We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Italia to your Saves list
Hotel Italia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 67, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Siena
athens
1 review
“Absolutely perfect!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

Nice place, near to the city center, very clean and cozy.... excellent service. Me and my husband were very satisfied. An excellent choice for those who have a car and same time they want to be just one step from city center and that s because there is also a car parking. I strongly recommend it to other siena s visitors.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, August 31, 2009
Dear Guests from Athene,

Many thanks for this nice review.
In this case no suggestions to help us to improve our service but a big big help for getting new clients! 
We really hope to see you again sometimes in the future.
Best regards.

The Manager federica Fiochi and all The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    458
    99
    23
    8
See reviews for
184
593
59
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottm, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

Just got back from a holiday in Italy & Hotel Italia in Siena was our first stop. We stayed for 4 nights & booked through Trailfinders. The hotel is loacted just outside the city walls, about 15 mins walk to the Campo & Duomo down hill. The hotel itself is clean but basic, our room (246) was clean, air conditioned & equipped with everything we needed but facing the road, which made it quite noisy. They have parking although limited, which was free during our stay but I did see a sign stating they were introducing a charge for this in August. Breakfast was nice, continental style with plenty of choice, very good coffee but the room isn't air conditioned & does get very hot. The staff were very friendly & helpful, recommending some excellent restaurants. Guests at the hotel can use the nearby swimming pool at Hotel Garden, which is about 800m (10 mins walk) from the hotel which is great to cool off in after a long, hot day exploring. All in all Hotel Italia did the job of us, it had parking so we could head off into Chianti & Florence & was close enough to the city walls. I'd recommend this hotel, but not if you're after a bit of luxury.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, August 12, 2009
Dear Guest,

many thanks for spending your time in posting a review about us.
We always appreciate your comments, they help us to understand what is wrong or not so good with us…
I would like to inform you that depending on the reservation we have 3 kinds of room, economy, standard and superior. None here is luxury, but I would be very pleased if you’ll come back again to show you also our superior rooms and have your impression about them.
I am really sorry you didn’t enjoy totally your breakfast because of the hot. I hope next February (to be ready next summer!) we will be able to put air conditioned there too, we already have this on our due-list!
About parking, you’re right. From today, 12 August, our small small parking has to be reserved and it’s no longer free. Anyway our 4 stars hotel parking (600 mt) is always at your disposal for free.
I am really proud you found friendly and helpful staff. This is really very very nice and to me is one of the most important thing!
Grazie and saluti from Siena. We hope to see you again in Siena.

The Manager Federica Fiochi and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Stayed 3 nights in mid-July 2009 and found it to be a good choice. Booked the hotel directly from its website, at a prepaid rate that was lower than rates offered by general internet booking sites. Easy access from train station via #10 bus.

Also, as a side note, if travelling to Siena from Rome, you might want to consider taking the intercity bus from Tiburtina station in Rome instead of the train from Termini. The train does not seem to be well air-conditioned and you have to change trains before Siena, which can be a bit of a hassle if you have a lot of luggage. One of the places the intercity bus stops in Siena is at the main bus stop in Piazza Gramsci, which is not far from the hotel and not downhill from it (as the train station is). Having taken both, I'd say the train offers a little bit better view of the Tuscan countryside, but the bus is much more comfortable. The bus is slightly higher in price than the train and both make the trip in about 3 hrs.

The hotel is not in the main tourist area, which was a big plus for me. The walk to Piazza del Campo may take 10-20 mins or so, however it will depend largely on how fast you are used to walking. Also, as there are various sights, shops and restaurants along most of the way, it may take you somewhat longer than you'd expect!

The room I had was in the back of the building and was quiet and quite clean with a nice view of Siena from the balcony. The bathroom was "old-world European" in style with marble, etc., but very clean and functional. The shower worked very well.

Breakfast was quite good (excellent service regarding coffee brought to the table and very strong café americano!), and I found all the staff to be very helpful. Spent a nice Wed morning at the nearby weekly market upon the advice of the front desk clerk!

Overall, I found the hotel to be very comfortable and convenient for sightseeing in Siena and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, August 17, 2009
Dear Guest from Canada,

many thanks for your review.
You know more than us about Siena public transport! Wow! Your comment will be very helpful to other guests.
I am happy your staying here was comfortable. You know, people are travelling and travelling and if we are able to give a nice accommodation and a smiling service, it’s a big satisfaction to us.
Looking forward to receiving you again sometimes in the future, me and all the staff remain with our best regards.

