We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, View, Croissants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Italia to your Saves list
Hotel Italia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 67, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Location, View, Croissants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This 400 year old street-front hotel has a great location near to the train/bus terminal as well as a 20-30 minute walk to the heart of Siena. As mentioned by others, you can go from the bus or train up through a 2 story shopping mall (PAM) and then continue up escalators to the street of the hotel. Although our front room was smallish with a tiny bath, we had a large balcony with a fantastic view of the Tuscany hills. The evening light was heart stoppingly beautiful. Since there's a traffic light in front of the hotel with beeps for the visually impaired and is a turn-off to Rome, either use ear plugs or ask for a back room unless you crave a balcony and/or are a heavy sleeper. A pot of American coffee welcomes you to the bar/common room off of the lobby where except for the dour night clerk the desk folks are proactive and helpful with information from church hours, train, and bus schedules, such as to the nearby medieval city of San Gimingano. The breakfast buffet is bountiful, and I'd return just for the chocolate croissants.

Room Tip: Street facing rooms have roomy balconies, but are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear GlobalGyp, thank you so much for leaving a such nice and detailed review about us!
I am really happy that you find our position so comfortable arriving at the train station, and also for the nice walk of just 15 minutes till the heart of the city center, the beautiful Piazza del Campo.
Concerning the traffic light, we have asked several times at the Municipality of the city to make it quieter, but it is not possible, because it's a sound established by law (and the motivation, for sure, is serious and important!).
Our staff is all really professional and at the same time really friendly; the night clerk works always during the night and after lots of years you do this job, maybe you become a little gloomy..
I really hope to greet you here again as our special guest,
Best regards,

Cristina M.
ps the chocolate croissants are my favourite as well ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    504
    108
    24
    9
See reviews for
200
665
61
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just 15 to 20 minutes away from main attractions. Excellent breakfast. Very clean, hotel personnel very helpful and friendly, spacious room, 10 euros parking, near restaurants, WiFi very good, bathroom good, not too big for over weight people.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Michel,
First of all we would like to thank you for your review. Every day we do our best to make the stay of our guest the most pleasant. Your review let us think we are on the right track! We are sure your words will be very helpful to those who are looking for a comfortable and charming accommodation in our beautiful city.
We send you our greetings and a smile from Siena!

Davide La Piana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We neededa good hotel close to the railway station . This hotel is close to a good shopping centre and to a main gateway to Siena therefore a convenient mix of the new and the old . The room was comfortable clean and quiet, the breakfast was very good and the staff at the front desk were extremely helpful.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and they provided one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear David,
We would like thank you for the beautiful words you spent for us. Your review is very important for the community of tripadvisor since it is very clear and you touch all the strengths of Hotel Italia: our position, the comfort of our rooms, our delicious breakfast and our passionate and helpful staff.
Looking forward to welcoming you next time we send you our greetings from the beautiful Siena.

Davide La Piana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our room was very comfortable and everything was clean and well-maintained. Breakfast was good. Near railroad station and walkable to Duomo. The staff was extremely helpful when my wife had a medical problem with her foot, and all staff were helpful with advice and directions.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear BKR1, thank you so much for spending time leaving a review about us.
The guest care is our first primary objective, and for the staff to help your wife was absolutely a pleasure.
I am really happy that you liked our location, the room and our big buffet breakfast, with whom you start the day in a sweet and genunine way, eating home made pastries and nice salty food.
I really hope to have you here again as our guests!
Best regards,

