We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing old world charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Scacciapensieri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Scacciapensieri to your Saves list
Villa Scacciapensieri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Scacciapensieri 10, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing old world charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here for four nights last July and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our time there.

The hotel is slightly outside of Siena, but there's a bus stop at the hotel gate that makes visiting the town centre easypeasy. We were looking for a place that had a nice pool and provided easy access to the Tuscan countryside and Scacciapensieri ticked both of these boxes perfectly.

The pool area is absolutely gorgeous, so unbelievably relaxing and quiet and surrounded by cypress trees. I was quite happy to see that were no young families, so you could peacefully bask in the sunshine undisturbed.

We didn't eat in the restaurant as it was quite pricey, instead we chose to head into town for dinner and get the last bus or a taxi home. If you happen to be around the hotel during the day and fancied eating somewhere else, the Siena caravan park has a nice little restaurant in it that's very reasonable.

The staff were very nice, particularly the man who serves breakfast in the morning. My lame attempts at speaking Italiano seem to have been appreciated.

All in all a nice time was had in Sciacciapensieri, would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    68
    24
    5
    5
See reviews for
30
122
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Villa Scacciapensieri was by far the best hotel we stayed at in Italy. We absolutely fell in love with the place. All the staff were very nice and friendly (one lady at the front desk was a little snobby, but she was still helpful). We were on our honeymoon, and this hotel was certainly the most memorable. We don’t know where to begin, there were just so many nice things about the hotel. The location is amazing, with wonderful views as it sits near the top of a hill. The rooms were also great, nice, spacious, and neat (with candles!). They have a very nice garden (small, but very well maintained) and a pool that’s open in the summer. They also had free mountain bikes for us to rent, and we were able to take a nice bike ride around the surrounding hill (ask directions often though, we got lost twice!!!). Another wonderful thing was the breakfast. Our server was so unbelievably professional and cute. They had this amazing breakfast cart that they would wheel up to your table. They had wonderful cuts of meat and cheese (fresh, not from the grocery store) as well as homemade fruit salad, juices and fresh breads. We just absolutely loved the breakfast and would talk about it all day!

And we can’t say enough about the beauty of Siena. We loved Italy, and don’t intend any disrespect, but we found the ubiquitous graffiti in Florence and Venice to be a little off-putting and sad. We understand that youth do these things (and we're young and have fun ourselves!), but we have traveled literally all over the world (63 countries now) and haven’t been to another country with this degree of graffiti. But Siena was much better. It became hard at times to feel like we were in a “magical” place (as most people around the world categorize cities like Florence and Venice) when you come across a huge vulgar piece of graffiti. But we did feel like we were in a magical place in Siena. And it was even more magical when we got back to Villa Scacciapensieri.

The only thing we would mention is that the hotel is on a fairly small street (i.e. two lanes) without side-walks. And the local bus drivers weren't the most helpful people. We had called the hotel and they told us to tell the bus driver we were staying there and that he’d drop us off right in front of the hotel. Well, they should have as there is a bus stop there, but the bus drivers failed to stop outside the hotel on 3 out of 4 trips (again, we’re well traveled and have ridden buses on every inhabited continent). The only reason we mention this is that we had to walk on the road of a fairly busy, narrow street. It was a bit dangerous so just wanted to mention it. A solution would be to reiterate to the driver to stop outside the hotel. Taxis are also not too expensive in Siena (cost 15E) from the city to the hotel.

All-in-all, we loved Villa Scacciapensieri. Staying there and seeing Siena was one of the highlights of our trip. We loved it so much that I promised my wife we’d go back for our 10, 15, or 20 year anniversary!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We enjoyed our short stay at the villa. The location near Sienna is perfect, the gardens are serene and beautiful. Breakfast and service impeccable. The room was very clean, although we requested the bed to be re-done with extra padding since the mattresses were extremely hard. In Italy, few hotels have decent mattresses, they'll ruin your back! Another thing the hotel should improve, is that large windows that allow you to see the Tuscan view, have no screening but plenty of insects as there's vegetation all around. They should install American style screens, or provide individual electrical "tennis rackets" , the ones you find anywhere for a couple of euros, so guests can get rid of flies and mosquitoes. Whenever you book your room, keep in mind that your lowest price will probably place you in a outside house, not the main attractive villa....and I don't usually like the low slanted roof close to the bed but it didn't bother us this time. Next time I'd go for the more expensive room....but I was afraid of the stone hard mattress, so opted to stay in the garden front view. We visited in the fall, the swimming pool was closed but I wonder if they allow animals on that area too. There was a couple with a big dog, right in the front garden, where there are some lounge chairs. I'm allergic to dogs/cats, so this would be a problem if the hotel had many dog owners with their pets staying there....Fortunately it didn't affect our brief stay. For those concerned with access and location, this is perfect. No dramatic roads or cliffs, quite near the city (we had a car) and yet, a quiet romantic address, and strategical starting point to visit the Chianti region. Don't miss the Brolio Castle. Best thing about the villa was the water-fall strong pressure shower. It was a bit cold (no heater in the bathroom) and the shower was rejuvenating!.

Room Tip: If you need a softer bed, ask for more padding, they were kind enough to respond positively to my re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katonah, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Lovely hotel (ask to stay in the main house or in the house that overlooks the olive grove) and fantastic staff. Very helpful. Room was actually a suite and was very comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic. (included) The only thing I wish was that it was closer to town, so we didn't have to drive to Siena, and that I had been there in the spring or summer when we could use the pool, or sit in the gardens (which are gorgeous!) for breakfast, or afternoon tea!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed recently for a few days and found the hotel comfortable with very attentive staff. The breakfast is wonderful and one of the best in Italy without having to go ala Carte. The hotel is over rated based on the prices they charge for their rooms with "Shower Curtains" in the bathrooms. Be careful in the bar as they certianly know how to charge for a Gin & Tonic. The hotel location is very peaceful with very nice views.

Room Tip: Choose a roon with a view over the Valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My friends and I had a wonderful time at the Villa S. We are always looking for the finer 5 star establishments but this was quite lovely in the overall presentation! Nice sheets, nice towels and everyone is especially accommodating to your needs. It is really nice coming back after a long day of touring or walking Siena all day to a fire in the lounge area and a glass of wine. We suggest staying in the main villa (room 23) for peaceful quiet sleeping and leaving your windows open to smell the fall air. Food was outstanding and Andrea (the maitre d') was so attentive and warm. We are four 50 something friends that would definitely come back again. We decided to take a cab into town instead of the bus...way easier and only 10 euros...takes 5 minutes to get to town! Special thanks to Barbara and Bruce for their hospitality.

Mimi & Henry Brown...Arizona
Sarah & Dean Steward...Colorado
October 2012

Room Tip: Rooms in vil Rooms in main villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We enjoyed our 5 nights at the Villa Scacciapensieri. The room was very comfortable, and the hotel grounds great for relaxing and enjoying the scenery and weather. It was also fairly easy to get into the old town of Siena. The staff were helpful as far as providing information, and the breakfasts quite good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Scacciapensieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Scacciapensieri

Address: Via Scacciapensieri 10, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Scacciapensieri 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Scacciapensieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Scacciapensieri Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Scacciapensieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.