We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Ravizza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palazzo Ravizza
Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Kineton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location, great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just got back after a week at this hotel. We found them very helpful with all aspects of the booking, including recommending a cab company for the journey from the airport as we did not hire a car.
We had a room with a view over the garden and the beautiful Tuscan countryside - absolutely fantastic. Room a bit long and narrow - from the floor layouts we saw, there were plenty of other larger, better proportioned rooms. Also, bathroom layout wasn't great. Furniture is not modern, but is perfectly in keeping with the style of the hotel. If our room was typical, you would be well advised to take hangers for your clothes with you. We had a total of 4 in our room.
However.....staff were very friendly and helpful; location meant it was a short walk into town and most of the tourist sites. Public areas were good, though it seemed that very few guests used them. The garden was a great place both for breakfast and for a pre-dinner drink. Don't expect a huge cooked breakfast - for us the fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurt, croissants, bread, meats and cheese were a great way to start the day.
Most guests seemed to be Americans staying for a couple of days as part of a journey through Italy.
The hotel recommended restaurants for dinner. We tried two - Divo and San Giuseppe's - food and service both good, but both quite pricey - 3 courses for me, two for my wife plus a bottle of wine came to about 130 euro. The best place we ate at was the Castelvecchio restaurant. Best food by some distance, good service and cheaper than the other two, and though there was a cover charge, they did not automatically add a service charge.
This was our first city based holiday in Italy, and we found the Palazzo Ravizza a great base for exploring Siena and the surrounding countryside.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view over the garden. Biggest rooms are on the first floor. Avoid 22 and 32 - the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    241
    60
    18
    13
See reviews for
92
492
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We drove up to the hotel totally exhausted, and were confronted by a (small) sign and a bank of brick buildings. My husband said, "This is our hotel?" He walked in to check in with something more than misgivings and walked out and said, "WOW". Then we got to our room: what a view of the Tuscan countryside! The room was spotlessly clean. While it looked "old" it had every amenity we could think of including a frig disguised as a cabinet.
The hotel staff was wonderful. They recommended a great restaurant for dinner, not fancy, just super good. And the breakfasts were wonderful and served in a room that looked medieval.
All in all a great small hotel in a very convenient area. There's even on site parking.
I'd go again tomorrow and stay longer!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 10 days in the lovely hotel. Rooms were very nice. Breakfasts were excellent. Hotel staff went out of their way to be helpful. I highly recommend this small hotel. Nice restaurants nearby. Just a walk to the Campo

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We were with a group and was delighted to find we had a room facing the back with the view. Breakfast was great. Although all the personnel were nice, Elena was a standout--she has a magnetic personality. Every room is different. One room was decorated by Fricks (of the Frick Mansion in NYC)-- so it had extra nice touches. It is a mansion converted to a hotel-- so there is a sense of a home vice an everyday hotel. Nice for a treat!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahopac, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Staff was exceptional, very friendly and helpful, the room was quite comfortable with a beautiful view of the hotel garden and Tuscan hills behind it. The ambiance and decor of the common rooms for breakfast (which was ample, fresh, and delicious) was like something out of a fairy tale. The hotel had convenient parking (we rented a car in Florence) and was within easy walking distance of major sights. A terrific find!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Excellent hotel inside Siena, 8 minutes to' walk from Piazza del campo and Duomo. The view of their room is fantastic, nice breakfast in their beautiful garden. It is the only one in all the city that have this view of "colline senesi"

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we checked in we had a fantastic experience. When we had no room available at our next city the staff made room.for us to stay in the hotel and in the
Room we had been in.

Location was exceptional as was our room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Address: Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Ravizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.