We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Ravizza to your Saves list
Palazzo Ravizza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Huge Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were very excited to visit this hotel during the Palio in July 2015. The website and reviews looked wonderful. It was not what it was represented to be. The rooms and common areas are frumpy and nothing like the pictures in their marketing materials. Our room was hot even with the air conditioning turned up to the max. The hotel's solution was to bring in a fan!! The hallways and stairways looked chopped up to create space for the rooms. We paid extra for a 'suite' and a high price for the room, probably because of the Palio, but they offered no concessions due to our disappointing experience. The wifi was horrible - took 30 minutes or more to connect every time. The breakfast was OK but nothing like other hotels we visit in the area. The coffee machine was a do-it-yourself version which made average drinks. The wine bar in the lobby was overpriced. Find another place besides Palazzo Ravizza if you are staying in Siena.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    285
    69
    19
    15
See reviews for
110
625
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I just stayed at this hotel and my only regret is that it was only for one night. The location is great, the views breathtaking, the rooms impeccable and the staff super helpful. The garden is stunning and very peaceful. I wish I had known that Siena is such an amazing jewel and stayed more days.

I will highly recommend it in the future. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our stay at Palazzo Ravizza was great. The hotel has a prime location right in the walls of Siena and is very accessible to all the sights in the city. The hotel is beautifully done and stays true to its time. The breakfast buffet is delicious and the views from the patio are breathtaking, especially with a glass of wine in hand from their bar. Our room was huge and very private which was nice. It was a really nice stay and I hope to return one day!

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Arrived after staying in Lucca and Florence and spent 5 comfortable nights there. Our room was on the 4th floor and I think was one of their cheapest (100 Euros a night) but was a nice mixture of old and new. The bathroom was large , clean and well appointed. The aircon was quiet but struggled with the temperatures which for the 2 weeks we were in Tuscany were between 36 and 38 , very hot and humid.
The hotel is nicely placed a little away from the centre of Sienna which is 5 to 10 minutes walk (some uphill) away. As others have commented the best thing is the hotel garden where breakfast is served. It is beautiful and quiet with views across the sienna countryside, very special. We found breakfast a fairly lack lustre affair with nothing hot but the coffee. All the staff were very helpful. The gardens are a fabulous place to get the hotel to serve you a bottle of wine (at very reasonable prices too!). WiFi was free with a very good strong signal even on the 4th floor. We enjoyed Sienna and managed to get to numerous other locations making it excellent as a base.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There are some hotels where, the minute you walk through the door you know it's going to be special. This beautiful hotel which first opened as a hotel in the early 1900s is one of them.
The staff were helpful and friendly with great recommendations on restaurant. Free parking included and a beautiful terrace and garden at the back which was the perfect place to sit and watch the sun set and enjoy breakfast in the morning which was included in the price.
The room we were in wasn't huge but had a stunning view and the bed was really comfortable with beautiful linen.
Wonderful and romantic even when recovering from food poisoning - not from the hotel!

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was absolutely perfect. Walking distance to all the main sites in Siena with a fabulous garden for their extensive breakfast or a drink in the evening. The room was beautifully appointed with a wonderful view and great air conditioning. The parking was easy and the staff were lovely. We were quite sad to have to leave.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful room. Beautiful view. Clean. Comfortable. The best was the garden with its fountain and spectacular views where breakfast was served Palazzo Ravizza served the best breakfast we had in Italy (Umbria and Tuscany). Good whole grain breads, cheeses, yogurts, fruit, pastries, an espresso machine you operate yourself. The staff couldn't have been more obliging with suggestions for restaurants, etc. And in particular, we had just found a wallet in our rental car and the man who check us in spent some time researching and making phone calls and found the owner of the wallet. A completely wonderful stay. I wish we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#4 of 41 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 2,175 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 41 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 41 in Siena
5.0 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 41 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Elda
Hotel Villa Elda
#6 of 41 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Address: Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ravizza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Ravizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.