We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Athena to your Saves list
Hotel Athena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P Mascagni 55, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Siena
GreenLeadersSilver level
brisbane
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Right near the historic centre of Siena, Hotel Athena is the place to stay. We arrived on a holiday Monday and the staff couldn't have been more helpful finding us restaurants to eat in, our room was extremely comfortable, very big and newly renovated. For a large hotel it had a very warm and personal feel. Free Car Parking with easy access was a bonus. Wi Fi in rooms. Would stay again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Absolutely right the hotel Athena is the place to stay , thank you so much dear BrisbaneBenni , the beautiful words you are using make me and all my colleagues very proud , we are very happy to see that you appreciated the hotel in the city center , the restaurant , the staff every time helpful and friendly , the deluxe room with their comfort and amenities, and the free car park .Fell free to visit our web site to see our special offer , you always will be welcome at the hotel Athena.
See you soon and thank you once more Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    981
    597
    165
    37
    35
See reviews for
291
1,029
50
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is extremely well run with friendly and helpful staff in all areas of the hotel. The hotel is quite large but provides warm and personalised service from parking to check out. The hotel is very easy to access and this makes life easy for the driver. If you have been driving around Italy's amazing Tuscany region you will know what I mean.
The rooms are spacious and have everything needed for your stay.
To explore Siena it is perfectly positioned just inside the walls and only short walk to the main square.
A most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: It's always a good idea to check hat your room is not next to he service elevator or main elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Jane,

thank you for your wonderful words, this is a good review!
We are happy to see that you appreciated the comfort and the conveniently location of the hotel, the room and their amenities and everything needed for your stay and all helpful staff.

For your next reservation be sure to get the best deal booking through our website where you can find some special offers.

Best regards

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

we stayed here for four nights. excellent hotel near the historic center, great access by car and private parking, comfortable room, great service, cleanliness, complete breakfast. recommend how good choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Miguel,

thank you for your time to write your comment regarding Hotel Athena.

We appreciated your wonderful words and while you’ll be planning your return to Siena and to Hotel Athena check our website where you can find some big deals and packages.

Best regards

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I hardly ever rate a hotel with 5 points, but indeed our stay at the hotel Athena was very enjoyable. This is not luxury hotel. It is a building from probablythe 60's or 70's, so no modern, high-tech construction here. But it blends well in the magnificent old city of Siena. Our stay was so pleasant largely because of the staff, who went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. Starting from the girl bringing the breakfast to our room (because of a group of students who had "occupied" most of the hotel, the hotel offered the breakfast served in the room) to the receptionist who always helped us bring the stroller of our 7-months-old down the stairs. In the room (which although it was on the 8th floor did not have any view), there were facilities for coffee, tea and chocolate, and slippers (no bathrobe though-a pity), something I always welcome in a hotel. We had asked for a cot for our little baby and it was indeed there with fresh bed linen. Breakfast was great (not spectacular, but filling and healthy); the only problem there was the difficulty for the girl to bring what we ordered, as she was carrying everything by herself, so there were some items forgotten some mornings. However, immediately when I mentioned this at the reception, they brought what we asked for upstairs. Quality of bedding would be my only "complaint" as it felt a bit old and used. But overall the hotel offered us a great experience. Parking for free was great, free internet (albeit slow because of the many students logged on) and the location of the hotel is also ideal. Not really in the center, but a very pleasant 10 minutes walk to the Duomo. Excellent and good value wine at the hotel bar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Hotelfan It’s a big pleasure to read your words about your stay with us, and we are so glad to see that our work makes your holiday more comfortable and it fulfilled your expectations, considering that you hardly ever rate an hotel with 5 points , all this make us really proud of what we done for your stay .All the hotel Athena crew is so happy for your beautiful words and wants to send you his personal and heartfelt thanks. Regarding your only complaint , I would like to tell you that at the moment we are close for all the maintenance work that the hotel needs , we are changing the mattresses , and we are planning to put the bathrobes in all the deluxe room .Thank you also for give us the opportunity to let know to the people that at our hotel, they can have an efficient service, high qualified and designed for every needs. Don’t hesitate to book your next vacation through our website, as you did this first time and enjoy Siena again.
Warm regards Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The hotel is centrally located, a plus. Staff is realy nice,also a plus. Wifi is a plus. Rooms are renovated, larger in size - and clean. All "pros".

Perceived "Cons" - we unfortunately had a deluxe room which we felt had little noise insulation from the school next door. We woke up feeling like we had been awakened by the school desk chairs scraping the wooden floor...and kids chattering away. Wow. Surprised to say the least. Likely if we were to stay there again, we would request a room that wasn't beside the school, and bring / use silicone ear plugs if we wanted to sleep in. So much for sleeping in when we had jet lag... you can tell we don't have kids.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear SKI_Road_Warrior,

Thanks a lot for your comment, it’s very important for us received it from an expert user like you!
Hotel Athena is located in central position, adjoining with a school, and if there is a little noise from it we cannot do anything: luckily in summer the school is closed and people haven’t children’s noises.
Thanks to your advice we will pleased to put free earplugs (this is a great and wonderful suggestion!) for our customers that stay in rooms adjoining the school:

For your next holidays see our web site and feel free to contact us for information.

Best regards

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while on a trip around Tuscany and it was definitely the best value hotel we stayed in.
Everything about the hotel was excellent. The staff were helpful and friendly; the room was comfortable, clean and well equipped (although it's worth asking for a room away from the lifts, which can be quite noisy from early in the morning); the bathroom was spacious with a huge shower/bath; the breakfast buffet had a good selection; food in the hotel restaurant was reasonable and tasty.
The terrace bar is really nice with a view over the countryside and has loungers ideal for relaxing with a book and a drink.
It's a little bit of a walk (10-15 mins) to the town centre where the bars and restaurants are but apart from that it's hard to find any fault with this hotel. Great value and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room away from the lifts, which are quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear pignbear,


Thank you very much for your kind review with all wonderful information that you have written regarding the service, the room and our amenities, and the panoramic and wonderful terrace bar:: we can see through your feedback that you have appreciated it for relaxing with a book and drink!

We hope to see you on your next holidays in Siena: feel free to contact us and we will give to you a better quotation for your stay in Hotel Athena!

Best regards

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Italia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Perfect hotel to be near city centre (5 to 10 min walk) Kettle to make coffee/tea in the room. Wi fi in your room. Private parking. Wasn't there long enough to try the Spa or pool, but I'm sure it's perfect! The shower in the room is to die for!! Top floor has balconies (for smokers). Wide selection of food at breakfast! Staff are very helpful, polite and speak English!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Hallo Monica,

Thanks a lot for your kind review with all useful information regarding our room amenities, good breakfast and helpful staff.

Please note we don’t have both pool either spa, it is for sure a good idea and why not! It could be planned on our future works !

Thanks for tell about our deluxe rooms with balcony, all our rooms are no-smoking so if you are a smoker ..ask for Deluxe with balcony or sitting on our panoramic terrace you may smoke and enjoy the Tuscany sunset!

See you Monica on your next Tuscany holidays!

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#6 Family Hotel in Siena
#10 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Athena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.