We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVED Carlotta!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Bernini

Save Saved
You added Albergo Bernini to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Bernini
Via della Sapienza 15, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 97 Siena B&B and Inns
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We LOVED Carlotta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Please please do yourselves a favor and stay at Albergo Bernini when visiting Siena! My sister and I were there last week for 3 nights and wished we could stay longer! The rooms are well laid out -- simple, but nice and very clean. Have never shared a bathroom before, but it was NOT an issue. The terrace is to die for! Just what you imagine of old world Italy with stunning views of Siena, the Cathedral (go see St Caterina's head), and the Duemo! We met some other guests who were from Canada and we all became fast friends under the warm inviting spell of the Albergo Bernini and our experiences in Siena!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    98
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
50
162
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

First, I must say that my one and only regret about staying here was that we could only spend one night. There was only one night available when planning our trip, and we snapped it up because of how many great reviews I've read about Albergo Bernini. How glad I am that we did!!! When Carlotta ushered us into our room, I got CHILLS. The view from our room was worth at least a million bucks! The cathedral was perfectly framed in our large bedroom window, and through a small window in our bathroom, we had a stunning view of Siena itself.

The terrace is incredibly peaceful, and the breakfast is totally worth the extra cost! We soaked up every single minute on that terrace, whether we were enjoying the eggs, toast, pastries, yogurt and coffee or sipping glasses of wine and watching the sunset. Purely delightful.

And finally, Carlotta was a wonderful hostess. She is warm and friendly and gave us extremely helpful advice on what to see on our journey through Tuscany. In addition to reserving a cab for us, she allowed us to leave our bags after checkout and then return to rest/recharge in the common area while we finalized the next leg of our journey. Again, this is AFTER we had checked out.

Albergo Bernini is superbly welcoming and a wonderful value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We agree with anyone who mentioned that the rooms are basic and no-frills however all of that pales into insignificance when you get shown out onto the terrace and get your first panorama of Siena. It faces straight onto the hill with the Duoma and the Cathedral and having that view - without a horde of tourists around us snapping away makes you feel wealthier than you are. Also you can use it throughout the day and it's lovely to sip a beer or chat while digesting the day's sightseeing.
I know it seems a bit of overkill to go on about the terrace but it's fairly rare in the B-and-B land to have that type of communal - yet quiet space.

Apart from the terrace, welcome and help from Carlotta was excellent. She spoke to us about what to see and was of invaluable assistance when we wanted to plan a half-day bicycle excursion.

The location is excellent - you are very near everything including a supermarket where you can buy lunchy things to eat on - yes you've guessed it - the terrace.
Our room didn't have the panorama but did onto a picturesque narrow street. The bed was not quite as firm as it could be but everything is clean and tidy (and basic hence the 3star, but no probs ) but it's excellent value and was the cheapest place we stayed in Italy on a trip that included Florence and Bologna.

One tip - for those wondering where the curtains are in Room 2(?) there are none - you have to close the shutters to avoid giving the friendly family 10 feet across the street an eyeful when you get changed.
We didn't have the breakfast but based on what others are saying this was a bit of an oversight so it's probably lovely.
It has wireless which may not be great in all the rooms but is a strong signal in the sitting room area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel has a very welcoming feeling and Daniella is a wonderful person. She is always willing to help you and provide honest recommendations. We felt so much peace and relaxing. The view from the terrace and our rooms left us speechless. It is very close to the Piazza and next door to St Catalina's home. We had a share bathroom, no problem clean all the time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We decided to stay at this 1 star B&B for 3 nights in September after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. Our room No8 was on the ground floor with ensuite shower,WC and washbasin, there was A/C in the room and we had a wonderful view from the window. The basic €3.50 breakfast on the legendary terrace was great value with coffee,juice,fruit,yogurt and toast or croissants.When we asked for advice Carlota and Eugenia were very knowledgeable and helpful on all topics especially restaurants in the area. One must remember that this is a 1star establishment therefore there are no frills like toiletries, hairdrier,TV or a decent supply of hot water but overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this friendly B&B.

Room Tip: Book a room that is ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

lovely place to stay, just a short walk from the main piazza di campo in siena. carlotta is a lovely host, and the room was lovely and airy. the terrace has very good views of the siena, lovely to watch the sun go down.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back to have a view of siena.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Before writing about the room and the hotel, I have to say this: I arrived in Siena before an exam and was a wreck, but Signora Daniella, who runs the Bernini, went out of her way to help me out in many ways. I left the Bernini a very happy and relaxed person. Mille Grazie Daniella!

As for the room, it was a cozy and comfortable. The shared bathrooms are spotlessly clean and the terrace has one of the best views in all of Tuscany. The management is patient and always ready to assist you with directions and advice on Siena.

The location is also wonderful; very central and close to all the major sites. I highly recommend the Bernini.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albergo Bernini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Bernini

Address: Via della Sapienza 15, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is in the heart of Siena, with 10 nice rooms and a great view from our wonderful terrace that is 24 h open to all the guests.we have wireless connection, breakfast service, ceiling fun in all of the rooms and the staff is always glad to be at your services for all your problems.We will be very happy to welcome you in our house! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Albergo Bernini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Bernini Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Bernini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.