We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Ravizza to your Saves list
Palazzo Ravizza
Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Siena
paris France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very nice building and decoration, very nice garden, very nice room and view (ask a view on the garden), excellent beds. Breakfast is perfect. Only point : for this price, a bath is expected and not only a shower.

Room Tip: On the garden and not on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    248
    65
    18
    13
See reviews for
95
520
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Well, our room was okay. Great view and spacious but the bathroom/shower really showed its age. However, the garden is so lovely that you won't spend much time in your room anyway. More than once, I found my husband sitting out there with a carafe of wine relaxing (something he rarely does!). Breakfast was good, served outdoors which was wonderful in summer. It is also very well located with helpful staff. We were there the day prior to the Palio (mid August) so it was an exciting time to be in Siena.

Room Tip: Face the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had read some reviews remarking the hotel's age, so I was a little concerned about that. Being mildly skeptical was perhaps a healthy attitude. For the things that matter, the hotel was very good. Room size was big and clean (we had a superior on the third floor), the mattresses were firm and towels, blankets and pillows new and updated (meaning their comfortable style). Shower had good pressure. Free Wifi worked fine in room. The location is excellent and it offers free parking. The backyard garden is very pleasant with great views.

Breakfast is OK. Bread very good, but a tad weak on the fruit section.

On the minus side, it does look a bit weary on the ground floor, but we hardly spent any time there. We would also had preferred a room facing the garden and not the street. The streets is not noisy though with the exception of a campanile which bell tolls every half our. Romantic to some, a nuisance to others.

Room Tip: call beforehand to ask how to get to parking. GPS will give you a free tour into a maze until you sw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our room was perfect. Clean, comfortable and a beautiful view of the garden and hillsides of Tuscany. The staff was polite and helpful. We were only able to stay for two nights and wish it could have been longer. What a treat to sip wine and watch the sunset from the garden area. Although the elevator was across the hall from our room, it was very quiet and private. We had the choice of eating breakfast in the garden area or inside.
This is not a modern hotel and we appreciated the decor - exactly what we would have expected in an authentic Siena hotel.
Easy to walk to the sites from this convenient location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Beautiful hotel, wonderful back terrace with a classic Tuscan view. We fell in love immediately and wanted to stay longer. Excellent service from all the staff. Very nice breakfast that we enjoyed out on the terrace. Handy Book shop. Loft room was charming and still spacious. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife booked a holiday in Tuscany for my 60th birthday present. Everything was excellent until we got to this hotel. The welcome started it off.We waited for over 10 minutes at reception, and were then eventually given our key to the "superior" room that we had paid extra for. We were shown where our cases were stored, and then left without any assistance to find our room, which was on the 3rd floor. When we came out of the lift, we literally waded through empty wine bottles, black sacks and dirty washing to our door. On entering the room smelt of cigarette smoke, and was not the standard of room that we expected It faced the road, not the gardens and hillsides that we expected and wanted.We decided to go back to reception to see if a mistake had been made, to be told that the room was indeed "superior" and that there were no superior rooms that overlook the garden, only suites. We were then offered a different room that was slightly better than the original. We got ready for dinner asap, as we were in need of a drink and the mini bar was empty.
We walked in to the gardens to see many rooms overlooking the gardens!! Breakfast the next morning was very disappointing, and so it went on. There was a food lift outside our room that has empty plastic bottles by it for the whole stay. Not good enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo - Brazil
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

When we entered our room at Palazzo Ravizza, I must confess we were a bit disappointed. It was the Garden Suite, a very large room opening directly to the garden at the back of the hotel, but it was a little worn (the table was lopsided, and we needed to put some folded paper under one of its feet to steady it; faded upholstery; old lining in the wardrobe). Since everything was spotlessly clean and the bed was very good, we decided to give it a try. And it was worth it. Our room was very quiet and the shower had a good pressure. Ariol and Francesca at the reception were extremely nice and gave us very good indications of restaurants and of a fabulous bakery – Il Magnifico – where we bought delicious Sienese pastries (panforte, cavalucci, ricciarelli – not to be missed). The hotel is inside Siena's walls, in a good and peaceful neighborhood, and it is very easy to walk to every attraction of this wonderful town. There is a secured garage on the back, and the view from the garden – which is very nice and well-tended - is simply magnificent! You could stay there all day watching the light over the beautiful Tuscan countryside.
Overall, the impression was positive. However, even as a three-star hotel, Palazzo Ravizza could use some improvements regarding decoration in the room (I can only speak for the Garden Suite, because I haven't seen the other rooms), because this is a beautiful and historical place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Address: Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#4 Best Value Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Ravizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.