We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay, unbelievable views from the garden terrace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Ravizza to your Saves list
Palazzo Ravizza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A must stay, unbelievable views from the garden terrace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here when we used Siena as our base in Tuscany. We couldn't have been happier with Palazzo Ravizza. For the price this is easily one of the best values I have ever experienced in a hotel. The rooms aren't overly big, especially by American standards, but they are comfortable and offer up amazing views outside your window if you are on the garden side. With that said, definitely make sure to book on the garden side to experience an amazing view of the countryside out your window in the morning and then again at sunset.
After exploring hill towns around Tuscany, each night we would have a glass or two of prosecco in the garden terrace which was a truly relaxing experience. The drinks are very cheap as well making it easy to enjoy another round.
The parking situation at the hotel is also unique in that they have gated private parking just inside the city walls. You don't have to contend with the narrow inner-city streets. You simply wind your way up the outside streets and then one quick turn and you are at the private gated lot below the gardens.
On our trip we also stayed at the Park Hyatt in Milan, the St. Regis in Florence and this hotel was the most memorable for the amazing views every morning and evening at sunset. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Siena. A truly must stay.

Room Tip: Book a high-floor garden side room. The standard rooms are clean and comfortable as well as afforda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    265
    66
    18
    13
See reviews for
101
561
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

After all the great reviews, I had high hopes when we booked this property. As other reviewers have said, maybe booking through hotels.com was the problem. But we still paid quite a bit so were caught off guard by several things. The main problem for us was our room. Although it looked out over the garden and the property's amazing views, the room itself was pitiful. It was tiny and very run down. Mold on the ceilings and everything felt very dingy. However, I think if we had a different room, our experience would have been much better (and we tried to change rooms but were told there were none available.) We saw several other rooms while we were there and it was like being in a different hotel. So much nicer and spacious. And overall, the property itself is nice. The garden is a great place to enjoy the sunset with a glass of wine. Breakfast was good. The location is good for being able to walk to all the main sites.
In addition to our room, the other disappointment for us was some of the staff. The gentleman who checked us in was not friendly at all and seemed to only give us information on an as needed basis. We had to call down or stop back several times just to get basic information like when and where breakfast was and how to access wifi. We had interactions with several other desk attendants who were much friendlier. And every time I saw this gentleman interact with other people he was kind and helpful. But for some reason from the time we arrived, he seemed to have no interest in us. It was definitely off-putting. The only thing we could come up with was our reservation made through hotels.com but this seems like a ridiculous reason to treat customers poorly. So many other people rave about this property and we were really disappointed that our experience did not match theirs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Siena itself is fantastic, but this hotel is just a good. We stayed for four nights and felt right at home. The location is great and within walking distance to all the main sights. The room we had was big and spacious and overlooked the gardens and the beautiful Tuscan countryside. The gardens were a peaceful way to escape the hustle and bustle of the crowds. We spent a couple of nights just sipping on some red wine watching the sunset and relaxing. The two ladies who we encountered at reception could not do enough for us, and organised a hire car for us over the phone. We didn't have to do a thing. Siena is beautiful and if I do come back,I will again stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden as it is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, ma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I would like to reiterate exactly what the prior post said (another couple from Boston ). We couldn't have been more pleased! The staff were always available to assist and out room was lovely. It was room 11 on the 2nd floor overlooking the most incredible view of the Tuscan hills. They serve a nice continental breakfast with lots of choices and having wine in the garden before going to dinner was so nice.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had read great reviews so decided to stay here. We booked through hotel.com and maybe that was the problem but we got a room on the ground floor looking out at the street - people could see in walking by, and it was dark and noisy. The location is good, the grounds are lovely but I can't say it was a 5 star rating for us. The staff seemed reluctantly helpful and seldom smiled.
We will definitely re-visit Siena but will likely look at other options.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have just returned from two weeks in Italty. The hotel highlight of the trip was four nights at the Palazzo Ravizza. Great location, beautiful accormodations. Incredible views over the Tuscan hillside. Easy walk to all the sights. Traditional breakfast served in the garden or a lovely room. Evening wine or drinks on the patio garden overlooking the hills. Parking a real plus if you are touring the Tuscan towns. Staff was very helpful for resaurants and directions. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights during our 2 weeks in Tuscany. The welcome was warm and we found all the staff to be so during our stay.
The Palazzo itself is a lovely building and has retained the original style. All communal areas are nicely put together and the garden is a joy after a days sightseeing.
Our room faced the garden and was nicely decorated. The bathroom was on the small side and not that modern but that is to be expected in a place like this. There are shutters on the windows which completely black out the room and guarantee a good nights sleep.
Breakfast was the best we had all trip - there's a great choice and it's all very fresh. You eat on the terrace and garden so it's a nice way to start the day.
The location couldn't be better - it's so close the centre (compared to our hotel in Florence) and I would not hesitate to stay here again.
Siena is a beautiful city and so nice for relaxing on an evening with a glass of wine and 'people watching' - we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Address: Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ravizza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Ravizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.