We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, safe. Very poor breakfast and awful wifi.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Cannon d'Oro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Cannon d'Oro to your Saves list
Albergo Cannon d'Oro
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Montanini 28, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean, safe. Very poor breakfast and awful wifi.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed one night. The host was very kind and helpful. He recommended us to a restaurant that was the best meal we had in Italy. The rooms were average size probably quite large by europe's standards. The Wi Fi did not work in rooms which was a hassle for me since were were trying to line up wine tastings and get driving directions for the rest of our trip. The breakfast was pre packaged pastries, yogurt, and an auto coffee machine that made coffee from dried powdered coffee. YUCK!
Good directions and easy to find. Great location just minutes from anything in Sienna.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    128
    111
    34
    13
See reviews for
49
131
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

After reading the other reviews, I requested a quiet room, and it was practically silent. (We were travelling in mid-October) though I imagine it wouldn't have been if it was packed with students or something. But it wasn't. Everyone in the breakfast room was about middle-aged.

Decent value for the location. (although it's rather expensive to stay in Siena, compared with other, lovelier Tuscan destinations) And the charming night desk clerk bought my mother a cup of coffee when all she had was a 50 euro note.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

If you want somewhere reasonably priced and perfectly located in the old part of Siena, then this is the place for you. It is near the bus station and shops, restaurants and a very good supermarket.

Plain white walls and simple rooms are quite a basic decor. The breakfast room is difficult to find and has no windows. Breakfasts are just about adequate. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms seemed to be quite large and clean but there are no baths, only showers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

This is a two star hotel, and with that in mind, I guess it was okay. The staff were making an effort to make the stay pleasant, the room was clean and the staff were helpful. But there is no AC, which was dreadful (30+ degrees outside), no sound proofing, so it was very noisy, and the breakfast was very simple. The location is central though, and the staff showed us were to park for free (15 minutes to walk from the hotel). We would not stay here again, and learned to keep away from two-star hotels. But if you are in Siena at a cooler time of year, and don't mind a bit of noise, it is okay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

The good thing about this place is definitely the location - right in the heart of the historic centre, just a heartbeat from the sightseeing delights of Siena. Everything else is pretty ordinary, even by 2 star standards. The building is obviously very old, and maintenance has not been high on the agenda. Rather than old world charm it exuded old world decay. Single beds pushed together (like a lot of Italy) rather than a double/queen. No hairdryer, but sockets so antiquated that our European-purchased travel dryer plug did not fit. The normally uninspiring Italian breakfast was even more dreary here and, oddly, a lot of the 'crockery' and 'cutlery' were plastic. Could not work out what that was about. Overall the price was high for very little.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I had no problems with my stay here--the staff was helpful, my room was very spacious, everything was clean, and the hotel itself has a quite a bit of charm, as it is quite old (dressed up with rustic lace curtains, dark wood furniture, etc.) No AC, but there was a ceiling fan. No elevator, but it's doable, and the staff will help you out. Overall, it's a very good two-star hotel, excellent for the value. The location is ideal--it's easily walkable from the train station, and Piazza del Campo is just a few minutes away on foot.

I found this hotel to meet all of my needs, and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I will be returning with a friend in a few weeks for my second stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

I understand prices are high for Il Palio. This hotel is clean, safe, and the staff are pleasant & helpful. Personally, though, I wish I had paid more to have AirCon, more sound insulation and a shower that didn't leak water into the room and hallway. We were also in one of the smallest rooms they had. I chose poorly for my expectations. For less demanding folk, it's a great budget option.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Cannon d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Cannon d'Oro

Address: Via Montanini 28, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Cannon d'Oro 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Albergo Cannon d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Cannon d`Oro Hotel Siena
Albergo Cannon d Oro Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Cannon d'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.