We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour with Barbara...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siena Tours by Barbara

Siena Tours by Barbara
Siena, Italy
+39 347 506 5700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 40 Tours & Activities in Siena
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: My tours are conceived for small groups, families, single travellers interested in making their holiday a real experience of life, out of crowded and unpersonal standard guided tours. Structured on the visitor's main interest, from art to food, my tours are based on a deep knowledge of the area and on a fifteen years experience in communication.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great Tour with Barbara...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Just finished a 3hr tour with Barbara, walking around Siena. Glad I found her on here and we did this.

The town itself is very quaint and worth a visit. We are staying here just one night, and while is can probably be very nice just wandering around the cobblestone streets and alleys and wiling away a few hours sitting sipping Cappuccino on the Piazza del Campo square, doing a private walking tour with Barbara gives you a whole different viewpoint of this charming town that you would never get.

Not only did she explain the history of Siena throughout the ages, but she took us to some areas that no tourists seemed to be which was really cool. Her explanation of the the different Cantada's (social clubs) of the city that have existed for centuries along with their rivalry, pride and how they are integral to the social and political make-up of Siena was fascinating. Her account of the Palo, the big ancient horse race traditional festival in Siena and how it affects all aspects of Siena and the city was also great....

If you do the 3hr tour (she does 2 or 3hr tours) she can take you to more places and into the Duomo which is pretty damn spectacular and we just came from St. Peters in Rome which is over the top and this cathedral definitely is on a similar level...very impressive and beautiful.

Def recommend Barbara if you want to get a taste of real Siena. She also gave us great recommendations for some places to eat, which in Italy while you're traveling is always a big plus! :).

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Friendly, Informative 2 hour tour of Siena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We were only in Siena for 2 nights and wanted to get a good understanding of the city and it's history and I found this site on TripAdvisor a couple of weeks before we visited and had never had a private guide before so we were unsure of what to expect.

We were very pleasantly surprised. Our guide Barbara met us at our hotel exactly on time, she was friendly, a local and her knowledge, explanations and stories were exactly what we were after. She took us for a walking tour in and around the city of Siena, explained about it's history, the people and gave us a great background and information to better appreciate and understand Siena.

The 2 hours went by so quickly as Barbara guided us through the town, pointing out the various districts and the history behind The Palio di Siena and provided us with many tips as well as answering any questions that we had.

We would totally recommend taking a tour, to better appreciate Siena and you end up walking through the city after the tour with a better appreciation of what a wonderful city this is.

Go ahead, book a tour. :)

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Barbara and the real Siena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We were a group of 6 friends on a short tour of the region. We wanted a taste of the real Siena over a half day visit and with Barbara we really got that . She loves and lives the town .She showed us how the town breathes and the history guides the day to day actions of the people. We really did see what we wanted to see and came away amazed with what we saw in such a short length of time and how Barbara was able to introduce us to all of this. She has even written a book on the life of Siena which explains her involvement with the town! Yes this really is Siena as few would be able to explain it and has left us with memories of a super day. Tom

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drums, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best way to experience Siena!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Barbara was fabulous! We did a full day tour with her and she provided so much insight and education we never could have gained on our own. Walking this beautiful city was the best way to truly experience it and having a friendly, enthusiastic resident of the city to narrate all we saw and share her personal experiences with us was along with all the little details only a native would know or think to include was just wonderful! We visited a number of places in Italy and while we had a wonderful overall visit, Siena was our favorite!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugoj, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Siena, student city and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Center of study for one of the best universities in Europe, it is not just recognised for the quality of study, and even for greatness and structure of the buildings of the medieval times. the Cities like that it's part of culture of the great Roman imperium who ruled the south Europe for more than 800 years. A city that inspire all visitors who step inside the gates of the Siena city.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siena Tours by Barbara also viewed

 

Been to Siena Tours by Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siena Tours by Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.