We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Italia - Siena” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Italia to your Saves list
Hotel Italia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 67, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Pasadena, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Italia - Siena”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in Siena. The staff is friendly and helpful and appear to want their guests to have a good experience in Siena. Getting there is a little tricky - the many escalators from the train station etc but the directions given were good and it was a relief to arrive. Though not exactly in the old city it is within walking distance. The hotel provides a nice breakfast with many options for the hungry traveler. I found the bed to be rather hard but this appears to be true in all the places I stayed in Italy. I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for posting your comment.
I’m happy you enjoyed staying with us. About our location, we’re just outside the old walls of the city…fortunately…because it’s possible to get here also by car and it’s very very comfortable. The beds have top quality mattresses, but I understand it’s very subjective, I’m sorry you didn’t appreciate them.
I would also like to thank you for recommending us to your friends…it’s really very nice.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon again, I remain with my kindest regards.

Federica Fiochi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    458
    99
    23
    8
See reviews for
184
593
59
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cudgen
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

If arriving by train, cross the square in shopping centre. Take 6 escalators to top and hotel is 50 meter to the right. Book direct and get free wifi. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Location is good with old city walking distance. Staff very friendly and helpful. Could never figure out how to use a/c, rooms hot so need to have windows open. Breakfast has good choices.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your kind review. Your information are very important and I’m sure will be very useful to the readers.
I’m sorry about A/c…You’ve been here in a moment of change, one day 25° and 12° the other… When we invert to hot (and we did it) it’s not possible to go back. Mad weather this year…even today… November…we still have 20°, incredible…
I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our service, let’s come back soon.
Thanks and regards,

Federica Fiochi and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived for 4 nights by train and prior to arriving we were worriedas it was a distance from the station up escalators ( many of them) then turned right down the hill and on a bumpy sidewalk - not good for heavy suitcases, but when we got there that was the last of our worries. We asked for a quiet room and initially got a room on the front on the road. We asked to be changed and this was done, even though it was a full hotel. Each day, the staff were courteous and full of information, the gem was how to catch the bus to San gimignano! which was wonderful to go to and see. The breakfast was lovely and they make all their own cakes, simply delicious. Any left overs are available free after breakfast time in the bar. All in all wonderful and we will be back when next we come to Siena. Enjoy!!!!'

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Robert,
many thanks for sharing your opinion, it’s really very important to us, GRAZIE!
Thanks also for the important advices and information you provide…very useful to future guests!
It’s very nice reading you enjoyed staying with us and your visit to Siena and San Gimignano …you’re right…San Gimignano is a real gem.
I really hope to welcome you again soon.
Sincere regards from Siena,

Federica Fiochi and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Italia for 4 nights out of our two week trip to Italy. The hotel is in a safe neighborhood just outside the wall. We walked into the town campo every night - about 15 minutes one way on pedestrian friendly sidewalks and cobblestone streets.

Yes, the staff is incredibly welcoming and no request was too small! They spoke English and helped with our bus schedule (there is a main bus terminal in town about 1 km away and a bus stop across the street about 30 meters away). Because a lot of reviews have focused on the service, I'd like to write about the rooms. We stayed in an executive room that was worth the extra money. The room was cozy, but super clean with renovated bathrooms.

Room pros: working wifi, new digital safe, quiet mini frig, open/sunny/renovated bathrooms & showers, magnifying mirror, and soft towels. I'll attach photos.

The breakfast was nice, but can get mobbed toward the end, so it's a good idea to go down before the cut off time.

On a tourist note, we chose not to rent a car. We walked to just about everything in Siena. We took the bus from Pisa to Siena and later from Siena to Florence. In Siena we did a grand tour that included Pienza and Montepulciano (wonderful!). Our favorite restaurant/wine bar in Siena was Compagnia die Vinattieri.

Many thanks to the Hotel Italia staff for making our Siena experience the highlight of our trip!

Room Tip: Pay a lil extra for executive room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
GRAZIEEE!!! Many many thanks for your incredible, interesting and useful review!
Reading we made your Siena experience the highlight of your trip is one of the nicest things we have ever read about us and we are so happy !!!
Thanks also for posting those pictures about Executive rooms, it’s always good people could have an impartial point of view.
We all hope to welcome you soon again.
Warmest regards from me and all the Staff,

Federica Fiochi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The staff was friendly, hotel has very clean rooms and comfortable beds. Breakfast was very good and I had a nice room view. The hotel is well situated, just a pleasant walk to the town centre. Would go there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Simona,
First of all thanks for spending your time in writing a review about us. Your opinion is very important to us!
I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay so much and spent good time with us and in our beautiful Siena.
Let’s come back soon!!!
Sincere regards from me and the Staff,

Federica Fiochi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were most fortunate in finding this hotel upon our arrival in Siena, late on a Sunday night, and without any hotel reservation. I saw an advertisement for the Hotel Italia on a street sign and proceeded to find this oasis. To our great surprise, the price was outstanding, and the room and facilities were far superior to our expectations. Jannicke, the ever-present hotel manager, was charming, friendly, and informative. Our room was quite large by European standards, complete with large bed, sofa, immaculate bathroom, and TV. We had a nice shower with plenty of hot water. The breakfast included an array of both hot and cold fare, yogurt, and fresh fruit. The hotel staff watched our bags after we checked out so that we could tour the city without being encumbered by our luggage. The hotel location is only about a 25 minute walk to the Campo and Duomo along the main pedestrian-mostly thoroughfare. Everything, including the price, was just right.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guests…THANKS!
I’m sorry to let you down :-) but I am the manager…Federica…nice to meet you :-)! What you write means that I really have a great staff…. All my guys could be managers and I’m so proud of them!!!
It’s so nice reading your review…it’s…just right!!! :-)
Me, Jannicke and all the Staff want to say: GRAZIE DI CUORE!
Warmest regards from Siena.

Federica Fiochi and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed for a week seeing Siena specifically and Tuscany in general. The front of house staff made our visit. The hotel itself is comfortable and well situated for Siena. But what made the trip memorable was how helpful and friendly the staff were - with advice on any topic - and the willingness to go to real trouble to make sure our stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Robin,
I’m so glad you had this impression about us. That’s exactly what we would always like to give our guests and reading you appreciate it is so nice!
Many many thanks from me and all the Staff.
Let’s come back and visit us soon again, kindest regards

Federica Fiochi and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Address: Viale Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 67, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Siena
#7 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly 3 star Hotel close to the Siena City Centre,completely refreshed, easy access from the train station by the escalator, parking (to be reserved). All comforts: Air Conditioned, Tv Lcd Sat with free Sky Channels, WiFi (free for reservation on our web site),Great Buffet Breakfast with cold and hot delicacies, dainties for the sweet tooth guests, gluten free and vegan food.From May to September enjoy for free Garden Hotel’s swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.