We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Italia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Italia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Italia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 67, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Siena
brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in for a night recently in March. Hotel is in great location only 10 mins walk to the city centre. Hotel overall appearance is clean and front house staff are friendly and very helpful. Room itself was a little dated and the bed was quite hard to sleep on, but very clean and tidy. Breakfast in the restaurant in front of hotel was great and staff here are good also. Great spot for a night stay in Siena to do some sight seeing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

many thanks for sharing this review. I’m really glad you appreciated so much our location and your stay was overall satisfying.
About the bed what can I say is that our mattresses are top quality and suitable for back pain. We have been suggested to buy the hard one because…”they are the best!”…then it’s impossible to match all the personal preferences, I’m really sorry.
Did you have breakfast here at Hotel Italia? Because our brand new Breakfast Room is inside the hotel not in front. Just to be clear with next guests :-).
Me and the Staff we hope you’ll come soon for a new sightseeing in Siena and in the meantime we wish you a wonderful spring!

Federica Fiochi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    415
    94
    22
    7
See reviews for
169
530
55
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was one of the best places we stayed. The staff was very helpful. The rooms were newly renovated and clean. We had a fantastic balcony/porch attached to our room. The breakfast was good. It was in a convenient location to explore Siena from. There was wifi available that you could even use in some locations inside the city. Overall great experience and we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Tara grazieeee! Really, what an amazing review!
I don’t want to spend too much words…I would like that the WOW would remain well visible to everybody as a great, sincere and tender heart-felt thankyou!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Looking forward to welcoming you again, we all send you a warm regard!!!

Federica Fiochi and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

After two positively horrible hotel experiences in Italy, at the Petit Palias in Venice and the Hotel Cosimo de Medici in Florence, we booked a room at the Hotel Italia at the last minute, without doing too much research - just so we could get away from Florence.
But this hotel exceeded all of the expectations we could have had in every way. The location is right next to the train station (you have to go up 9 flights of escalators from the station before you reach the city) and the hotel is a 2 minute walk from there - very convenient if you are carrying around big suitcases as we were and just a 10 minute walk from the city center. The rooms are warm, nicely sized and well designed. The bathrooms are not new but very clean. The entire hotel has a wonderful, cheerful air about it. The breakfast is as good as any we have had in Europe. But above all is how amazing the staff here is. Our special thanks to Ms Jannicke at the reception who epitomizes friendliness and efficiency. She really went out of her way to help us enjoy our stay here better. A very comfortable hotel with the nicest staff possible. Will we book a stay in this hotel again? WITHOUT QUESTION. And for a longer period to enjoy this absolutely magical little city better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Grazie Tanya, really many many thanks. What an incredible review!!!
You know, when you write about the staff I’m always so proud. Jannicke is a wonderful collaborator, all my staff is very well trained and has a particular personal “talent” for human relationship.
A sincere smile can’t lie :-)!!!
Let’s come back soon…we all wait for you with open arms!!!
Warmest regards,

Federica Fiochi and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

It looked like it had just been renovated, the staff are all very helpful and spoke good english, nice and handy for the town and its sights, plenty of places to eat nearby, supermarket etc, the room was very comfortable, reliable internet at small cost, plenty of on street parking for free, you have to pre-book if you want to park off road but there is no need, i would definately recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Paul….GRAZIEEEEEEEEE!!! Thanks!
You’re right! We’ve just reopened after a renovation and I’m glad you appreciate it.
Thanks also for the useful advices you’ve posted and if you’ll come back again don’t forget to check our web site where you’ll always find the best price.
Sincere regards from all of us,

Federica Fiochi and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Great hotel, very convenient to the city center with a local bus stop right outside the hotel. Our room was on the small side, but it was very clean and the bathroom was modern and well-stocked. It was picture perfect to go back to the room in the afternoon and throw open the shutters to look out on the beautiful city.
I can't say enough about the staff. They were so friendly, very helpful in every regard, and encouraged us to use our Italian every day. The breakfast was excellent and we ate there every morning. It is really conveniently located to the main train station that brings you into Siena. We took the escalator all the way up to the street level and Hotel Italia was a block away. This was a welcome relief to weary travelers! We are planning our 2nd trip to Siena and will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are only there a few days the smaller rooms are just fine but if we stay longer, I would upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Caterina,

first of all many thanks for sharing your review.
I’m so glad your stay was so nice and my staff so helpful. I really think they’re the crowning point of Hotel Italia!!!
I’m sure you already red about our renovation…so let’s come after February and find out the “new” Hotel Italia…but same staff and welcome :-).
Warmest regards from Siena,

Federica Fiochi and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siena
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This place is clean, not expensive, only a 10 minute walk to the center of town, right outside the train station so you don't have to lug luggage far, friendly and super helpful staff, and in a safe area that's perfect for your stay. I couldn't think of a better place to stay and highly recommend it.

Also, for you english speakers on tripadvisor, the hotel staff speaks perfect english.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Yes!!! Grazie for your loving review. We all are very touched by the warm tone of your comment and we just want to thank you with all our hearth.
We are all looking forward to your next visit,,,hoping it will be soon :-).
Ciao from Siena,

Federica and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Friedly hotel close to the train station and to the centre. Incredible breakfast, we put in a few pounds during our stay thanks to the homemade candies and cakes... Love room was gorgeous and funny As well :-)...
We had a small problem with the room key, we couldn't enter for 1 hour and then we found a botte of sparkling wine in the room, so nice! Grazie Elany, Julia and thanks everybody. Toniamo presto!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks!!!! You thank us…we thank you!!! So nice, incredible review…!
Please come back soon, we all wait for you next visit.
Warmest regards,

Federica Fiochi and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Address: Viale Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 67, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Siena
#7 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly 3 star Hotel close to the Siena City Centre,completely refreshed, easy access from the train station by the escalator, parking (to be reserved). All comforts: Air Conditioned, Tv Lcd Sat with free Sky Channels, WiFi (free for reservation on our web site),Great Buffet Breakfast with cold and hot delicacies, dainties for the sweet tooth guests, gluten free and vegan food.From May to September enjoy for free Garden Hotel’s swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.