We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, affordable, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Italia to your Saves list
Hotel Italia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 67, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Oxnard, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great location, affordable, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'd stay here again. We stayed at Hotel Italia for four days while we traveled to wineries in Chianti and Tuscany. The decor was cute with nicely framed '50's stars like Marilyn Monroe, Audrey Hepburn; the coffee pretty good, and we had a substantial breakfast. Our twin bedroom was large enough for two women and we had a great view.
Because of the proximity to the center of town, we had plenty of time to walk around, watch a parade, eat, drink and shop.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    460
    99
    23
    8
See reviews for
185
594
59
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Its a very good hotel, in the entrance of the city. You can do everything walking from here. The rooms are very good, its very quiet, and the only negative point was the breakfast, very crowded. But, overall, a very good hotel!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Bernardo,

many thanks for staying with us and for sharing your kind opinion.
Breakfast is probably very crowded the last 20 minutes...but we also have a second breakfast room...Just let you know...for next time ;)!!!
I'm very pleased you enjoyed the Hotel and its location and I really hope you'll come and visit us again soon.
Sincere regards,

Federica Fiochi and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was probably my favorite hotel while visiting Italy (although I do admit my personal preference is for a hotel room that is bright, airy, and simple). I booked an executive double for single use directly on the hotel website, and found it to be wonderful value for money. I was very pleasantly surprised to be allocated room 354 that had french doors and a hugh balcony with table and chairs with an amazing view! The room is very bright, with simple furniture and nice Italian prints on the wall. The room was good size size as was the bathroom (it only had a shower and no tub which was my preference). The bed was very comfortable with nice linens. The room had a large flat screen TV with lots of channels (two English language BBC and CNN). There was a large closet with plentiful hangers and shelving for clothing. There was a small fridge (with complimentary drinks that were replenished each day). There was a small safe in the closet but it would only fit an iPad mini so would not hold a regular laptop.

The room had nice toiletries that were not replenished daily (nor was the toilet paper which ran out while I was there). The room came with free wifi (you do need a different code for each device you have that you need to connect, but the reception is happy to provide as many as you need).

Breakfast at the hotel was excellent (very plentiful) and included hot eggs and bacon, in addition to numerous breads, cereals, yogurts, fruits, etc. The breakfast staff were very pleasant and replenished items constantly.

The front desk staff were amazing. Very pleasant and extremely helpful. I feel terrible that I didn't get all of their names. One of the ladies took the time to call "My Tours" and find a tour for me to do the next day (Castles and Chianti - highly recommended).

The location is just outside the city walls as others have noted. The access from the train station is easy up the numerous escalators (even traveling alone with two bags). The #10 bus runs into the old town and the stop is just outside the hotel, or you can take a taxi for around 8 euros (there is a taxi stand just behind Piazza del Campo in the very center of Siena).

I really enjoyed my stay and was sorry to leave. Highly recommended and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Room 354 - spacious with an amazing outside balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear KarenAnne,

many many thanks for your incredible review.
First of all I want to apologize about toiletries.
Maid MUST replace it DAILY...I will take care of this so it won't happen again, I'm really sorry about that.
Thanks God, all the rest was nice and your stay was pleasant...Your review is a sort of mini guide, I'm sure It will help many travellers!
Looking forward to your next visit, please accept our warmest regards,

Federica Fiochi and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Hotel Italia as our base while we did 4 days of touring with Gianni on his Walks About Tuscany Tours (highly recommended!). We were a group of 6 with an executive room (#354), one superior double room (#133) and one twin double room (#129).

You should book directly through the website as it is the only way you get free internet. Plus it will give you the best price as they state on their website they will not only match any advertised deal (from orbitz, travelocity ect.), but they will beat it by 10 euros. After e-mail communication back and forth with the hotel manager they beat the online prices and even fulfilled all of our room requests that I had heard from other reviewers (back of the hotel, balcony, and #354 for the executive room).

The hotel, situated right outside the city gate (and very close 100m or so from the escalators that go to the train station, is only a short 15-20 minute walk to the city center and even after our walks with Gianni everyday, we ventured into Sienna to explore the nightlife and eat dinner. It is a great location for those with a car who are looking to explore the towns surrounding Sienna and have easy access to Sienna itself.

