We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in Sienna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Italia to your Saves list
Hotel Italia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 67, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in Sienna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights in this hotel early January 2012 whilst exploring Siena. Would certainly recommend it to other travellers (and stay there again) for the following reasons - convenient location from top of escalators to / from railway station. Very easy to find and an enjoyable walk to the city centre; very friendly staff and very good breakfasts / coffee (don't usually have biscuits with hot chocolate as part of our breakfast but we adapted well); room was clean as was to be expected; wonderfull view over part of Sienna from our large window; Wifi available but at a very small additional cost. Excellent value for money. Possible improvements - incorporate the wifi charge into the room price purely from a convenience perspective and provide warm / hot scrambled eggs (this last comment could apply to the majority of Italian hotels we stayed at during our Italian holiday). In summary very hard to fault - really great staff, really great location and value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear Philandlis,
many thanks for sharing your opinion about Hotel Italia Siena on Trip Advisor, your reviews are very helpful to improve and to give indication to other guests.
About your suggestions I want to say that you’re right about Internet connection. It would be much better offering free WIFI access, but unfortunately Italian Taxes on it are so high that it’s very hard to us…let’s hope something will change in the future… In the meantime we keep the cost as low as we can as you mention it’ s a very small additional cost.
About breakfast we do have hot scrambled eggs every day and also bacon or sausage depending on the day… You can find hot food at the end of the buffet inside the chef and dish.

Grazie for your nice words about staff and services, they give us a big boost to do our job with more and more enthusiasm.
I really hope to welcome you again, best regards.

The Manager Federica Fiochi and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    506
    108
    24
    9
See reviews for
201
667
61
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I loved the little room we got...kinda cramped staircase getting in, but very roomy and probably the best accommodation we had in Italy! It was very clean, newly renovated, a well decorated washroom (and room in general), with AC (a must in summer). The breakfast was also very extensive.
Location was also excellent if you want to be away from the crowds (it requires a bit of a walk to the center of town), but the walk is amazing and would have been missed had we stayed closer. There is also a park nearby that has amazing views of Siena...a must-see!!
Everything is still walking distance so I totally recommend this hotel!

We stayed here for only one night, but wish we could have stayed for more!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the condo units on the side as opposed to the hotel rooms...they were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Ian,

I really appreciate your review about Hotel Italia Siena, GRAZIE!
Me and the staff, we are all very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, it’s our main goal. Your satisfaction is our pleasure.
I think the view you talk about is the one from the wonderful terrace of our 4 star Hotel, Garden, where our guests can park for free…and you’re right… it’s absolutely amazing!!! Just think tourist bus stop there to take pictures!
Let’s wait for your next longer visit in Siena, hoping you’ll choose us again.
Best regards.

The Manager Federica Fiochi and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We spent 2 wonderful nights at this hotel. Our room was very large, comfortable and spotlessly clean. We found the hotel easily following directions from the train station up the multiple escalators to the top of the hill and turn right and just a short walk from there. The city gate and old city center was a lovely stroll from the hotel passing wonderful pizzarias and gelato shops along the way. We bought different kinds of pizza and had a picnic in the nearby piazza. The breakfast at the hotel was included and very plentiful and delicious with hot entrees.
All the staff at the front was very friendly and helpful with maps at the ready with all the sights marked. The wifi was free (perhaps because we stayed more than 1 night) and worked well the whole time we were there. We felt the rooms were reasonably priced for the proximity to the center and amenities offered. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would want to stay here again and again.

Room Tip: We chose the newer high tech room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear Guest,

many thanks for leaving your comment about Hotel Italia Siena.
I wish I could always read reviews like yours… what a satisfaction! Grazie!
It’s so important to me people spending quality time here with us. We work hard for this but always happy to do it!
Executive rooms include free Wi FI access, otherwise it costs 1€/1h, 2 €/3h, 5 €/24h.
Awaiting to welcome you again, I remain with my best regards.

