We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent rooms, awful breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Liberty

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Liberty to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Liberty
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Vittorio Veneto 11, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 43 hotels in Siena
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Decent rooms, awful breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We had planned to stay 2 nights at Villa Liberty. Upon checking in, we were rather pleased with the room. Quite a decent size and an ok sized bathroom. It is quite a walk in to the heart of town but is convenient for parking. However, the breakfast the next morning was terrible and put us off staying another night. Stale bread, some rotten looking fruit and imitation corn flakes with warm milk was all there was on offer. If you can overlook the breakfast though, it is otherwise a fairly decent and affordable option.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    118
    34
    3
    5
See reviews for
42
149
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CONGLETON
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here for a four nights on our Tuscan road trip. Great service (especially Jacob) good breakfast (fab orange juice and Americano) clean good standard room, perfect location for exploring Siena and the surrounding areas. The hotel is a gem and would recommend if you like excellent service with no pomp! We found this really good value for money and would go there again.

Room Tip: We had a superior room and it was a very good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated just outside the old city walls. It's just a short walk to the entrance of the old city. We had a room on the first floor overlooking the gardens adjacent to the walls with a lovley fountain. Our room had a good size balcony to sit out and admire the view. The room was a decent size and nicely decorated. The only down side was the bathroom which was super tiny ! it's a good job that my husband and I are thin because there was only a tiny space between the basin and toilet. It was a tight squeeze to get in and out of the shower cubicle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were overnight before setting out on our organised walking holiday in Tuscany. The hotel was excellent for the purpose, close to the city centre and a short walk from the station. It was modern, comfortable and clean. In addition it had English stations on the TV so I could watch my money disappear from my retirement account during the current pull back. Good Internet was free. These latter two seem to be a rarity in Italy. The rooms were a little small but not a problem
The cost I cannot comment as it was part of a package but it was very good.

Room Tip: All rooms seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

What a charming little hotel is Villa Liberty! We only stayed one night, but were delighted with this hotel. The room was small, but nicely decorated. We were at the front of the building with a view to the street. The roller shutter took care of any noise from outside. The bathroom was most definitely the smallest we have experienced in our travels, but the double-size shower with rain showerhead was a delight. The staff were friendly and efficient. With its good proximity to the old City, Villa Liberty is definitely a must visit hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed two nights here in June 2013. We suspected we could overpay for something quite mediocre in Siena, but we were really pleased with Hotel Liberty. The hotel was simple and stylish - the room we stayed in was clean with nice decor and a comfortable bed! As others say, it's within 10 minutes walking distance from the old streets, and no more than 15 minutes from the Campo. The breakfast was a little basic - toast, pastries, cereals - but I guess that's about right at this level. Everything else the hotel did, it did well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Considering the location and the price this hotel is not bad. The rooms are small but clean and modern, beeakfast was included but nothing special ( orange juice was made out of fresh Oranges which is a plus) staff is nice with the exception of a blond lady at reception whom thought to know better... Siena is incredeable and Liberty is not a bad place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Liberty

Address: Viale Vittorio Veneto 11, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Liberty 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside the ancient walls of the historic centre of Siena, the Villa Liberty is 10 minutes' walk from Piazza del Campo. You can reach the hotel easily by car, and walk as far as the unique medieval centre of city in few minutes. This converted 19th-century villa retains the charm and ambiance of its former origins as a private residence.The 18 Villa Liberty rooms are all furnished elegantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Villa Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Liberty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.