We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Enjoyed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Scacciapensieri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Scacciapensieri to your Saves list
Villa Scacciapensieri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Scacciapensieri 10, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Winter Haven, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Truly Enjoyed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Scacciapensieri during a month long Adventure. What a wonderful retreat. The rooms were tastefully decorated and nicely kept, the grounds are spacious, and the views are commanding. We had originally challenged ourselves to only eat at the Villa only one night so that we could see the area, but we enjoyed walking from our room to a gourmet meal on the terrace so much we ate there all 4 nights of our stay. The staff was exceptional, the food was fabulous, and the wine list rewarding. We left for Rome refreshed and looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    68
    24
    5
    5
See reviews for
30
122
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Pretty cool hotel. Quite a surreal feeling when I walked up the driveway, it reminded me of the hotel out of the 'Shining', bit creepy actually - on that subject, one of the waters was a dead ringer for the waiter in the bathroom who convinces Jack to correct the family. In any event, had quite a lot of pros and some cons. The room was comfortable enough, ok bed, ok air con, clean and functional bathroom, beautiful surrounds, very good breakfast, nice pool and most of the staff were helpful, particularly the Scot (who I believe was the manager). Cons - Drinks, meals etc. re pretty expensive at the hotel but as one reviewer has mentioned there's a pretty reasonable restaurant just up the road at the caravan park - to get there don't try to walk up the road, it's too narrow - just wait for the bus to take you a couple of stops. Also, there was no clear indication a single room contained a single bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Wow! From the moment we book to the end of our visit, it was lovely. Very quiet and beautiful. Room was clean and quaint. Far enough removed for privacy, yet close enough to catch the bus(right outside hotel)to the town. Meals were on the veranda and food was spectacular! Enjoyed cappuccinos.nightly on the patio. very classy place, yet comfortable feel. Would stay here again in a heart beat.
R&A 20yr

Room Tip: Beds were a tad too hard, but no problem sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Let me start with the positives the staff were very friendly and we had the bbq dinner which was
very nice.The hotel was nice and worthy of its 4 stars the only problem was the staff on reception do not take there advise on restaurants as the one they sent us to was not very good and don't get them to organise restaurants that you want to go to as this will not happen as they will not get your phone number.
The scotish owner also really dose not care about the trip adviser community because when i said i use it to book restaurants he said to me it is personal view
Babarra at check out was very sorry and gave me a small discount give this place a try if you like but book your own restaurants

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

After 3 nights in Rome in a heat wave, Villa Scacciapensieri provided a welcome, friendly haven in the heart of Tuscany. During our 4 day stay, all our meals were taken outside on the terrace. We have been here for the last three years, and it has been so nice to see the same staff each time. Always smiling and friendly, joking ( when the language difference allows !) well turned out and wiling, whatever is asked of them. Good breakfast, plenty of choice and a good restaurant in the evening. Considering the location and the quality of the surroundings, great value. We will be back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We booked here last minute after our hotel in Florence overbooked our room and we were put in an unacceptable replacement. We decided to head to Siena after finding this place on the internet and are so glad we took a leap of faith and hopped on the train to Siena. Lovely grounds, loved the pool, friendly staff. The villa is a lovely older building that is well maintained. We had a suite, which was huge and had 1 1/2 baths. The breakfast was good and the restaurant under the huge old trees was a treat. I wish we had stayed longer. Access to Siena was quick and easy via a bus that stops at the entrance to the villa. Florence may have more art, but I thought Siena was a prettier and less hectic city to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilkley
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were staying in a rustic cottage near Siece (20 miles from Florence) but we needed a special few nights.
And indeed we were not disappointed. Within easy (by bus at the bottom of the drive) striking distance of Siena which you can see from the hotel on the hill.
Beautiful gardens with ample terraces and a swimming pool overlooking hills north of Siena.
The staff in reception are so nice and knowledgeable of the area.
We stayed in the main hotel building. We had booked on the internet a double room which we visited but were also offered an upgrade to a suite...one of which viewed Siena. There was a large lounge, bathroom with shower, separate shower room, a corridor with ample clothes storage and a superb bedroom with one of the best mattresses I've slept on.
The restaurant is a delight.
The staff are superb.
The food is brought to you on a trolley with a fantastic choice. Breakfast is ample for the most discerning. Evening meal is leisurely because it is cooked to demand. We particularly enjoyed the Tuscan "tasting" menu at 40 euros each.

Room Tip: If you want the view of Siena from your bedroom you need to book a room above reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Scacciapensieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Scacciapensieri

Address: Via Scacciapensieri 10, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Scacciapensieri 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Scacciapensieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Scacciapensieri Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Scacciapensieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.