We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming and handy hotel to stay at” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Ravizza to your Saves list
Palazzo Ravizza
Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A charming and handy hotel to stay at”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

When you are visiting Sienna, you wish to enjoy the old traditions of this marvelous old city.

Palazzo Ravizza is inside the city wall's

Staying at Palazo Ravizza helps you to understand the elegant past of Sienna.

Nice rooms, charming hotel, nice breakfast with local products cheese and Salami, fabulous fresh bread.

Private parking, good service, 10' walk to Piazza Il Campo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    252
    66
    18
    13
See reviews for
95
530
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, England
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here for just one night in March and the Palazzo Ravizza was all we could look for in a hotel. Normally there's one or two things that could be better in a hotel, but this once ticked all the boxes.

Central, just a short walk to the centre of Sienna (5 minutes at the most), but with free parking available. The only difficulty we had was finding the place and once we had identified where we were on the map working out how to get to the hotel. There are a number of roads in sienna which are marked as restricted access, and being a foreigner in Italy, i was unware i could drive down these roads if i had a hotel reservation. Once i was told this I was then able to park outside the hotel and get directions to the car park from reception once we had checked in (very easy to find the hotels car park from the hotel).

Historic. It was good to stay in a place which has a bit of history and available for a reasonable price rather that a standard characterless chain hotel. In reception there are some 4 page guides telling you about the history of the place which was interesting. Also on the first floor there was a large room laid out like it would have been a century or so ago which was a bit different and provided added interest.

Clean. The place was clean and although our room wasn't spacious it was adequate. Some of the furniture and fittings were worn from age, but in my view this adds a bit to the hotels character, but were clean. Because we were only booked in for one night we got a street facing room rather than a back facing view over the surrounding countryside but this was fine (not noisy).

Comfortable. Very comfortable, large bed

Breakfast. Good by Italian standards, the usual continental breakfast (no cooked breakfast, but didn't expect this anyway in a hotel of this size in Italy), was of good quality, and i especially enjoyed the fresh natural yoghurt.

Garden. Nice garden over looking the hills looking way from Sienna. An ideal place to enjoy a drink, if the weather would have allowed it (it was March after all)

Staff. Friendly and helpful.

Would i stay here again? Definitely. If i was returning to Sienna, or even looking to visit the surrounding areas and wanting to stay in a town rather than the country this would be my first stop. Might not suit someone looking for a luxury hotel, but i can't see many people having much to complain about at the Palazzo Ravizza.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights after a week in arented farmhouse near Lucca.
We had room on the top floor that overlooked the lovely landscape.
The breakfast was very good. The bread was one of the best I have ever had.
Also the complemantary bottle of Cava in the garden was a nice touch.
Only minutes from the Campo square.
Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Good:. Very helpful and charming front desk staff, pretty view of surrounding countryside, parking within city walls, nice breakfast room.
The Bad:. This hotel has housekeeping issues. Although the bedding was spotless, the corners of the rooms, hallways, backs of doors, elevator, in room furnishings, etc. are all in need of some thorough cleaning.
This hotel has the potential to be something special, but it does not seem to be getting the care it deserves.
That being said would consider staying here again when visiting this lovely city. Just a few minutes walk from centre of town.  deluxe rooms face away from the road and overlook the garden and surrounding countryside.
` ` `

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

How wonderful to find an hotel like this nowadays. Our room was so large, so clean, so quiet and with all we could want at such a reasonable rate. I know there were other rooms which I believe are even more beautiful, but ours had a huge bed, a very big bathroom which was separated by a door to our bedroom. The beautiful gardens looked out onto the beauty of the Siena hills and from our bedroom window, we could see the beautiful Cathedral. Breakfast was included and was a typical but delicious buffet. The staff were so friendly and helpful and it was situated close to the centre of the city and the shops. The hotel arranged tours, restaurants or any other event that we wanted. We were sorry to leave!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
162 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed at Palazzo Ravizza the first time in 2003 and had amazing memories of my stay. I just stayed there again and the place is still great. They have beautifully revamped the public space on the ground floor, especially the lobby, adding a coffee machine and a nice reading / library area. It looks contemporary and stylish. However, I found the room a bit tired and it contrasted with the entrance area. The view over the property's garden and surrounding hills are still fabulous; yet the bathroom is old and the tiles are rather outdated. This being said, the first time, I had a suite whereas this time, I was in a much smaller and cheaper room. I found the service and the staff excellent, friendly and helpful. We also had some of the best breads we ever ate in Italy at breakfast. In any case, Palazzo Ravizza remains a solid 3* hotel with a great value in Siena

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in the tower room and it was just a magical experience. The room was divided up a little oddly but was very private and had a wonderful window to view the sunset. We had a bit of trouble finding an "acceptable" parking spot when we got through the gates of the city but the front desk staff told us to just drive right up to the front door, unload and then park in their private lot. The bar staff was very accommodating too. Front desk staff were great - very friendly and helpful. We walked around town and they were more than happy to store our luggage that morning. Nice buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for the tower room - great sunset views directly above the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Address: Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Ravizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.