The Manager Federica Fiochi and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

What a wonder ful hotel-whish we could have put it on wheels and towed it with us. It began with a happy greeting by the girls at the front desk. We were accompanied by my sister who was in a wheelchair. Our Cosmos guide, Silvio, had called ahead and got our room assignments which made check in a breeze. Just gave our room number and we were off to our rooms. We were in a beautiful annex just outside the front door. Large and beautiful, and best of all my sister had a double step in shower.
Many walked to the large square, but we were not feeling so ambitious. I had read about a restaurant Fonteguisto. The desk clerks made a reservation for us. It was not far down the street, and had great food. The steak was very tender-not the norm
we found as we travled on-menu was varied and reasonable. Mostly local patrons-a good sign. There were several local shops near the hotel. A great experience-wish it had been for more than one night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

first of all I want to thank you for your review about Hotel Italia Siena.
Sharing your opinion you also give a lot of nice information very helpful!
Your words are so lovely, grazie! I’m really happy you enjoyed staying with us.
Since you’re our hundredth guest leaving an excellent comment about us, I’m pleased to inform you that you’ll have a free night to spend here.
Awaiting to receive you again, I remain with my warmest regards.


The Manager Federica Fiochi and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Hotel Italia is just outside the city wall very close to the bus stop and at the top of the escalators from the train station. It is a very easy, comfortable 15 – 20 minute to the central square. We enjoyed the walk at the end of the day to help digest yet another delicious dinner! Breakfast is good with lots of options and served in a bright, communal room. There is a coffee machine that makes a decent cappuccino (though skip the espresso solo).

What made our stay so enjoyable was the staff. We were always greeted with smiles and all of our questions answered professionally (even ones about transportation in/out of Siena). Grazie Elaine!

Our room was one of the newly remodeled Executive Rooms; it was very nice and had a great view as well. The room was immaculate and felt spacious even though it is a standard size. Did I mention complimentary mini-bar and free, reliable WiFi! The bar isn’t stocked full or anything, but it was a nice touch that made you feel...welcome.

I would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to anyone visiting.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

many thanks for sharing your experience about Hotel Italia Siena.
I’m really happy staying with us was up to your expectations. Thanks also for the nice words about staff. I’m pretty sure they’re our crowning point… they should be very proud of their job, I am! Elaine was struck with your note and wants to say GRAZIE!
Me and the guys, we all hope to welcome you again!
Warm regards from Siena.

The Manager Federica Fiochi and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We recently stayed at Hotel Italia for two nights, and it was very nice. The location is great. It's just a short (and easy) walk from the train station, and short walk from the old town inside the walls.The bed was comfortable, the room was very clean, the bathroom was new and had a great shower with lots of hot water, breakfast was nice, and the staff were all very helpful and friendly. They all tried to serve our needs very well. We enjoyed our stay here, and we would stay here again, if we return to Siena. Our room was smaller than I had anticipated, but still it is highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you book the executive room, the free WiFi works very well in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Dear Debby,

many thanks for leaving a review about Hotel Italia Siena.
Everything you write is very kind and I’m very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
I’m sorry your expectation about room size wasn’t satisfied. Executive rooms, like the one you chose, are not all the same size. Some are really big and others are “normal”. This is due to the bearing walls and even if the floor is brand new, there were structural limits during renovation.
I hope to welcome you again, in case write a note so that I can accommodate you in our biggest executive room.
Best regards.

The Manager Federica Fiochi and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Not knowing what to expect we were delightfully surprised by the Hotel Italia. The rooms although modest in size were very comfortable and our room in the back (515) was quiet even with the window open. The best part was the wonderful front desk staff that made our stay so much more then it would have been without their help. They made reservations, suggestions for restaurants which were excellent, and they helped us plan day trips to Chianti wine country, best route to see sites to Orvieto our next stop plus all the regular excursions thru-out Siena. We will stay there again. BTW the breakfast was very good and the price very reasonable.

Room Tip: Get a room in back buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Dear Guest,

thanks for your kind review about Hotel Italia Siena.
The hotel was originally a 19th-century palace and when it was converted, there wasn’t the possibility to make rooms all of the same size. You’ll find both in standard and superior and executive rooms all different sizes, thanks for giving me the opportunity to leave this information also to other guests.
I’m very delighted for what you report about reception staff. This makes me really proud and them too. It’s such a big satisfaction reading we succeed in welcoming. Comments like this encourage us to work better and better, grazie!!!
Let’s hope you’ll come to Siena again.
Best regards.

The Manager Federica Fiochi and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Address: Viale Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 67, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Siena
#7 Family Hotel in Siena
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly 3 star Hotel close to the Siena City Centre,completely refreshed, easy access from the train station by the escalator, parking (to be reserved). All comforts: Air Conditioned, Tv Lcd Sat with free Sky Channels, WiFi (free for reservation on our web site),Great Buffet Breakfast with cold and hot delicacies, dainties for the sweet tooth guests, gluten free and vegan food.From May to September enjoy for free Garden Hotel’s swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.