We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Athena to your Saves list
Hotel Athena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P Mascagni 55, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Solid Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My G/F and I stayed in a Double Deluxe room for 4 nights. The room was not particularly large or special for a deluxe room, but it was decent sized with solid amenities. We stayed on the highest floor so we got a good view of the Tuscan hillside from our window. The rooms on the other side of the hallway appeared to have the same configuration but with balconies (maybe smoking rooms?) Breakfast was good with plentiful hot and cold options. The property is located on the edge of town so it is necessary to do some walking to reach restaurants / shops. It is about a 10 minutes walk to the Piazza Del Campo (town center). Overall, the hotel is not the most exciting property but it is a solid option when in Siena.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are slightly bigger with more updated amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Michael M,

Thank you so much for your review. Your comment and your feedback about your experience with us is very important to us.
We appreciated you liked and enjoyed the beautiful view from the window of your deluxe room. The opposite rooms you’re writing about are deluxe rooms as well with balcony and city view.

We are also happy that you have appreciated the location of our hotel really few steps away from all the main attractions.
.
For your next stay do not hesitate to contact us or visit our website to do not miss the special offers for your next stay with us.

Best Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,238
    713
    194
    45
    38
See reviews for
378
1,268
57
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

we stayed for a week and would have loved to stay for longer, lovely position and views to die for, the hotel is spotlessly clean and comfortable, the buffet style breakfast was good but for evening meals the resturant couldn't compare to the fabulous food on offer in nearby resturants and inns.
Staff were all polite and helpful

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Mrs P , let me say thanks for your comments , is very important to us that you appreciated our clean rooms with all the comforts and one of the best view in Siena , our central position helps because in within 10 minutes walking you can reach all the main attraction , all my colleagues and me too are so glad to read your nice words .
I like to invite you to visit our website , so next time you come to Siena you’ve got a place to stay
Many thanks Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Athena at the very end of the summer last year and whole heartedly agree with the positive comments of the other reviews..

What really made our stay was the wonderful care and attention we received from Andrea, one of the staff. This elegant young man's thoughtfulness and kind actions absolutely made our holiday! And left us with some lovely memories of the hotel and Siena.

I highly recommend staying here.The location is great as it's nestled within the city's walls. The breakfasts are good and it's an easy walk to the centre of Sienna. Arrive in daylight if you can, we found it a little tricky to find Siena in the dark.

And don't forget to say "Ciao" to Andrea, because he is worth his weight in gold and any hotel would be lucky to have him.

Room Tip: It's worth asking for a room with views over the hills not the car park, after all you're in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Wow , dear Poli Orea thank you very much , I’m so happy to ear that the hotel Athena left you with a golden memory , I’m happy to see that would recommend us to other travellers , because our service is nice , warm and professional and we are at only 10 minutes walking distance to Piazza del Campo .
I hope to have the pleasure to have you again as guest.
All the best Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We spent a quick couple of days in Siena, and really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Athena. Had a large, comfortable room on the southeast side of the property, looking toward vineyards, mountains and even a castle in the distance, a remarkable view. Breakfast at the hotel was also very good, wide variety, nice room. Desk staff was very helpful with information and suggestions for dining, etc. Also, and most importantly for some, the value was excellent, far better than we found at other hotels. We will absolutely return for a second visit-- and Siena itself, FASCINATING!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Dan ,thank you very much , I feel really glad to hear such things about the hotel Athena , we all fell good to know that you spent such good time in Siena , about us we always try to do our best to satisfy our guests , like an excellent breakfast , nice rooms with beautiful view on the Tuscany landscape ,and all the tips about restaurants in town and tours , you right when you said that was only a couples of days , next time you come you can stay longer and all our staff will take care about your stay . Don’t forget to visit our website for all the offers .
See you soon Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Right near the historic centre of Siena, Hotel Athena is the place to stay. We arrived on a holiday Monday and the staff couldn't have been more helpful finding us restaurants to eat in, our room was extremely comfortable, very big and newly renovated. For a large hotel it had a very warm and personal feel. Free Car Parking with easy access was a bonus. Wi Fi in rooms. Would stay again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Absolutely right the hotel Athena is the place to stay , thank you so much dear BrisbaneBenni , the beautiful words you are using make me and all my colleagues very proud , we are very happy to see that you appreciated the hotel in the city center , the restaurant , the staff every time helpful and friendly , the deluxe room with their comfort and amenities, and the free car park .Fell free to visit our web site to see our special offer , you always will be welcome at the hotel Athena.
See you soon and thank you once more Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is extremely well run with friendly and helpful staff in all areas of the hotel. The hotel is quite large but provides warm and personalised service from parking to check out. The hotel is very easy to access and this makes life easy for the driver. If you have been driving around Italy's amazing Tuscany region you will know what I mean.
The rooms are spacious and have everything needed for your stay.
To explore Siena it is perfectly positioned just inside the walls and only short walk to the main square.
A most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: It's always a good idea to check hat your room is not next to he service elevator or main elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Jane,

thank you for your wonderful words, this is a good review!
We are happy to see that you appreciated the comfort and the conveniently location of the hotel, the room and their amenities and everything needed for your stay and all helpful staff.

For your next reservation be sure to get the best deal booking through our website where you can find some special offers.

Best regards

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

we stayed here for four nights. excellent hotel near the historic center, great access by car and private parking, comfortable room, great service, cleanliness, complete breakfast. recommend how good choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Miguel,

thank you for your time to write your comment regarding Hotel Athena.

We appreciated your wonderful words and while you’ll be planning your return to Siena and to Hotel Athena check our website where you can find some big deals and packages.

Best regards

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#13 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,370 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 578 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#6 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Athena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.