We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Ravizza to your Saves list
Palazzo Ravizza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had just a night but was a good place for more!!
We travelled for a long period in all Tuscany and everywhere
was perfect!!the room, the frontdesk's people are
really nice!

Thank you for your hospitalyty!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    297
    69
    19
    15
See reviews for
112
647
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We just spent two nights at Palazzo Ravizza and it was a pleasure to come back again. We can recommend room 5 (junior suite). We were as last time fully satisfied: big classic room, elegantly furnished, outstanding view on the hills, nice breakfast on the terrasse, ideal to chat, contemplate nature, read and rest before or after exploring the neighboring main historical places. To be recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

very good location -- center of the city, walking distance to the Church, etc. while free private parking easy to get out of the old city as well

cozy and friendly -- free internet, free coffee, library, very nice public area with piano, etc, home-feeling decoration, very good for family and longer stay

very nice garden with a stunting view of the back end of the city -- rural hilly and village scene

good price in general

for those who look for better quality room / facility -- sure room to improve - but for mass and above, overall good value for money

wonderful restaurants and good shops near by

lastly, a place with a very interesting history

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
124 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

If you want a hotel with free parking and wifi, within easy walking distance to the Campo and Duomo, Palazzo Ravizza fits the bill. Our rooms on the street side were clean and spacious. The breakfast buffet in the garden was very good. And the ladies at the front desk were very helpful in giving directions and making restaurant reservations. But the bathrooms definitely need updating to merit a 4 or 5 star rating. The folding shower "enclosure" sitting atop the porcelain tub didn't do a very good job at keeping the water inside. The built-in clothes line was broken in the kids' bathroom, which was unfortunate because we had a number of items to hang dry after doing laundry at the local laundromat. (The hotel's laundry woman had the day after our arrival off -- a Wednesday, which I found odd -- and we really couldn't wait). As for air conditioning, Siena was approaching 100 degrees during our stay. We had to set the thermostat at the lowest temperature and highest fan settings possible just to keep our room comfortable, and our rooms were on the street side facing north. (The garden rooms, which face south, must be even warmer). Clearly we were pushing the ac capacity to its limit. Also there is no one to assist with luggage upon arrival. Finally, I read some reviews complaining about the difficulty of driving to the hotel. If we had relied solely on the hotel's directions, we might've had similar difficulty because we didn't see the signs mentioned in the directions. But fortunately we brought our Garmin nuvi, for which we had purchased the Italy map on Amazon, and had no difficulty whatsoever in driving to the hotel or finding the proper gate into Siena.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are cooler in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

When booking hotel in Siena, I was looking for free parking, free wi-fi and central location. All that you can find in Palazzo Ravizza, plus wonderful garden with amazing view. Breakfast is offered in garden, so that gives extra charm to that hotel. Hotel is a bit old style, but authentic.
Hotel has private secured parking lot (they will give the directions after check-in) and it takes appr 10 by foot to the Siena Palio.
We stayed only for one night, so we took the only available loft room. As it is located on attic and doesn’t have elevator access, it might be not the best option for longer stay and with big luggage. For us it wasn’t problem and also loft room was very convenient. Enough space for luggage, very comfortable beds and nice view over the rooftops. Air-conditioning worked well and the only sound we heard was from church bells. Two bottles of water as courtesy from hotel were waiting in hotel room when we arrived. Small thing but highly appreciated in +36 degrees Celsius.
Bathroom (with shower) was average, but provided olive oil shampoo which was better than those I get from salon. Wi-fi worked smoothly, bit challenging to find sockets for all adapters (iPhones, tablets etc).
Breakfast was modest, but fresh and tasty. Coffee was served from self-service machine and had acceptable standard. Still - for one morning it was OK for me, but for longer stay I would have started to miss real Italian coffee.
I loved our stay in Palazzo Ravizza and I was sorry for staying only one night. Good service (we were able to keep our car on parking space after check-out) and extremely romantic garden make it perfect for Italian holiday.

Room Tip: Room with a garden view could be wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

What a wonderful place! Inside the walls of Siena and a few minutes walk to all the sights in the city. we had the tower room, which had the most amazing views over the Tuscan countryside and the garden of the hotel. The room was comfortable, with cold water and air con. Breakfast was great - eaten in the garden overlooking the views. The staff were extremely helpful - recommending, and then booking supper at a local restaurant, and even sorting out with the police the fact that we had driven in through the wrong entrance and so were liable to a fine.
We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My sister and I stayed two nights in July. We had chosen this hotel because of the great reviews, the availability of parking and its central location. Though we did have trouble getting on the correct road into Siena, once we did the directions were extremely clear. The staff were helpful with the check in process and with helping us get oriente to Siena.

The room was spacious overlooking the front street. The decor is tasteful. we did utter a prayer every time we entered the "classic" elevator though! The garden in the back is peaceful and well cared for. The breakfast was had a good selection of food and allowed us to enjoy the beauty of the garden and the serenity of the valley below.

We had no trouble getting around Siena with the provided map with everything within walking distance.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hotel with a distinctive atmosphere.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#4 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 2,248 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 stars 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Elda
Hotel Villa Elda
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Address: Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ravizza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Ravizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.