The manager Federica Fiochi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

We stayed on the 4th floor facing the street and a panoramic view over the surrounding fields. I had requested a room with a view and got that plus a balcony. Reception staff were friendly and helpful through our 2 day stay. Room was clean and comfortable and it was lovely to open up the shutters on the windows for yet another great view. Not a great range of breakfast food but lovely coffee and always friendly faces to greet you. We are quite fit so made the walk into the centre in about 10 minutes. Its a wonderful city with cobbled streets so choose your footwear well and remember it is very hilly and can be steep which only adds to its charm.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, July 17, 2009
Dear Guests,
what a pleasure receiving such a nice comment.
You would come back in a heartbeat and we would be here to receive you!
I think you would have a nice surprise … from this Sunday we are going to improve our breakfast with scrambled eggs, wurstel and toasted bread. Also pastries made by Pasquale our pastry cook will be of more qualities … maybe a reason more to come back…!
You suggestions are always very important to us. Also with the worldwide crises we are trying to give a better service and understanding which are your needs help us to well direct our investments.
Me and all the staff really hope to see you again in Siena.
Yours Faithfully
The Manager - Federica Fiochi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

We were quite surprised when we walked into our room and found it to be a lot bigger than expected! There was even a couch to relax on. The bathroom was beautiful and large with great water pressure. The bathtub also had a modern touch where you turn the dial to specific temperatures, pretty neat. Breakfast was yummy with loads of yogurt, cereal, and pastries. Careful, although the hotel is closer to the train station, you will need transportation to get there as its uphill and further than it looks on a map. The walk down to the city center is also pretty far, at least ten minutes downhill.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, July 6, 2009
Dear Guest,
many many thanks for your lovely review.
It’s always a pleasure for me reading such nice impressions about us!
I will try to improve the map in order to avoid future misunderstandings. We are about 1 km far from the railway station (up to the hill…maybe easy to go, but harder to come!) and 300 mt far from the beginning of the old town (closed to the traffic), 1,3 km to get to Piazza del Campo.
Me and all my staff want to thank you again and hope to have you our guest again!
Best regards.
The Manager- Federica Fiochi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

For our first trip to Italy, we were going crazy trying to find hotels that fit our budget, and were nice enough to stay in. In Siena, we had reservations at Hotel Italia. It was a nice place and I would recommend it to anyone who wants clean, but not lavish, accomodations.

For starters, if you walk to the hotel, you have to know the following: 1) get a map from the train station; 2) the first left you take is actually a dirt road. Take it all the way to the top where it runs into an actual paved road and turn left. At the top of that paved road is Hotel Italia.

The hotel was clean, but not overly large. The bathroom was relatively primative, but did the job. Also, our room had a terrace/balcony with a very nice view. It was nice having wine in the early evening after we did our sight seeing.

The location was fine. About a 5 minute walk into the actual "walls" of Siena. I would not recommend paying the extra money to stay in the walls considering this hotel was so close.

The staff was friendly and the breakfast was adequate. Nothing spectacular though. Also, if you want a canole, get it in Rome or Florence, Siena has no such thing.

Overall it was a pleasant experience. Further, if you have an extra day, rent a car (the rental place is close to the train station) and go to Tuscany to visit some wineries. My wife and I did that and it was beautiful. Probably the highlight of our trip which included Rome, Florence, Venice and Lake Como.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, June 27, 2009
Dear Mr Fusayachi,
many thanks for living your review.
Actually our economy rooms are quiet basic, but I am happy that your staying here has been nice.
Please consider, in case you'll come back.... (we hope so!) that we also have standard or superior rooms you can choose.
Your opinion is always very important to us, both to understand customers' needs and to try to improve services that are not as good as you expect.
Best regards.
The Manager and the Hotel Italia Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

We were staying in San Gimignano for a wedding and had one day to spare before flying out of Pisa so we decided to go to Siena for the night. The hotel is located on the Pisa side of Siena just off the motorway and is very well signposted. We found it no problem.

There is free parking available (a must if you are going to Siena with a car) in the hotel but only limited parking. There was around 10 car park spaces within the confines of the hotel but they were very tight and there was the possibility that you might have been blocked in. We were lucky and got a great spot so we had no complaints. Check in was fine although the man behind the desk was not the friendliest. There were 4 of us in 2 double rooms and we were out in one of the blocks outside of the main hotel building, nto that that bothered us. Our block actually just had our two rooms so we were happy with that. one of the rooms was very roomy with a large bathroom, the other was smaller with a tiny bathroom but both were the same cost. The bed was comfortable and the room clean. We had no complaints. Although there were rooms above us in the block and the girls in the other room said that the people above them were REALLY noisy. Luck of the draw I suppose.

Breakfast was the usual selevction of cereals, breads, pastries, fruit and jucies. Nothing spectacular - usual Italian breakfast.

Location wise it was a good 5-10min walk to the main walls of the Siena then a further 10-15 walk to the main Piazza del Campo. Not a bother for us young ones! If you have a car then I would suggest staying outside the city walls as the streets are insanely narrow and Im not even sure you can drive within them.

I would certainly stay here again although Im sure there is better out there for the price. Ticked all our boxes though.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Address: Viale Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 67, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Siena
#7 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly 3 star Hotel close to the Siena City Centre,completely refreshed, easy access from the train station by the escalator, parking (to be reserved). All comforts: Air Conditioned, Tv Lcd Sat with free Sky Channels, WiFi (free for reservation on our web site),Great Buffet Breakfast with cold and hot delicacies, dainties for the sweet tooth guests, gluten free and vegan food.From May to September enjoy for free Garden Hotel’s swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.