We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like royalty!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Scacciapensieri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Scacciapensieri to your Saves list
Villa Scacciapensieri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Scacciapensieri 10, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Treated like royalty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The staff here is so caring and helpful! They really know their stuff! It's a little ways out of town but you get gorgeous views and the downtown is just a short bus/cab/car ride away (5-10mins). The grounds are very beautiful and so well kept. We were really happy with this choice

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    68
    24
    5
    5
See reviews for
30
122
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed at Villa Scacciapensieri with a friend. We had a room in the annex. The rooms are divided into two floors. Downstairs a small couch and writing area and the bathroom. Don't expect a lot of room. If you like spending a lot of time in the room it's probably too small, but if like me you want a room to sleep in, with some space to sit and write, than it's perfect. Upstairs is the bedroom. We had one with two separate beds and the beds were very comfortable. The room was clean and the view into the garden spectacular.
The breakfast in the morning was nice. Indeed as other comments say there is no fresh orange juice, but you do get regular juice. The coffee is as good Italian coffee should be and my friend who likes tea got teapot with hot water on the side in case the tea was too dark! We really enjoyed the breakfast.
The garden is very nice. The swimming pool small and mainly in the shade, so if you're looking for time at the pool to work on your tan, this isn't the right place for it.
The Villa itself isn't located in the centre of Sienna, so getting there requires some mode of transport. Bus is an option (we didn't try it, so I'm not sure how reliable it is) or the car. Parking near the centre is possible without having to pay for parking. Although the hotel isn't in the centre, don't expect Villa Scacciapensieri to be outside Sienna. It's at a more modern part, so there is some traffic from a nearby road. But that can't be heard from the room. We really enjoyed our stay and would book again when going back to Sienna.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is the second summer in a row we have stayed at Villa Scacciapensieri and we still love it. There are some minor drawbacks as mentioned by other reviews, the service can be a little gruff and it is located on the edge of a busy road which spoils the tranquility slightly. However, the positives far, far outweigh these minor drawbacks. This hotel is ideally positioned to enjoy a villa setting but be close enough to drive in or get the public bus in to Siena as well as making a great base for day trips around Tuscany. Free parking, tennis courts, relaxing swimming pool, lovely gardens and plenty of places to sit and relax are the hallmarks of this great hotel. We were pleased to be upgraded to room 54 which was exceptional. A large suite with a whirlpool and a balcony made our stay even more special. In particular, the setting for breakfast which is also used for dinner is wonderful. Dining on a stunning terrace with linen tablecloths and table service. Who could want for anything more?

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent 5 nights here and found the hotel to be well-located for our day trips around Tuscany. However, I have to say that the hotel doesn't live up to its old reputation anymore. While the restaurant staff were gracious and nice, the front office staff seemed largely indifferent and clueless when asked any questions about places to visit, etc. Maybe, I feel this way because you can easily find way better places in Tuscany for the prices you will pay here. While the restaurant was decent, the prices were comparable with some of the most highly rated restaurants you will find in Tusany. What I found annoying here was the nickel and diming attitude of the management. They charged my wife EUR 4 for a glass of water she requested in the lobby! Then they charged me EUR 100 for a pot that I knocked over accidentally. The saving grace was one of the waiters (Andrea) who was charming and attentive at all times.

In summary, I would not return to this hotel. There are many other charming options in Tuscany that offer nicer service and better food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I was traveling around Italy with my mom and stayed at the Villa a couple of nights. It has a great location to visit different vineyards, the food is fantastic and the staff is exceptional. Will definitely come back in my next trip to Tuscany!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Scacciapensieri during a month long Adventure. What a wonderful retreat. The rooms were tastefully decorated and nicely kept, the grounds are spacious, and the views are commanding. We had originally challenged ourselves to only eat at the Villa only one night so that we could see the area, but we enjoyed walking from our room to a gourmet meal on the terrace so much we ate there all 4 nights of our stay. The staff was exceptional, the food was fabulous, and the wine list rewarding. We left for Rome refreshed and looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Pretty cool hotel. Quite a surreal feeling when I walked up the driveway, it reminded me of the hotel out of the 'Shining', bit creepy actually - on that subject, one of the waters was a dead ringer for the waiter in the bathroom who convinces Jack to correct the family. In any event, had quite a lot of pros and some cons. The room was comfortable enough, ok bed, ok air con, clean and functional bathroom, beautiful surrounds, very good breakfast, nice pool and most of the staff were helpful, particularly the Scot (who I believe was the manager). Cons - Drinks, meals etc. re pretty expensive at the hotel but as one reviewer has mentioned there's a pretty reasonable restaurant just up the road at the caravan park - to get there don't try to walk up the road, it's too narrow - just wait for the bus to take you a couple of stops. Also, there was no clear indication a single room contained a single bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Scacciapensieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Scacciapensieri

Address: Via Scacciapensieri 10, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Scacciapensieri 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Scacciapensieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Scacciapensieri Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Scacciapensieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.