We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Palazzo Ravizza to your Saves list
Palazzo Ravizza
Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Spent 4 days in Siena to attend a conference.
From reception (Francesca), to the interesting room, this was a great experience.
Check in was easy and Francesca very obliging. Good advice all round.
Old building. Reworked as an interesting comfortable old world type hotel
Basic breakfast and unpretentious staff.
Well worth a visit. Nicely situated to walk through the old town

Room Tip: Request garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    244
    64
    18
    13
See reviews for
92
508
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billerica, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed in room 50 a tower room with a fantastic view of the valley. Room was large and bed was very comfortable Typical breakfast with good espresso and cappuccino. Service was very good. Front desk staff was very friendly. Ariol at the front desk was particularly helpful with restaurant reservations. We had chosen 3 restaurants using trip advisor. He made reservations at 2 of them and emailed to let us know that the 3rd had a fixed menu and to decide when we got there. He was right. Garden behind the hotel is a great place to relax with a bottle of wine after long days of sightseeing. There is also a big room inside if the weather is not good. Parking is gated and safe although there is a long climb up the stairs back to the hotel. Very close to everything in Siena. Only complaint, and it is a minor one, is that there is a school across the street and the children can be very loud in the morning if your window is open.

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs, room 50 in the tower has a great view of the valley. Elevator goes to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were recently supposed to honeymoon in Italy and were staying at the Palazzo Ravizza for part of the trip. Due to hurricane Sandy hitting the East Coast of the US, our flight to Italy was canceled and our trip inevitably cancelled as well.

Although we haven’t gotten to stay yet, we can’t say enough about the hospitality we received from the staff at the Palazzo Ravizza. They were overly accommodating in the booking and cancellation process. We are going to try to postpone our honeymoon trip in the future and we will be sure to rebook with them because of the level of professionalism they showed us during this misfortunate situation. If you are looking for a hotel, I would recommend booking with them based off the high level of hospitality they have shown us during this circumstance.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was a jewel in the rough for sure. It's so "discreet", just on the outside wall of Siena at the Porta Due. Ask for a room overlooking the garden and up high and you'll be stunned when you open the window to the most breathtaking view of the Tuscan Hills and Countryside. The staff are the ultimate professionals and friendly and all speak impeccable English. The Pillows and Duvet Cover were so comfortable I would have loved to buy and take back to the states. The room was quite large by Italian standards and the bath although a little small, was functional and the shower quite acceptable. We stayed in 4 different towns/hotels during this past trip and the Palazzo Ravizza was our absolute favorite. DO have them make a reservation for you at Nonna Gina's, just a half block away. It was quaint, reasonably priced and PACKED. The essense of a great little neighborhood restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens and at least 3 floors up. You'll just want to stand and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The location is perfect (only a couple of minutes walk to Piazza del Campo). The staff are so helpful and friendly. The view from the back of the hotel is absolutely stunning!!!!! This was an overall wonderful experience. From the moment we checked in, we were thrilled to be there. The room we had was incredibly spacious, even by U.S. standards, so it was HUGE by European standards! The wine on tap in the lobby was incredibly convenient, and we very much enjoyed drinking it while enjoying the stunning views of Tuscany at the back. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very nice building and decoration, very nice garden, very nice room and view (ask a view on the garden), excellent beds. Breakfast is perfect. Only point : for this price, a bath is expected and not only a shower.

Room Tip: On the garden and not on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Well, our room was okay. Great view and spacious but the bathroom/shower really showed its age. However, the garden is so lovely that you won't spend much time in your room anyway. More than once, I found my husband sitting out there with a carafe of wine relaxing (something he rarely does!). Breakfast was good, served outdoors which was wonderful in summer. It is also very well located with helpful staff. We were there the day prior to the Palio (mid August) so it was an exciting time to be in Siena.

Room Tip: Face the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Address: Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Ravizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.