We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out-moded hotel on edge of city walls” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Athena to your Saves list
Hotel Athena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P Mascagni 55, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Siena
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland,NZ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Out-moded hotel on edge of city walls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Walking into this hotel was like walking into the 1980s - or earlier. Not necessarily bad, but didn't make the experience special. The Front Desk staff lost a communication from our Tour Manager (the hotel is used all the time by this company) which led to delay the next morning in our meeting, and concerns for us the night before as we did not know how to contact her. The room was unexceptional and the little balcony - described by the desk staff as a real benefit, gave us a view over the street. The breakfast was also uninspiring. There is a walk uphill to get to the main sights, but I guess if you came by car and had the benefit of easy parking, this location would be a definite plus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear NZ54,

Reading you review I feel the needs to answer immediately that out hotel every February “wash his face”. It is a close out period when all the rooms and the common areas go refreshed and renovated. All the furniture are brand new and the details chose to keep the Tuscan and senese style. So if you’re saying that you are giving a misleading information, not useful at all!

Secondary I want to point out that you booked, through your agency, a Superior room and that we free upgraded your room into a deluxe one with balcony, which you are now flouting. Next time you’ll book a superior room please remind us to not upgrade your room.

The balconies of the deluxe room has no country view but city view that doesn’t means street view because the street it is not visible from the balcony!

Next time book through our website where the rooms are well described with pictures and you’ll be able to choose the room you’ll prefer best.


Best regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    983
    598
    165
    37
    35
See reviews for
291
1,031
50
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges Belgique
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very well located hotel and easy to reach by car. The parking garage is also very convenient. Very friendly and helpfull staff. The advice for nice restaurants was appreciated. Nice and clean medium sized room with a little terrace and splendid view over the city and the mountains. Very spacious bathroom. We got however mixed feelings with breakfast. Industrial tasteless bread and the orange juice was of poor quality. This can easily be improved.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Jacky42,

Just do it again!
We are so glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us, all our staff wants to send you his heartfelt and huge thank you very much for your words.

We are very happy to see that we take part in the building of your city break and that it was great! I'm sorry if you felt something lacking at the breakfast buffet, we've already provided to show your feedback to the kitchen and we're working to improve the service even based on your opinion.

Don’t hesitate to contact us for everything you need and check our website, it’s a very good way to know news and events in Siena for your next vacation.


Best Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Good points:

Nice location.
Helpful and informative reception staff
Fairly adequate breakfast buffet
Comfy beds
Decent air con
Nice little balcony

Not so good points:

Incredibly noisy
Housekeeping service didn't provide clean glasses, didn't replenish tea and coffee facilities.
Staff at breakfast unattentive
Tiny bathroom

Bit bad hotel really, not worth the price though. Didn't get a single good nights sleep, woken up every morning by house keeping staff slamming furniture into the wall and ramming the vacuum cleaner against the walls next door, for slamming etc. have stayed in a lot of hotels in my time, I am an avid traveller and also a long haul flight attendant of 8 years and I can whole heatedly say this is the noisiest place I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear hostie,

We appreciated your review, a feedback coming from an expert traveler is always welcomed, but unfortunately I cannot agree some parts of what you sad. We respect every opinion but a subjective feeling remains subjective, all our deluxe rooms are very quiet. You booked a beautiful deluxe room requesting a balcony without view, we provided one of our best deluxe room that as per photos is really like what you saw and booked with all the amenities of a 4 stars hotel: safe, air conditioning, desk, iron and ironing board, Shower, Bath, Hairdryer, Free toiletries, Toilet, Slippers, Telephone, Flat-screen TV, docking station iPod, minibar, electric kettle and much more.

If something went wrong during your stay I will certainly send my apologize by my side and from our house keeper who is so attentive to provide rooms and common areas deeply cleaned.

Let me invite you, as frequent traveler, to come back again and try us for the second time, we’ll not fail!

Best Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in the city center of siena. Very kind staff. Everybody was very helpfull. Nice en clean rooms. Breakfast was good en there was a nice panoramic bar with a great view. There was a private parking at the hotel which is really convenient in siena. The rooms were a little bit noisy. We had an excellent time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Lorena,

This is a wonderful review! Thank you that you spent a time to write your feedback!

