We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with amazing garden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Ravizza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palazzo Ravizza
Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 hotels in Siena
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with amazing garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

When booking hotel in Siena, I was looking for free parking, free wi-fi and central location. All that you can find in Palazzo Ravizza, plus wonderful garden with amazing view. Breakfast is offered in garden, so that gives extra charm to that hotel. Hotel is a bit old style, but authentic.
Hotel has private secured parking lot (they will give the directions after check-in) and it takes appr 10 by foot to the Siena Palio.
We stayed only for one night, so we took the only available loft room. As it is located on attic and doesn’t have elevator access, it might be not the best option for longer stay and with big luggage. For us it wasn’t problem and also loft room was very convenient. Enough space for luggage, very comfortable beds and nice view over the rooftops. Air-conditioning worked well and the only sound we heard was from church bells. Two bottles of water as courtesy from hotel were waiting in hotel room when we arrived. Small thing but highly appreciated in +36 degrees Celsius.
Bathroom (with shower) was average, but provided olive oil shampoo which was better than those I get from salon. Wi-fi worked smoothly, bit challenging to find sockets for all adapters (iPhones, tablets etc).
Breakfast was modest, but fresh and tasty. Coffee was served from self-service machine and had acceptable standard. Still - for one morning it was OK for me, but for longer stay I would have started to miss real Italian coffee.
I loved our stay in Palazzo Ravizza and I was sorry for staying only one night. Good service (we were able to keep our car on parking space after check-out) and extremely romantic garden make it perfect for Italian holiday.

Room Tip: Room with a garden view could be wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    487
    237
    60
    18
    13
See reviews for
92
487
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

What a wonderful place! Inside the walls of Siena and a few minutes walk to all the sights in the city. we had the tower room, which had the most amazing views over the Tuscan countryside and the garden of the hotel. The room was comfortable, with cold water and air con. Breakfast was great - eaten in the garden overlooking the views. The staff were extremely helpful - recommending, and then booking supper at a local restaurant, and even sorting out with the police the fact that we had driven in through the wrong entrance and so were liable to a fine.
We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My sister and I stayed two nights in July. We had chosen this hotel because of the great reviews, the availability of parking and its central location. Though we did have trouble getting on the correct road into Siena, once we did the directions were extremely clear. The staff were helpful with the check in process and with helping us get oriente to Siena.

The room was spacious overlooking the front street. The decor is tasteful. we did utter a prayer every time we entered the "classic" elevator though! The garden in the back is peaceful and well cared for. The breakfast was had a good selection of food and allowed us to enjoy the beauty of the garden and the serenity of the valley below.

We had no trouble getting around Siena with the provided map with everything within walking distance.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hotel with a distinctive atmosphere.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Old style hotel, very basic room. I've never been a Monk, but I'm guessing this would be close to their standards. We stayed on the top floor with a tiny window covered in iron bars, looking out over roof tops. The cement and wood beam ceiling was sagging precariously overhead which was a little uneasy - I prayed for no earthquake during our one-night stay. On a positive note, the backyard garden and view was beautiful. Having breakfast outside overlooking the Tuscan vista was breathtaking.

Make sure you read their website on directions to the hotel - we didn't and it was a nightmare to find! It's inside the old city walls and hard to locate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Palazzo Ravizza. When we arrived, I was a little taken back by the exterior of the hotel. It is very unassuming. Don't let that give you any dismay. We had a wonderful stay. The staff are very friendly and accommodating and the property and grounds are very nice, the breakfast was also very nice. As other reviewers have said, our room was very large, well appointed and decorated (reflected the Italian and Tuscan experience) and had a wonderful view of the garden and Tuscan countryside. I struggled whether this hotel was a 4 or a 5, because like many Italian hotels, the air conditioning leaves something to be desired, and we were there in the height of the summer heat. Other than that, we could not complain about anything. It is a short walk to the center of town, and the view from the garden at breakfast was spectacular.

Room Tip: pay for the extra cost to view the countryside. You will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed at the Ravizza for 2 nights to explore Siena. In a good location within the city walls where you can walk to all the sights and restaurants. The rooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful & friendly. The gardens were a great plus with wonderful views making it a real pleasure to enjoy an evening drink and a leisurely breakfast. The breakfast selection was good and this was the only hotel we stayed at in Italy that provided complimentary coffee & tea all day long. We would definitely recommend as the ideal hotel to stay at in Siena.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was our first visit to Siena, and based on the reviews on Tripadvisor, decided to stay at Palazzo Ravizza. What a great hotel! Lots of character, but not outdated in any way. Excellent staff, and we loved the breakfast which was served outside in the garden.

Our room was on the street side, which was no problem at all. In fact, we enjoyed looking out and seeing the world quietly go by.

Siena itself was a wonderful experience, and whenever we go back, I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Address: Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Ravizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.