We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific 3* hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Ravizza to your Saves list
Palazzo Ravizza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
170 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“Terrific 3* hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed at Palazzo Ravizza the first time in 2003 and had amazing memories of my stay. I just stayed there again and the place is still great. They have beautifully revamped the public space on the ground floor, especially the lobby, adding a coffee machine and a nice reading / library area. It looks contemporary and stylish. However, I found the room a bit tired and it contrasted with the entrance area. The view over the property's garden and surrounding hills are still fabulous; yet the bathroom is old and the tiles are rather outdated. This being said, the first time, I had a suite whereas this time, I was in a much smaller and cheaper room. I found the service and the staff excellent, friendly and helpful. We also had some of the best breads we ever ate in Italy at breakfast. In any case, Palazzo Ravizza remains a solid 3* hotel with a great value in Siena

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    272
    68
    19
    13
See reviews for
105
591
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in the tower room and it was just a magical experience. The room was divided up a little oddly but was very private and had a wonderful window to view the sunset. We had a bit of trouble finding an "acceptable" parking spot when we got through the gates of the city but the front desk staff told us to just drive right up to the front door, unload and then park in their private lot. The bar staff was very accommodating too. Front desk staff were great - very friendly and helpful. We walked around town and they were more than happy to store our luggage that morning. Nice buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for the tower room - great sunset views directly above the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel was as good as advertised. Our room seemed to be the only one with a balcony and a table for two. We loved opening our window to the wonderful view. The beautiful weather didn't hurt. The location of the hotel was excellent. We enjoyed taking our evening strolls and seeing the Campo and Duomo in the moonlight. The staff was professional, friendly, and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in the loft room which we booked on Hotels.com. I loved our room! It was perfect for me and my fiancé for one night in Siena. The mattress (as almost all European mattresses) was rather hard, but aside from that, the room was great. We even had a small view of the rolling Tuscan hillsides! The best part about this hotel was the back patio area. The views were gorgeous. Some reviewers said that it was a far walk to the center of town, but I disagree, it is just uphill for most of the walk, but I enjoyed walking to and from town, it really allowed us to enjoy the romantic city of Siena. Also, the staff was so friendly! And the breakfast served was standard fare for a European hotel. You can't go wrong!

Room Tip: Go for the loft room if it is just two people staying. They're neat and unlike I've ever see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easley, sc
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Could not have been more pleased with our selection of hotel in Siena. Rooms are very clean and well furnished. Bathroom had a large walk in shower, certainly not the norm in Europe, you wanted to stay under it forever. As others have said, if you have a car, this is a great choice, as they have complimentary parking. The Garmin takes you right to the door, I cannot imagine driving in Italy without a GPS. worth the small additional cost. Also being up high, there are stunning views of the Tuscan countryside from the windows. Also serve an outstanding European breakfast. Also the wine bar in the lobby is nice, you can either have the house wine or if you have better tastes, you can get a bottle of Brunello which is some of finest wines in the world made in Montelcino which is about a 45 minute drive from this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed only one night but liked this hotel very much. It is quaint, very well maintained and the room was big. Parking was convenient. It was a little too far away from the centre for our liking so next time we shall probably look for something more central. Very good professional service and very well heated.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I agree with many comments mentioned by previous reviewers - here are thoughts together:
- Parking is free and close to the hotel.
- The hotel is unique and quaint and the rooms are very large. The hotel has unique character, including a grand piano, game tables, and a lending library.
- Breakfast is great.
- The location is great. It is a short walk to the Cathedral, but in a quiet part of town.

I'd recommend requesting a room NOT next to the stairwell, as the doors open and shut and make noise.

Otherwise, a very satisfied customer!

Room Tip: Avoid being near the stairwell. Might be worth an upgrade for a better view (I had a view of a build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Address: Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ravizza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Ravizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.