We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views But” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Ravizza to your Saves list
Palazzo Ravizza
Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Siena
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views But”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

What a beautiful terrace! What a beautiful view! What a drag that food is not allowed, even with the purchase of wine from the hotel. Here we are, sandwiches in hand, forced to eat in our room while the terrace below is unused. Why???

Incredible that a hotel of this size employs only one poor, over-worked young woman to (wo)man the front desk, act as concierge, collect and distribute room keys. There is no porter to help you find your room or to help with your bags. I feel a bit sorry for her. I feel a bit sorry for us. We paid a premium for this room and expected more services.

How unwelcoming was the waiter in the breakfast room who told us, on our arrival, that the room was closed, breakfast was over, and shrugged when we asked if we could look around. How shabby is the hotel's only elevator. Why is there only one wine glass in the room? Why does all the power go off when you turn in your room key, leaving my I-pad uncharged. I know this is an old hotel, but why isn't there even one unused outlet in the room?

With a little money, better management, and an eye toward customer service, this place could be lovely. In its current condition it is over-priced and disappointing.

Room Tip: The garden view of the Tuscan hills costs more but is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    252
    66
    18
    13
See reviews for
95
529
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We chose Palazzo Ravizza because it is located within the city walls of Siena and has secure parking (we purchased a new car in Germany and drove to Italy so this was a high priority). We stayed in the tower room with beautiful views of the hotel's garden and the Tuscan countryside, as well as great sunsets.

When we arrived early, the receptionist warmly welcomed us and stored our luggage while we went out to explore the town. It was about a 10 minute walk to the spectacular Duomo and about 15 minutes to Il Campo or medieval public square.

We highly recommend Palazzo Ravizza.

Room Tip: Choose the tower room for spectacular views. The elevator only goes up to the 3rd floor so you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahtomedi, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

The tone for our stay was set immediately, by the graciousness of the hostess at the front desk, upon our arrival. What a wonderful mix of a homey old style hotel, with fast internet in the room. This hotel is within the walls of the city, which places you in walking distance of everything. Their breakfast offering was wonderful and the front desk guidance on restaurants, directions, etc. couldn't have been more right on. Add to that lovely sitting areas and a small bar, where you can get something to sip. Finally, my favorite spot, a beautiful traditional garden with tables, where you can look out for miles on the glories of Tuscany.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed four four nights here and found the hotel and staff to be wonderful.
Thanks to Travelocity we saw the photos of the garden and its fantastic view over the Sienese hills to the west. Lovely sunset with a glass of wine or early morning breakfast outside.
The first 2 nights we had a huge beautiful town side view (we always wait too long before doing things!). Every room and the common areas are full of original antiques and art. There's a lovely common room with a Steinway grand. In fact one afternoon 2 opera singers entertained there while practising.
When a garden/hills view room became available we moved over. Two huge windows could, are were, thrown open to behold the gorgeous view. The 15 foot ceiling was decorated with a very nice fresco. We even had an upstairs loft with 2 single beds if someone was travelling with kids.
The gardens were very nice. The gated parking lot below the gardens was roomy and easy to access.
The breakfast was very good. Their homemade oatmeal bread was incredible. Croissants to die for. Nothing hot but everywhere in Italy we stayed the hot stuff-scrambled eggs, bacon and some sort of weiner --we passed on anyway.
Staff we very helpful. Free wi-fi, computer, great book exchange and a terrific little bookstore.
The palazzo has great history and location.
Easily the best place we stayed and well worth the price.
By the way Siena and environs are awesome.
Hugh and Kim M-- Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
472 reviews 472 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
935 helpful votes 935 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I can see a renaissance palace existed here in the past. A few remnants of the bygone splendor still visible in the grand salon, wide stone staircases, vaulted ceilings and tiled floors in the hallways, breakfast room, lounge and some common areas. The rest of the palazzo screams tired and needed some upgrade. I peeked in a lot of bedrooms as they where left open by housekeeping during checkout time around ten-ish in the morning. They all looked like ours- worn with sheets that needed replacement. The bathrooms were tight and the amenities very basic. The landscaping in the garden is not well-maintained. The plants needed some pruning and TLC. The greenhouse was dilapidated. I smelled a whiff of dog poo while seating on a wicker in the garden. The breakfast extension room downstairs had cobwebs, dust and dirt. There is no door between the laundry and the breakfast room. Machines were spinning loudly while we were eating breakfast. Breakfast food choices was limited. On the positive side, the views from our bedroom was spectacular. The concierge service was first rate. A major upgrade and restoration here may entice back the count and the countess.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We just got back from 5 nights in Siena as part of our trip to Italy. I selected the Palazo Ravizza and was definately not sorry. It is perfectly located with parking just steps outside the city gate a 5 minute walk to the Duomo. Our room was fantastic with a balcony that overlooked the whole valley with breath taking views. The room itself was large and very clean. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was pretty good with fruit, pasteries, cereal and juices. The garden of the hotel was a lovely oasis.

Just a warning to anyone driving in using GPS. Call the hotel first as the GPS takes you through town which is closed to traffic and you can be fined. The hotel called the police for us, explained, and they waived the fine.

I would definately stay here again when I return to Siena.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the balcony. There is only one and it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

my husband and I just returned from a 31/2 week trip around Italy. Our time at he Hotel Ravizza was the highlight of our trip. the location is perfect, just outside the city gate near the Duomo. Our room was lovely and included an excellent view of the Tuscan countryside.The hotel has a lovely garden where they serve a bountiful breakfast. they also have a parking lot and are very capable of giving to directions to those who want to explore the area. The staff is top notch. take a taxi from the train station and go to their recommended restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Address: Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Ravizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.