We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very upset - Dress stolen in hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Bernini

Save Saved
You added Albergo Bernini to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Bernini
Via della Sapienza 15, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 95 Siena B&B and Inns
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very upset - Dress stolen in hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have to unfortunately give this place a 1 star.

PROS: Great view from room, Carlotta's freshly made sweet brioches that melt in your mouth, terrace overlooking Siena hillsides, and location is central to everything.

CONS: A beautiful dress that I left behind in my hotel room after checking out (room locked) - it was stolen. This occurred within 4-6 hours of checking out. Needless to say I am incredibly upset about this incident and how they failed to safeguard our belongings.

To elaborate on the situation further....
We stayed there for 1 night, I hung up a dress in the dresser cabinet and forgot to take it with me. Within 11 hours I contacted the hotel via email and notified them that I had left behind a dress hanging in the dresser in my room and that I'd like to pick it up. They emailed us promptly and admitted to finding the dress and said that they had put it on the our suitcase (in the lobby which they offered to safekeep and watch). However when we came back to the hotel to get our luggage - there was NO dress sitting on our suitcase. So basically it was stolen and I'm 99% sure it wasn't the other hotel guests as we only noticed an elderly couple staying there and 2 males in this small hotel. I would have expected them to take the dress out of the room and put it in a safe place and perhaps putting it on our suitcase in their hotel would be safe enough but it wasn't. This leads me to think that if someone stole the dress on top of my luggage, than my luggage was not kept safe either. I will not be staying here next time and giving a 1 star due to this incident which was easily preventable by the hotel. This pretty much ruined my trip to Siena.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    98
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
50
161
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here after three days in busy, crowded Venice. Sienna is a charming old town and the combination with this B&B was refreshing. Clean spacious rooms, numerous public areas to relax in, and a shaded terrace with great views made this one of our favorite stops in Italy. This family run and staffed hotel prides itself in doing all it can to make a tourist stay pleasant from tour recommendations, help with bus schedules, restaurant recommendations and reservations, and maps. The location is within easy walking distance of everything Siena.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows facing the Duoomo. Sunsets are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a wonderful little hotel in Siena. The location is perfect, couldn't be better--within a 10-15 minute walk of the Duomo and Campo/Palazzo Publico, and only 5 minutes walk from the basilica of San Domenico and the Casa di Santa Caterina (which is literally right around the corner). The room was spacious and very comfortable, with a great view through old-fashioned Italian-style windows like you see in all the movies. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the dark-haired young lady who was there in the afternoon/evening. The best thing about this hotel is its lovely rooftop terrace, where you can eat breakfast while admiring stunning views of the Duomo, San Domenica, and the surrounding city/countryside. I chose this hotel based on the view from the terrace advertised on their website, and it is exactly like it looks in the picture (definitely did not disappoint!). The breakfast was nice too, served continental-style on a tray brought to your table, with a croissant and cookies/pastries, hot coffee or tea, and a cool glass of delicious pink grapefruit juice. The bathroom in the room was on a raised step. There are no phones in the rooms, and no television, but I had a cellphone and didn't miss the TV at all. For a tasty and inexpensive dinner, I recommend Osteria La Chiacchera (right around the corner from the hotel).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed one night at Albergo Bernini, while doing a quick day in Siena during our Tuscan honeymoon. We found the location ideally located - not too far to walk in from the parking lots (free) around the city, and then only 7 minutes walk to the campo. Staff was delightful - helped us with luggage and planning. The terrace for breakfast (and to enjoy later) was amazing - great views. The bed was on the hard side, and the bathroom on the small side, but the feeling that you were staying at a relative's guest room in Siena was unbeatable. Prices were very reasonable, and overall a lovely stay. Of note, some of the info we read mentioned a curfew, but that no longer exists (or at least didn't during our stay)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently and found it to be an excellent choice. It is off the main street a bit but is a centrally sited 15th or 16th century building. This is a family run hotel (just as Rick
Steves says) and are all very nice and helpful. The rooftop terrace affords a wonderful view of the old and picturesque city. Rooms are tidy and well kept. Bathrooms are across the hall, but very convenient. This may not be a 3 or 4 star hotel, but that's not the point of Albergo Bernini. It has the most wonderful and fulfilling character to it and run by some of the most wonderful people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We loved Albergo Bernini-the family that owns and runs the hotel is very sweet and helpful. The location is excellent and the terrace is unbeatable. It is a little noisy, but this is probably true of most spots in Siena during the weekend. You will wake up at 7 to the incredible chorus of church bells.

Room Tip: We had a beautiful room with a view-but on the weekend it is a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Perfect location and the most amazing roof terrace! The lady who owns it is so friendly and helped us get fab restaurant reservations! You can chill on the roof terrace in the sun and she will open your wine for you- nothing is too big a request. Location is brilliant and the old Tuscan charm is delightful- stayed in room 8- big bed and private bathroom! Great value and couldn't have asked for better! :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albergo Bernini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Bernini

Address: Via della Sapienza 15, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is in the heart of Siena, with 10 nice rooms and a great view from our wonderful terrace that is 24 h open to all the guests.we have wireless connection, breakfast service, ceiling fun in all of the rooms and the staff is always glad to be at your services for all your problems.We will be very happy to welcome you in our house! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Bernini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Bernini Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Bernini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.