We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, convenient, many advantages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Ravizza to your Saves list
Palazzo Ravizza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100, Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Romantic, convenient, many advantages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I agree with many comments mentioned by previous reviewers - here are thoughts together:
- Parking is free and close to the hotel.
- The hotel is unique and quaint and the rooms are very large. The hotel has unique character, including a grand piano, game tables, and a lending library.
- Breakfast is great.
- The location is great. It is a short walk to the Cathedral, but in a quiet part of town.

I'd recommend requesting a room NOT next to the stairwell, as the doors open and shut and make noise.

Otherwise, a very satisfied customer!

Room Tip: Avoid being near the stairwell. Might be worth an upgrade for a better view (I had a view of a build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ENickinA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was hands down the best place we stayed during our 16 day trip in Italy. First, if you have a car, this is a great choice in Siena. Parking is available and you are able to pull up to the front of the hotel to unload. The hotel was not difficult to find thanks to the excellent directions available on the Tuscany forum.

Our room, #4, was lovely. The room was large, as was the bathroom, and we had a balcony that had a beautiful view of the Tuscan countryside. The bed was comfortable and the shower was spa-like.

The hotel staff were great. They work such long shifts but they were always so helpful and willing to indulge my poor attempts to speak Italian and bail me out when it wasn't working. They even mailed a postcard for me and covered the postage since I didn't have it.

The location of the hotel is really convenient. Siena is pretty small and easy to cover on foot. Palazzo Ravizza is about 10 minutes by foot from the center of town. The hotel serves breakfast in the morning and lots of wine is available in the lobby.

We cannot wait to go back to Siena and we will definitely stay at Palazzo Ravizza in Room 4.

Room Tip: It is worth the price to upgrade to a hillside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Definitely pays to upgrade to one of the rooms with a countryside view - absolutely stunning and tranquil view from our large windows. The rooms, with their unique period furnishings were comfortable and spacious. You can walk out the front door and are within a few minutes walk of all the sights.
Loved our stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ophelia89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Palazzo Ravizza is very clean and full of charm, with a lot of attractive antique furniture, and is located on a picturesque square at the edge of the old city. My room overlooked the garden and boasted a spectacular view of the countryside: well worth the upgrade. The whole staff is professional and helpful and I especially enjoyed the natural friendliness of Nathalie, Gari, and Francesca. The location is a pro and a con—you're a bit outside the main area—but then again, if you stay smack in the center you would never get the landscape views, and that was probably the best part of the hotel for me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dctraveler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Nice property, with a lot of charm and historic character. Definitely spring for the garden view and note that although you might have a better view on the higher levels, we enjoyed our stay in Room 105 which was lovely and spacious-- it had an adjacent upstairs loft area with 2 single beds which would be great for a family with young kids. An added bonus was that it was only one level of stairs to get to street level. (The small elevator was a bit slow.) We were pleasantly surprised that the Palazzo also offered inexpensive wine for sale (from a barrel on the countertop) by the glass and carafe-- it was nice to be able to sip some wine in the garden and watch the beautiful sunset from the terrace. All the staff we encountered were friendly and courteous.
Free parking was a nice feature. Be sure that when you set your GPS, you take the route by the Porta San Marco gate. (Siena is closed to traffic in sections- not all city gates will get you to the Palazzo.) Breakfast was good (loved the croissants and their multi-grain, seeded bread-yum!) Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savvymom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed in Siena for three days and booked at the Palazzo Ravizza on the basis of tripadvisor reviews and price. We were not disappointed. On checking in, we were given a room with a garden view over the hills west of the city. It was beautiful. The room was charming and the location was ideal for us. It was only a four-minute walk from the duomo but was pretty quiet. The staff greeted us warmly and gave us consistently good restaurant recommendations after carefully inquiring about what kind of dining experience we were looking for. In our case, we were aiming for a warm trattoria with a modern twist and they came through.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a modern hotel with workers at every corner, this is not it. If you'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sprezzatura56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gijon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is very charming. The standard room was a little small and is not suited for longer stays. The views we had on the garden and the typical Tuscany landscape were very nice. You will hear the neighbors arriving at night, as the hotel is located in a historical building. The bed was a little too hard for a good night sleep, but this of course is very personal. The breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abejaruco69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#4 of 39 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 2,487 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 39 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 39 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
1.8 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 39 in Siena
5.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 39 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Address: Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ravizza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing