We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a perfect slice of Tuscan ambiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Ravizza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palazzo Ravizza
Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 hotels in Siena
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“a perfect slice of Tuscan ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Definitely pays to upgrade to one of the rooms with a countryside view - absolutely stunning and tranquil view from our large windows. The rooms, with their unique period furnishings were comfortable and spacious. You can walk out the front door and are within a few minutes walk of all the sights.
Loved our stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    485
    230
    60
    18
    13
See reviews for
90
471
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Palazzo Ravizza is very clean and full of charm, with a lot of attractive antique furniture, and is located on a picturesque square at the edge of the old city. My room overlooked the garden and boasted a spectacular view of the countryside: well worth the upgrade. The whole staff is professional and helpful and I especially enjoyed the natural friendliness of Nathalie, Gari, and Francesca. The location is a pro and a con—you're a bit outside the main area—but then again, if you stay smack in the center you would never get the landscape views, and that was probably the best part of the hotel for me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Nice property, with a lot of charm and historic character. Definitely spring for the garden view and note that although you might have a better view on the higher levels, we enjoyed our stay in Room 105 which was lovely and spacious-- it had an adjacent upstairs loft area with 2 single beds which would be great for a family with young kids. An added bonus was that it was only one level of stairs to get to street level. (The small elevator was a bit slow.) We were pleasantly surprised that the Palazzo also offered inexpensive wine for sale (from a barrel on the countertop) by the glass and carafe-- it was nice to be able to sip some wine in the garden and watch the beautiful sunset from the terrace. All the staff we encountered were friendly and courteous.
Free parking was a nice feature. Be sure that when you set your GPS, you take the route by the Porta San Marco gate. (Siena is closed to traffic in sections- not all city gates will get you to the Palazzo.) Breakfast was good (loved the croissants and their multi-grain, seeded bread-yum!) Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed in Siena for three days and booked at the Palazzo Ravizza on the basis of tripadvisor reviews and price. We were not disappointed. On checking in, we were given a room with a garden view over the hills west of the city. It was beautiful. The room was charming and the location was ideal for us. It was only a four-minute walk from the duomo but was pretty quiet. The staff greeted us warmly and gave us consistently good restaurant recommendations after carefully inquiring about what kind of dining experience we were looking for. In our case, we were aiming for a warm trattoria with a modern twist and they came through.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a modern hotel with workers at every corner, this is not it. If you'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gijon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is very charming. The standard room was a little small and is not suited for longer stays. The views we had on the garden and the typical Tuscany landscape were very nice. You will hear the neighbors arriving at night, as the hotel is located in a historical building. The bed was a little too hard for a good night sleep, but this of course is very personal. The breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had stayed at the Palazzo Ravizza, an 18th c. building that had been used as a pensione since the 1920s, the last time were in Siena, in 2001. We booked there again, although we were disappointed that their excellent restaurant was no longer open. We had our choice of rooms, and took a more expensive one than originally booked because it had a desk and more space for bags. We took our bags to our room, then moved our rental car to the secure (and free) parking area at the back and climbed many steps to return to the hotel. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

A simply great experience. Francesca is a real gem. I hope the management realize what a great employee she is. Very helpful advice, clear directions, pleasant demeanor always. Hotel has been operating as a hotel for many years. The rooms are good sized and very comfortably furnished. Location could not be better. And they have their own parking lot right behind the building. So you can drive right up to the hotel, unload your bags and drive round to the car park and you are ready to go! Parking and breakfast were included. The breakfast was extremely nice. Fresh fruits, cheeses, meats, juices, cereals. Will stay there again next time for sure. Like the parking and location the best. Nothing I did not like. There simply is nothing not to like about this place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Address: Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Ravizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.