We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Ravizza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palazzo Ravizza
Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 hotels in Siena
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed only one night but liked this hotel very much. It is quaint, very well maintained and the room was big. Parking was convenient. It was a little too far away from the centre for our liking so next time we shall probably look for something more central. Very good professional service and very well heated.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    487
    238
    60
    18
    13
See reviews for
92
487
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I agree with many comments mentioned by previous reviewers - here are thoughts together:
- Parking is free and close to the hotel.
- The hotel is unique and quaint and the rooms are very large. The hotel has unique character, including a grand piano, game tables, and a lending library.
- Breakfast is great.
- The location is great. It is a short walk to the Cathedral, but in a quiet part of town.

I'd recommend requesting a room NOT next to the stairwell, as the doors open and shut and make noise.

Otherwise, a very satisfied customer!

Room Tip: Avoid being near the stairwell. Might be worth an upgrade for a better view (I had a view of a build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was hands down the best place we stayed during our 16 day trip in Italy. First, if you have a car, this is a great choice in Siena. Parking is available and you are able to pull up to the front of the hotel to unload. The hotel was not difficult to find thanks to the excellent directions available on the Tuscany forum.

Our room, #4, was lovely. The room was large, as was the bathroom, and we had a balcony that had a beautiful view of the Tuscan countryside. The bed was comfortable and the shower was spa-like.

The hotel staff were great. They work such long shifts but they were always so helpful and willing to indulge my poor attempts to speak Italian and bail me out when it wasn't working. They even mailed a postcard for me and covered the postage since I didn't have it.

The location of the hotel is really convenient. Siena is pretty small and easy to cover on foot. Palazzo Ravizza is about 10 minutes by foot from the center of town. The hotel serves breakfast in the morning and lots of wine is available in the lobby.

We cannot wait to go back to Siena and we will definitely stay at Palazzo Ravizza in Room 4.

Room Tip: It is worth the price to upgrade to a hillside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Definitely pays to upgrade to one of the rooms with a countryside view - absolutely stunning and tranquil view from our large windows. The rooms, with their unique period furnishings were comfortable and spacious. You can walk out the front door and are within a few minutes walk of all the sights.
Loved our stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Palazzo Ravizza is very clean and full of charm, with a lot of attractive antique furniture, and is located on a picturesque square at the edge of the old city. My room overlooked the garden and boasted a spectacular view of the countryside: well worth the upgrade. The whole staff is professional and helpful and I especially enjoyed the natural friendliness of Nathalie, Gari, and Francesca. The location is a pro and a con—you're a bit outside the main area—but then again, if you stay smack in the center you would never get the landscape views, and that was probably the best part of the hotel for me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Nice property, with a lot of charm and historic character. Definitely spring for the garden view and note that although you might have a better view on the higher levels, we enjoyed our stay in Room 105 which was lovely and spacious-- it had an adjacent upstairs loft area with 2 single beds which would be great for a family with young kids. An added bonus was that it was only one level of stairs to get to street level. (The small elevator was a bit slow.) We were pleasantly surprised that the Palazzo also offered inexpensive wine for sale (from a barrel on the countertop) by the glass and carafe-- it was nice to be able to sip some wine in the garden and watch the beautiful sunset from the terrace. All the staff we encountered were friendly and courteous.
Free parking was a nice feature. Be sure that when you set your GPS, you take the route by the Porta San Marco gate. (Siena is closed to traffic in sections- not all city gates will get you to the Palazzo.) Breakfast was good (loved the croissants and their multi-grain, seeded bread-yum!) Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed in Siena for three days and booked at the Palazzo Ravizza on the basis of tripadvisor reviews and price. We were not disappointed. On checking in, we were given a room with a garden view over the hills west of the city. It was beautiful. The room was charming and the location was ideal for us. It was only a four-minute walk from the duomo but was pretty quiet. The staff greeted us warmly and gave us consistently good restaurant recommendations after carefully inquiring about what kind of dining experience we were looking for. In our case, we were aiming for a warm trattoria with a modern twist and they came through.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a modern hotel with workers at every corner, this is not it. If you'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Address: Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Ravizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.