to visit Siena in the fall, the best period to do so! Just book our HALLOWEEN OFFER on our website.

Best Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our four star experience being limited, I appreciated the comfort of this hotel tremendously! Professional reception: smiling, welcoming, informative. Room a bit small but well equipped. Everything was spotless. Complementary wine, fruit, water, coffee/tea in the room was a first for us. Delighted!
Highlight was the Maitre d'Hotel who received us at dinner. Epitomy of graciousness and attention with anticipation of our needs he led his team with a light touch. Italian charm at it's best!

Room Tip: Ask about the size of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Songbird61,

Thank you, thank you and thank you again for your beautiful words. We all remained very impressed by your comment, full of details, and we’re all very proud to have worked for you.
Thank you twice for point up that our staff is very professional and polite, at the disposal of our guests all the time and for every needs.

Feel free to contact us whenever you desire and we’re all waiting for your return to Siena….it’s a quite short journey from Gand! Here you’ll always find a warm and friendly people doing their best to make your vacation wonderful as much as possible.

Warmest regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked into this hotel in order to enjoy the Palio Experience,
What a superb choice!
The hotel is located inside the City walls and only a short walk to all the major sites within the city.
It has its own car park so safe off road parking was not a problem.
From the moment we entered the hotel we were made to feel very welcome, all the staff were helpful and spoke excellent English - language was never a barrier!
The room was large and airy with a delightful aspect to the Tuscan Countryside. Housekeeping was excellent and the room was always clean and well maintained.
The hotel has an excellent rooftop bar/restaurant and this was a very pleasant place to unwind after a day in the city.
Service and food in the rooftop terrace restaurant was always extremely good, however tables were limited in number and pre-booking is to be recommended
I had no complaints with the breakfast buffet, there was always plenty of choice between hot and cold food and the quality was fine.
I would have no hesitation in returning to or recommending this hotel and sincerely hope I can get back there for the 2014 Palio.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Peter,

That’s awesome! Thank you for this excellent review.

To receive a review with the top of the rating is always a good event but receive a 5 star review from a guest who stayed with us during the Palio time, the craziest period, is much more significant for us. Thank you so much.

We’re all happy that you could feel all our love to our job, our mission is the maximum satisfaction of our guests and glad to see that we did so with you.

Do not hesitate to book your next Palio stay 2014, is very much requested period, before you book, the better rate and room you can reserve. About that just check our SPECIAL PACKAGE web site session, for sure you’ll find something good for your needs.

Best Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland,NZ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Walking into this hotel was like walking into the 1980s - or earlier. Not necessarily bad, but didn't make the experience special. The Front Desk staff lost a communication from our Tour Manager (the hotel is used all the time by this company) which led to delay the next morning in our meeting, and concerns for us the night before as we did not know how to contact her. The room was unexceptional and the little balcony - described by the desk staff as a real benefit, gave us a view over the street. The breakfast was also uninspiring. There is a walk uphill to get to the main sights, but I guess if you came by car and had the benefit of easy parking, this location would be a definite plus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear NZ54,

Reading you review I feel the needs to answer immediately that out hotel every February “wash his face”. It is a close out period when all the rooms and the common areas go refreshed and renovated. All the furniture are brand new and the details chose to keep the Tuscan and senese style. So if you’re saying that you are giving a misleading information, not useful at all!

Secondary I want to point out that you booked, through your agency, a Superior room and that we free upgraded your room into a deluxe one with balcony, which you are now flouting. Next time you’ll book a superior room please remind us to not upgrade your room.

The balconies of the deluxe room has no country view but city view that doesn’t means street view because the street it is not visible from the balcony!

Next time book through our website where the rooms are well described with pictures and you’ll be able to choose the room you’ll prefer best.


Best regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges Belgique
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very well located hotel and easy to reach by car. The parking garage is also very convenient. Very friendly and helpfull staff. The advice for nice restaurants was appreciated. Nice and clean medium sized room with a little terrace and splendid view over the city and the mountains. Very spacious bathroom. We got however mixed feelings with breakfast. Industrial tasteless bread and the orange juice was of poor quality. This can easily be improved.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Jacky42,

Just do it again!
We are so glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us, all our staff wants to send you his heartfelt and huge thank you very much for your words.

We are very happy to see that we take part in the building of your city break and that it was great! I'm sorry if you felt something lacking at the breakfast buffet, we've already provided to show your feedback to the kitchen and we're working to improve the service even based on your opinion.

Don’t hesitate to contact us for everything you need and check our website, it’s a very good way to know news and events in Siena for your next vacation.


Best Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#6 Family Hotel in Siena
#10 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Athena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.