We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming small hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Liberty

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Liberty to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Liberty
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Vittorio Veneto 11, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 43 hotels in Siena
Denville, NJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Charming small hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay here. The hotel is very conveniently located near to the old city of Siena. The place is clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is adequate and there is free street parking on the side street adjacent to the hotel. Here are some of the pluses & minuses:

Pros: close to old city of Siena, clean, friendly service, free parking, good internet service, helpful staff

Cons: our room was on the ground level and had quite a bit of street noise,

Very good location for a stay in Siena and as a hub for visiting other Tuscan hill towns!

Room Tip: Don't stay on the ground floor, it's a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    119
    34
    3
    5
See reviews for
42
150
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I didn't actually stay in this hotel, but I was on a day trip to Siena and got hopelessly turned around. I walked into the hotel and the service desk treated me like a guest (although they did not let me use their bathrooms). He took out a printed map and highlighted the walking routes and totally saved the day for me! The service person was very pleasant and friendly, well beyond expectation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

What a lucky find. Loved that the hotel is in a residential neighborhood and has been recently remodeled. We took the lowest priced room because we didn't intend to spend much time there and found it very comfortable and clean. Staff was most helpful and friendly. Walking distance to the old city and a host of restaurantsand of course, all the sights of Siena. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed one night as a family of three a week before the Palio. Good location just outside the city walls with free side street parking, and a short stroll (10mins) to the heart of the city. The hotel is quiet, good air conditioning and the service very friendly and accommodating. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Family room with balcony on 1st floor, which has annex room for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My family of three stayed at the Hotel Villa Liberty during the Palio. It is within easy walking distance to the center of Siena and a clean hotel but beyond that I fail to see why so many people rank it high. We stayed on the top floor, which was fine for us, but we had small windows without much sunlight. We were basically in the attic, but it did have taller ceilings which helped with light.

Breakfast was okay, nothing more. The women who makes cappuccinos and helps with breakfast service was pleasant.

There is no restaurant and, really, no bar. Just a few beers, maybe a few drink options, a Coke or Fanta floating around the bar, that a guest can purchase, but that is it.

We found a couple of the front desk staff friendly but not so much one other, who had a bit of an attitude.

This hotel isn't going to make a lasting impression in our mind.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here over the August Palio and were very happy with our time here. The hotel is clean and modern and just a short way from Piazza del Campo which was very convenient. The reception staff were helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Loved this hotel. We were traveling as a family of 3. Our room was beautiful. The main area of the room had a queen size bed and there was an alcove off to the side that had a twin size bed. Comfortable beds, nice furnishings, very modern. It is about a 10 minute walk to Piazza del Campo. The staff was very helpful and friendly. This was the nicest place we stayed on our 3 week trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Liberty

Address: Viale Vittorio Veneto 11, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Liberty 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside the ancient walls of the historic centre of Siena, the Villa Liberty is 10 minutes' walk from Piazza del Campo. You can reach the hotel easily by car, and walk as far as the unique medieval centre of city in few minutes. This converted 19th-century villa retains the charm and ambiance of its former origins as a private residence.The 18 Villa Liberty rooms are all furnished elegantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Villa Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Liberty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.