We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't go wrong here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Ravizza to your Saves list
Palazzo Ravizza
Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Westlake Village, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Perfect location just outside city walls. Lovely rooms. Great views. Parking. Wonderfully quirky staff. A great value. Ideal location for exploring Sienna and surrounding area. Surprisingly reasonable rates. the rooms are not plush or chic but comfortable and soothing. You can't go wrong here.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    252
    66
    18
    13
See reviews for
95
529
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have just returned from Italy, spending 3 nights at Pension Palazzo Ravizza. The Pension was recommended to us and we where not disappointed. We had a garden view room with wonderful views of the Tuscany Hills and very quiet. The garden is a wonderful place to enjoy a glass or two of wine after a busy day, enjoying the wonderful sunset over the hills.

This is a Pension (guest house) not a hotel, where you are made to feel like a welcome guest by all. Our room was very large especially by European standards, although the bathroom was tight as mention by others, but really how much time to you spend in there any way.

Great location to all Siena has to offer and some really great restaurants near by. Francesca on the front desk was a delight and very helpful.

Others have also complained about the slow elevator, well yes it was slow but so was every other elevator in the hotels we stayed at in Florence and Rome.

Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms have a view over the Tuscany hills - ours was delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked three nights here on two visits and appreciated the location and the comfort of these rooms. It's a 10-minute walk to the campo and some excellent restaurants (Osteria Boccon del Prete and La Taverna di San Giuseppe). They have a large, beautiful garden with tables that provide a nice view over the valley. You can purchase wine by the glass and also bring your own wine, but there is a 5 Euro corking fee - they give you glasses and some potato chips. Breakfast is ample. Main drawback is the achingly slow and tiny elevator.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with the garden view as it's quieter and will provide a panoramic view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

A beautiful garden behind the hotel overlooks the Tuscan hills, a locked parking area, a professional staff cater to your needs, and there's even a bookstore attached to the hotel! The room was comfortable, if a bit old, but with a view like that who could complain?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

On a recommendation from a friend who had stayed here on her honeymoon, we booked a night and couldn't have been more pleased. Each room has a view of the Tuscan hills and we got to watch an incredible sunset from our room. The rooms are a bit outdated- especially the bathrooms- but par for much of Europe. While pretty small for 2 people, the rooms were clean and bed was decently comfortable. Not a whole lot of space to put your luggage, but we made do. The garden terrace in the back of the hotel was a wonderful place to have drinks, relax with incredible views of the Tuscany landscape. Every employee we encountered was incredibly warm and helpful. A great choice to for a stay in Siena.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

What a beautiful terrace! What a beautiful view! What a drag that food is not allowed, even with the purchase of wine from the hotel. Here we are, sandwiches in hand, forced to eat in our room while the terrace below is unused. Why???

Incredible that a hotel of this size employs only one poor, over-worked young woman to (wo)man the front desk, act as concierge, collect and distribute room keys. There is no porter to help you find your room or to help with your bags. I feel a bit sorry for her. I feel a bit sorry for us. We paid a premium for this room and expected more services.

How unwelcoming was the waiter in the breakfast room who told us, on our arrival, that the room was closed, breakfast was over, and shrugged when we asked if we could look around. How shabby is the hotel's only elevator. Why is there only one wine glass in the room? Why does all the power go off when you turn in your room key, leaving my I-pad uncharged. I know this is an old hotel, but why isn't there even one unused outlet in the room?

With a little money, better management, and an eye toward customer service, this place could be lovely. In its current condition it is over-priced and disappointing.

Room Tip: The garden view of the Tuscan hills costs more but is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We chose Palazzo Ravizza because it is located within the city walls of Siena and has secure parking (we purchased a new car in Germany and drove to Italy so this was a high priority). We stayed in the tower room with beautiful views of the hotel's garden and the Tuscan countryside, as well as great sunsets.

When we arrived early, the receptionist warmly welcomed us and stored our luggage while we went out to explore the town. It was about a 10 minute walk to the spectacular Duomo and about 15 minutes to Il Campo or medieval public square.

We highly recommend Palazzo Ravizza.

Room Tip: Choose the tower room for spectacular views. The elevator only goes up to the 3rd floor so you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Address: Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Ravizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.