We did explore Charlie Bar across the street which offered cheap drinks and free small bites (but I recommend going earlier in the evening when they are warm).

The rooms were above average size for european hotel rooms and the beds were comfortable but on par with other hotel beds in europe where they are firm.
The staff was very friendly, helpful and spoke good english. The breakfast was plentiful with a variety of options. The cappuccino was amazing!

We had rented a minivan for our party of 6 and paid the 10 euros a night for parking. The spaces were very small (especially for our car) but it was nice not to have to search for parking every night.

Room Tip: Executive Room 354 (facing the back) has a large balcony, table, and 4 chairs with an amazing view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

many thanks for staying with us and for your kind and detailed review. I'm sure it will be very helpful for all the community.
We are very glad you enjoyed the value and the location, tha's what we work for...your satisfaction!!! :)
We all really hope you'll visit us again sometimes, in the meantime please accept our sincere regards.

Federica Fiochi and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very convenient to the train station, as the hotel is close to the top of the escalator -- but still a very short walk to the city gate. We found it the ideal location for our 2 day/2 night stay. We arrived early in the morning, and were allowed to store our luggage until we returned from sightseeing in the early evening, which was super helpful, and the staff went out of their way to provide us with maps, advice, and even to make a cappuccino for me when the caffeine withdrawals started to kick in. Hospitality with a capital "H"! Our room was lovely -- large for Europe, nice bathroom, comfortable beds, very quiet. The breakfast was tasty, with lots of food choices. They have a super-automatic, serve-yourself cappuccino machine that was quite a nice touch. They helped us choose a restaurant for dinner the first night when we were too tired to make much effort, and helped us get a reservation at one of the more popular restaurants our second night. Can't say enough positive things. When I return to Siena, I will return to the Hotel Italia.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest...MANY THANKS!
What can I answer? Your comment is so nice, warm and genuine that we all are really touched.
It's such a satisfaction reading your stay was that good and thanks again for letting us know, it's the best reward we could have asked for.
Please let's come back soon again...
Sincere regards from me and all the Staff,

Federica Fiochi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

The hotel is in a great location, close to the bus stop and only a 10 to 15 minute walk to the main town square. Staff are very informative and helpful. I emailed prior to our stay and received a speedy reply answering all of my queries.
The reception staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms were a good size, beds very comfortable. The one thing missing from the room was an ironand ironing board.
Good choice for breakfast,but the breakfast room is small so you may need to wait a short time for a table.
Overall a very good stay here and would recommend for location, service and value for money

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear Rebecca,
Thank you so much for leaving your nice review.
We are really proud of our staff! They all work as they were the owners and not only employees.
Concerning the ironing board, It is not anymore allowed in the hotel’s rooms in Italy, because of the fire laws (as per other electronic devices that could overload the electrical system of the Hotel, certificated according to a certain power by law).
We have also the second breakfast room in case the main one would be full and It is where is the lounge bar, on the right side of it (maybe that morning was not open for some upkeep reason).
I hope to see you again here!

Cristina M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torreon, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Nice Hotel. Very friendly staff. They helped us book a last minute tour on two vinyards and it was excellent. It has a little lounge area in the ground floor. Free wi fi also.
It's not located as near as you would prefer from restaurants and points of interest if your a turist but it's not thar far neither. A 15 min walk.
We forgot a jacket in the room and they sent it to our home in Mexico.
I recommend booking this hotel.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for writing about us.
The Hotel is located immediately outside the city walls, that is a good point if you arrive by car, because of it is not a ZTL zone, but then from here you can go everywhere walking.
I am happy that you have back your jacket forgotten in the room!
I hope to see you again in our Hotel!

Cristina M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Address: Viale Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 67, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Siena
#7 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly 3 star Hotel close to the Siena City Centre,completely refreshed, easy access from the train station by the escalator, parking (to be reserved). All comforts: Air Conditioned, Tv Lcd Sat with free Sky Channels, WiFi (free for reservation on our web site),Great Buffet Breakfast with cold and hot delicacies, dainties for the sweet tooth guests, gluten free and vegan food.From May to September enjoy for free Garden Hotel’s swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.