We are happy that you appreciated hotel Athena and their location in the historical centre of Siena, the delicious breakfast and all our service.

For your next trip in Siena, contact us for information and visit our web site where you can find very special deals like the ROMAITIC PACKAGE.

Best regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were extremely disappointed by this hotel which advertises nice rooms with a view. We arrived at 7pm and were given a room below street level in the basement. The street was just above our window, it was dark and very noisy from the street and we could also hear the conversation of the people in the rooms next to ours. The mattress had the quality of a sofa bed. On top of it the sink in the bathroom was clogged up. Nowhere in the reviews and hotel description it was mentioned that one could end up with a room in the basement. When we complained to the staff we were told that we had booked an 'economy room' and therefore should not complain. The price was far too high for what we got, our room had the standard of a Super 8 Motel with the price of a junior suite in a major hotel group. Check the photos we added, they speak for themselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Nadine,

Well, what to say, you threat us and you did so! Basically, first of all, when you book a room in the busiest period of the whole year, in the most expensive period of the whole year, in the middle of the highest season, to get a pricey room can be possible, that’s the market! I’m talking about the Palio time, when the rooms are more expensive, even the economy rooms, and there is no possibility to upgrade anyone because that means downgrade somebody else and that is not acceptable.

What you think we are working for? We are working for you, you as a guest, for your satisfaction, we are never happy when somebody complains because that means we failed somewhere. To be clear we describe the economy rooms everywhere as “located of the lower floors”. I think you had what you DECIDED TO BOOK. You can complain, our staff as you can see from all our reviews is so pleased to help everybody and fulfill every request if the situation can permits.

Our economy rooms that are so comfortable and overall with all the amenities of a 4 stars hotel are the best choice for those who want to stay in Siena, visit the city and surroundings and have a cheap nice room to sleep. Is the best choice for quality-price and well worth the rate. Otherwise there is the possibility to pay a little bit more for the other 3 categories, Standard, Superior and Deluxe.

We don’t like to be threatened and you push with the back to the wall when you pretended an upgrade and we had no possibility to do it for fully booked.

Thanks for the photos, they can speak themselves the fact that the economy room can be a very nice choice for a low cost stay in Siena focused on the city visit.

Best regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Not a bad word to day about this charming Siena hotel. From our gorgeous Tuscan style room to our fantastic terrace that overlooked wine country and the only American sized bathroom on our three week trip in Italy, Hotel Athena delivered on luxury on all levels. On top of all of this the staff were the warmest as they dedicated much time making our trip memorable. One of the restaurants they recommended was the best one during our trip to Italy just a few minutes down the street called, "Nonna Ginas". I highly recommend both this hotel and the restaurant, but to each their own!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Joshua,

Such a really nice comment! All the reviews are important for us and every tips can help us to improve our services but a good feedback like your is a double satisfaction!

We’re happy to see you enjoyed our suggestion, Nonna Gina is a really good restaurant very close by.

For your next stay in Siena we hope you’ll choose us for the second time, we’ll be so happy to welcome you once again and to give you one of our best room with a beautiful view of the Tuscan hills.

Best regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brig o' Turk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay between 10th and 16th August. Hotel staff were all welcoming and friendly from the moment we arrived, the first thing we were given was a map of the city and some great recommendations for the best sights and restaurants from the concierge, exactly what we needed and much appreciated. The hotel had a great atmosphere (as did all of Siena actually), the room was very clean and comfortable. A very nice hotel in a great location with very friendly and helpful staff plus free parking for the car, we hope to get back there soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Robert,

Thank you so much for your review, you rated as with a 5 on 5 and for us it’s a great result!
All our hard work is finalized to the maximum satisfaction of our guests and we’re so glad and happy to see that with you we did it!

All the staff is sending you his heartfelt thanks and is waiting for your return to Siena and to our hotel, maybe for the Palio time that, this year, you had so close.

For your next trip to Siena check our website where you can find some SPECIAL OFFERS like the RELAX PACKAGE if you think to deserve an all inclusive treatment!

Kindest Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#6 Family Hotel in Siena
#10 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Athena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.