Cristina M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff here is so nice and the hotel is immaculate. Breakfast was excellent and had many choices. Even though it is a twenty minute walk to the center, you can't book a better hotel closer to the train station escalator. It is a five minute walk t the escalator that takes you down to the train station. I counted I believe ten escalators down to the train station so it takes about 15 minutes to get up or down..In 20 minutes, you are at the hotel from the station. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Also, breakfast starts at 7 which is great if you have an 8:00 train to catch. When you go to the center and there late, the buses and taxis may stop running. We were in the center and discovered that the taxis stop running after midnight and are difficult to find before 7 a.m., so if you are in the center and are staying at Hotel Italia, it may be best just to walk back to the hotel like we did. It took about 30 minutes to walk from Piazza del Campo to the hotel. Since the hotel is not in the city center, it is a very quiet area and all the action is 15-20 minutes away.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem just fine. We overlooked an alley close to the main street and it wasn't too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Europeant, what a wonderful review! Thank you so much!!
I am really happy that you enjoyed our Hotel, starting from the room, the nice breakfast and our convenient position from the station and also from the main city center: many envy our location ;-)
Thank you also for the information about the taxi in Siena, that usually don't stop if you signing with hand, as in other city, but you have to phone or to go in one of the Taxi Station inside the city center - surely this information will be helpful for future guests.
I hope to greet you here soon!
Best regards,

Cristina M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A great hotel, very convenient for the station (take the 7 or 8 escalators up from the station, turn right, walk 50m, hotel is on the other side of the road). Piazzo del Campo and other major attractions are a good 20-25 minutes walk away. There are several good trattorias along Via Camollia which is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. (We particularly enjoyed Fonte Giusta.) Also just around the corner from Via Camollia is the venue for Italian Opera (20 euros for 90 mins of well known arias on Tues, Thurs and Sat at 21:15 - a thoroughly enjoyable experience booked through the hotel). We had a superior room which was lovely and the bed was very comfortable. There was a good choice for breakfast but it was disappointing that the scrambled eggs were cold every morning. There are two breakfast rooms which may not have been obvious to some guests - each morning the main one was very busy so we used the half empty one! Coffee was freshly ground and excellent. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful and a real credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear JMcC83F, thank you so much for leaving a review about us.
I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay in Siena, also for the services and the guest' attention that you found in our Hotel.
I know that sometimes we have the big breakfast room really crowdy and the smallest one empty.. people choice :-)
Thank you so much also for the detailed description about our position from the station and the main city center, surely useful to future guests.
I hope to greet you here again,

Best regards,

Cristina M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

An average hotel, located in one of the main incoming streets some 30 minutes walk away from all the sights of the historic center. Thus prepare for somewhat dull suburban environment and quite a bit of walking back and forth. The official photos of the outside don't tell the whole truth since they are taken either from the backside or so, that the street does not show. We stayed here only because we needed a safe car park (10€ per day). Our room was tiny but clean and ok for a one night stay. The service in the reception was very friendly. The breakfast was a bit chaotic: The service nook is far too small for a self-service buffet of a hotel of this size. Some dozen customers were queueing in front of the same table for food and for their turn to fetch coffee from a machine, to toast bread in another machine and to prepare pancakes in a third. We queued even for clean cups.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Tuulav, thank you so much for spending time leaving a review about us.
Our location is immediately outside the city center: you can arrive by car with no ZTL limits and then from here you can walk everywhere (from the door of the hotel till Piazza del Campo is 1 km and a half, 20 minutes by foot; but after just 5 minutes from the hotel you are inside the historic center, entering from Porta Camollia).
Our hotel is an historical building, so the space can not easily be expanded; for this reason, we have 2 different breakfast rooms, so our guests can be divided and have their breakfast all sit, enjoying our delicious buffet. Maybe the crowdy situation was for a festivity or a special day. I do apologize for that.
We are really clear in our description in all the web sites that sell our Hotel, so the photos are from all the point of view of the Hotel - for sure we are not in the main city center or in the country side, so the surrounding environment is not one of our best point ;-)
I really hope to greeting you here again, to change your mind that we are not so basic..
Best regards,

Cristina M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Address: Viale Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 67, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Siena
#7 Family Hotel in Siena
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly 3 star Hotel close to the Siena City Centre,completely refreshed, easy access from the train station by the escalator, parking (to be reserved). All comforts: Air Conditioned, Tv Lcd Sat with free Sky Channels, WiFi (free for reservation on our web site),Great Buffet Breakfast with cold and hot delicacies, dainties for the sweet tooth guests, gluten free and vegan food.From May to September enjoy for free Garden Hotel’s swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.