We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Cannon d'Oro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Cannon d'Oro to your Saves list
Albergo Cannon d'Oro
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Montanini 28, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Siena
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Location is everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This place has a perfect location. It is right off a major shopping street. You can walk to the piazza fe campo in five minutes or the bus stops in two. We found it easily from the train station by taking a public bus. The directions said fifty minutes by bus. It was more like fifteen. The breakfast room was through a maze of hallways; but they had yogurt, cereal, a coffee machine, and typical bread breakfast. All the receptionists that helped us were friendly and gave good advice. The room was a nice size for three. The only fault was the shower. It's situated in the bathroom without a proper wall, just a curtain. We had read this in a review and were willing o put up with it. The last minute price was a nice one for city center. Good overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    151
    128
    40
    14
See reviews for
59
151
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for one night in September and were quite happy with the choice.
The hotel is indeed basic - yet the room was clean and not very noisy.
The breakfast isn't great - but the hotel is right in Sienna with plenty of bars and restaurants around it. So we just went out and had espressos and brioche elsewhere.
Overall: Good place to stay and start exploring Sienna (which btw is an amazingly beautiful city).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I booked the hotel via expedia for 85€/night - and was shocked when I arrived. The first room I was shown was a tiny gloomy room next to a huge noisy restaurant kitchen air-condition. Impossible to sleep there. When I asked for a calmer room, I was sent to the third floor (no lift) into a room that looked like a prison cell. The only window was placed in the hight of 2,5m in a niche. I felt like the Duke of Montecristo. Unfortunately, there was no WIFI which brought me to room no. 3. Noisy as well but at least with WIFI.

Needless to mention that all of these changes where accompanied by extremely odd discussions. I was told, I didn't know how to use an internet-connection - before another member of the staff admitted that the antenna for the third floor was missing. I was told that the extreme noise is what you find in a city (I live in Barcelona which is several times the size of Siena) The staff made no effort to hide that they where extremely molested by me.

When only an hour after my arrival, I said I would prefer to move to another hotel because obviously, none of the things I paid for - the WIFI connection, a nice, clean room - was offered, all I was said was, that the amount was charged already and that I could go but had to pay.

It was only the top of the list that later I found out, that on the Albergo's website the price of a single room was 40€, the one of a double room single use was 50€. I was shamelessly charged almost double as much - and no, there was no holiday, festival or whatsoever. They just did it because they could. STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

When we first opened the door to our room, the smell of disinfectant is so strong. The room was clean and they provided electric fan. The staffs were courteous as well. One thing I did not like was the bathroom. Curtain separates the shower from the rest and everytime we bathe, half the floor gets wet from the water in the shower. We were in room #3.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

A two star hotel with no air conditioned, just a ceiling fan, but it is cool enough. The only thing is that it is slightly noisy outside if you were to open the windows in the room. And in addition, we had to carry our luggage up 2 levels and realised that there was a lift which permission is needed from the hotel staff.
For location, we boarded a bus from Florence and alighted at the bus terminal in Siena. We couldn't figure out our way initially and we decided to follow our instinct by turning left & we managed to see a sign that indicated 'Cannon'Oro'. And we walked straight and saw the hotel. But it is about 10 mins walk to the Duomo.
Free Wifi was really weak from the room & walkway. We had to use the wifi at the hotel lobby. Hotel staff was friendly.
Given the location, and for the budget of SGD 70.00 for two nights, there was nothing to fuss about.
Breakfast was not fantastic but it was free. Overall, will return to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night before getting an early bus to Pisa. Our two requirements were being close to the bus station and a reasonable price, Albergo Cannon d'Oro satisfied both of these. The room was basic but clean, the bed was quite comfortable and we slept well. The hotel has a lift but it's very small, not for those who suffer claustraphobia. We stayed on the first floor and only used it to take our luggage up and down, my wife wouldn't get into it. The room was advertised with breakfast but as we had an early start this wasn't available. The location is good if you need to get a bus to other parts of Italy from the central bus station, please note that buses also depart from the train station.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#24 of 41 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#23 of 41 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Perla
Hotel la Perla
#28 of 41 in Siena
3.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#14 of 41 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#21 of 41 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#17 of 41 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Cannon d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Cannon d'Oro

Address: Via Montanini 28, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Cannon d'Oro 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo Cannon d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Cannon d`Oro Hotel Siena
Albergo Cannon d Oro Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Cannon d'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.