We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, affordable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Cannon d'Oro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Cannon d'Oro to your Saves list
Albergo Cannon d'Oro
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Montanini 28, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in Siena
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, affordable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Probably the best value for money hotel in Sienna. Comfortable and clean rooms with air conditioning. Breakfast included in price. Just a couple of minutes to the central piazza of Sienna. We also had to check out 1 day earlier than the datea we booked and they didn't charge us for late cancellation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    144
    123
    39
    14
See reviews for
55
148
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We arrrived in Siena dragging our bags so just stopped at first albergo we came across. Was 50 euros for each for us in 2 separate rooms. Neither room had a window but it was simple and pleasant. Did not like the fact I had to climb out of bed across the room to turn out light and stumble back into bed. A bedside lamp would have been a good thing. Breakfast was the barest minimum, coffee undrinkable andt fresh rolls with silver wrapped cheese the only edible offering. Very good location. My friend did not sleep much as he heard the night club next door going all night. So not a big success. We were just grateful to have found somewhere central on a Saturday night. There are some much larger rooms ( with windows!), probably much more expensive and who knows what the noise was like.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

It is a good choice for your accomondation in Siena!The location is perfect,just one minute far from the city center.We stayed there for one night.The room was clear.Unfortunately,there was not a fridge in the room but we could use a shared one.in addition,the price included a good breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I found it very difficult to find the hotel by car. It is only possible to drive through the city wall on a few places, and my GPS didn't know them... Therefor we walked to hotel from a public parking and we received a great explanation of nearby free parking places. The people were very friendly. The room was spacious and clean (we had a double and two single beds) but the beds and pillows were terrible. I did'nt sleep at all, they were much to firm. Breakfast was fine,. Nothing special. The location was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We parked at the stadium. The hotel was surprisingly easy to find after an easy walk of perhaps 10 minutes. The hotel is perfectly situated in the center of Sienna. We had a large family room with and extra bed for the five of us. It turned out to be a very good value. The room was very comfortable. Breakfast was not spectacular but better than we expected. But, perhaps the best reason to stay was the helpful hotel management. We enjoyed chatting as they gave us excellent advice regarding where to eat and what to do around Sienna.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Cannon d'Oro is a lovely small hotel right in the centre of Siena. It is clean, quiet, and beautifully kept - a perfect base for exploring the city. We arrived on the bus from Florence, knowing little about Siena, and discovered that not only is the Cannon d'Oro only 5 minutes' walk from the bus station, it is only 5 minutes' walk from most of the beautiful sights of Siena and is in the middle of the main shopping area.

The hotel is set back from the main shopping street (via Montanini/via Banchi di Sopra) and you enter it through a small covered lane which speaks of the centuries of history of this lovely place. Hence, noise levels are low even though the hotel is in the centre of things. While only rated two stars, the hotel is kept spotless and the rooms are beautiful and romantic. It represents excellent value for money. No air conditioning, but the ceiling fans do make a difference.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street (via Montanini) would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel is ideally situated in the centre of town and a 5 min walk away from the main bus and coach station. Staff are very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and the place is kept very clean.
The location is great if travelling with kids as you can always go back for an hour rest when the museum visits get too much! Family room for 4 people was spacious & had a fan to keep mosquitos away and cool.Good value for money in this expensive town during high season.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Cannon d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Cannon d'Oro

Address: Via Montanini 28, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Cannon d'Oro 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Albergo Cannon d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Cannon d`Oro Hotel Siena
Albergo Cannon d Oro Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Cannon d'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.