We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Great Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Ravizza to your Saves list
Palazzo Ravizza
Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
“Absolutely Great Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed four four nights here and found the hotel and staff to be wonderful.
Thanks to Travelocity we saw the photos of the garden and its fantastic view over the Sienese hills to the west. Lovely sunset with a glass of wine or early morning breakfast outside.
The first 2 nights we had a huge beautiful town side view (we always wait too long before doing things!). Every room and the common areas are full of original antiques and art. There's a lovely common room with a Steinway grand. In fact one afternoon 2 opera singers entertained there while practising.
When a garden/hills view room became available we moved over. Two huge windows could, are were, thrown open to behold the gorgeous view. The 15 foot ceiling was decorated with a very nice fresco. We even had an upstairs loft with 2 single beds if someone was travelling with kids.
The gardens were very nice. The gated parking lot below the gardens was roomy and easy to access.
The breakfast was very good. Their homemade oatmeal bread was incredible. Croissants to die for. Nothing hot but everywhere in Italy we stayed the hot stuff-scrambled eggs, bacon and some sort of weiner --we passed on anyway.
Staff we very helpful. Free wi-fi, computer, great book exchange and a terrific little bookstore.
The palazzo has great history and location.
Easily the best place we stayed and well worth the price.
By the way Siena and environs are awesome.
Hugh and Kim M-- Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    252
    66
    18
    13
See reviews for
95
530
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
475 reviews 475 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
942 helpful votes 942 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I can see a renaissance palace existed here in the past. A few remnants of the bygone splendor still visible in the grand salon, wide stone staircases, vaulted ceilings and tiled floors in the hallways, breakfast room, lounge and some common areas. The rest of the palazzo screams tired and needed some upgrade. I peeked in a lot of bedrooms as they where left open by housekeeping during checkout time around ten-ish in the morning. They all looked like ours- worn with sheets that needed replacement. The bathrooms were tight and the amenities very basic. The landscaping in the garden is not well-maintained. The plants needed some pruning and TLC. The greenhouse was dilapidated. I smelled a whiff of dog poo while seating on a wicker in the garden. The breakfast extension room downstairs had cobwebs, dust and dirt. There is no door between the laundry and the breakfast room. Machines were spinning loudly while we were eating breakfast. Breakfast food choices was limited. On the positive side, the views from our bedroom was spectacular. The concierge service was first rate. A major upgrade and restoration here may entice back the count and the countess.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We just got back from 5 nights in Siena as part of our trip to Italy. I selected the Palazo Ravizza and was definately not sorry. It is perfectly located with parking just steps outside the city gate a 5 minute walk to the Duomo. Our room was fantastic with a balcony that overlooked the whole valley with breath taking views. The room itself was large and very clean. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was pretty good with fruit, pasteries, cereal and juices. The garden of the hotel was a lovely oasis.

Just a warning to anyone driving in using GPS. Call the hotel first as the GPS takes you through town which is closed to traffic and you can be fined. The hotel called the police for us, explained, and they waived the fine.

I would definately stay here again when I return to Siena.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the balcony. There is only one and it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

my husband and I just returned from a 31/2 week trip around Italy. Our time at he Hotel Ravizza was the highlight of our trip. the location is perfect, just outside the city gate near the Duomo. Our room was lovely and included an excellent view of the Tuscan countryside.The hotel has a lovely garden where they serve a bountiful breakfast. they also have a parking lot and are very capable of giving to directions to those who want to explore the area. The staff is top notch. take a taxi from the train station and go to their recommended restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very good value for money! Overall decoration (common areas and rooms) was consistent with the time and history of the building itself and the surroundings. The old style breakfast was delicious and generous. I felt transported back in time and I loved it! The place really did it for me especially as price was very reasonable and location was very convenient. I would definitely recommend it to those appreciative of history and traditional settings. This is not to be confused with lack of comfort. The rooms are spacious with pretty much all the ammenities needed. You just shouldn't expect a chain like hotel. Thank God for that!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Palazzo Ravizza is a wonderful historical pensione with a fabulous terracce and an incredible view (we had room #14).

Our room was nice and large with an antique armoire and table and chairs.

Filled with character, the pensione is located up the hill (hence the great view) far enough from the town centre to be quiet, but close enough to be only a few minute walk away.

The pensione also has an interesting history - pick up a brochure at the front desk and read about it.

Overall, a wonderful place to stay in Siena!

Room Tip: Room #14 was wonderful as it had a view out over the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We found the room and especially the bathroom very small for the price we were paying. The room and hotel in general needs serious updating and some loving care. The plugs are old-style rather than standard european, the lampshades need replacing, the hair-dryer was completely useless, the bed was rock hard. Is it so much to ask to have a comfortable bed for the rates we were paying? The breakfast was good, but you had to clear the table yourself before sitting down to eat. It seemed a great shame because the building, garden and views are wonderful, but we came away feeling disappointed.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Address: Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Ravizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.