We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View of the Historic Siena” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Minerva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Minerva to your Saves list
Hotel Minerva
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Garibaldi 72, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great View of the Historic Siena”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Hotel is located 5 blocks from the historic center. You have a great balcony with an amazing view of Old Siena. Remember to ask for the superior rooms that shares this special atribute.
The Room and the bathroom are really big, as for Europe standards.
Breakfast maybe a week point, but everything else really great, really nice and clean. Great Value, as it is not an expensive one. Nice rest during nightime, very quiet.

Room Tip: Choose superior room with balcony, you won´t regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Zebaztian,

we are glad you appreciated your stay in our hotel. We hope that you will come to visit us again, in one of your future holiday in Europe.
Best wishes from Hotel Minerva's staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    205
    121
    47
    15
See reviews for
71
243
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Good location, about 10-15minutes walk from the historic centre, although this will involve an uphill climb to get there.

The room is on the small side, though clean and comfortable enough. The view from our first floor room was incredible - a panoramic view of the city.

On the downside, the bed covers looked like they could be hand-me-downs from granny. The walls also seemed to be paper thin and you could hear the TV in the next room.

The service was ok. It seemed to depend on who was at the front desk - some were friendlier than others.

Other info:
Parking costs EUR12 a night.
Wi-Fi cost EUR3 per 12 hours, but there is a computer in the lobby should you not wish to purchase wi-fi.
Hairdryer was pretty rubbish.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear guest,

many thanks for your commentary. I'm glad that after all you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Kind regards from Hotel Minerva's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is close to the train station but I recommend taking a taxi as it is all up hill. There is about a 5-10 minute walk to the main square, again up hill. The hotel is nice and clean. My room was a single which was not huge but more than enough room for me and the bathroom is very clean. I had a balcony which had good views. The wi fi only worked in the lobby. breakfast was pasteries, fruit, yogurt, juice, cofee...it was very good and fresh. There is an elevator, it is very small but it works great. I would stay there again. You cant beat the price for a hotel like this.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear world-wander,

me nad my colleagues are happy to know that you enjoyed your stayt in Hotel Minerva and that you loved our beautiful city.
Best wishes form Hotel Minerva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in Minerva for one night in Siena and it was surprisingly good hotel!
we were treated very warm by the guy from the reception and he provided us with all the necessary things.
The parking is convenient - close to the hotel entrance. Moreover they let us leave the car until 14-00 in the parking (after check-out) and we had an opportunity to explore the city before leaving it. The hotel is not in the city center but you can go there by foot in 20 min. Everything is close in Siena.
We got a double room with all facilities, actually i can say everything was really good, we had even a hairdryer which was nice.
For the price of 60 euros per night we got a double room with morning breakfast.
So we were quite content to stay there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Janna,

many thanks for you beautiful words about our hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at hotel Minerva.
We hope you will come to visit us again in a next future.
Kind regards from all my staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

For anyone visiting Siena in fall or winter, we can recommend Hotel Minerva as the place to stay. We made three trips to Siena in fall–winter 2012 and stayed each time at Minerva. As the old city of Siena is closed of vehicle traffic, coming to Minerva is easy with your car even though the hotel is situated inside the old walls. There's parking just outside the entrance and also a carage. The carage is 20€ extra per night. The hotel is within walking distance from all the Sienese attractions.
The rooms facing the city are better than the ones facing the street. So it's advisable to ask for a room with a view overlooking the northern part of the city and the Franciscan church. If you come to Siena in fall you will not be able to avoid the sometimes loud voice of the "Contrada Procession" which means a lot of drum sound. It can continue way into the night and will be audible inside the rooms. You will definitely wake up to another voice, namely the church bells. From 7 a.m. onwards there will be lovely bell ringing all through the morning from the various churches.
Some of the rooms have balcony and there are even suites with small patios with fence (ideal if you come with small children).
The rooms have a stone floor which is nice in the summer but can be a bit cold in the winter. Also, prepare to take warm clothes, night gowns and socks if you come in the winter as the rooms can be cold.
The breakfast is very Italian. Don't expect a North European style buffet with whole grain breads, bacon and eggs. You will be served lovely cappuccino, yoghurt, fruits and croissant. There's also toast with cheese and prosciutto.
Hotel Minerva staff is very friendly and cordial. The room cleaning is also very good and the bathrooms are always clean. Everything inside the hotel is working well. You can also have an wi-fi internet connection inside your room for a small extra charge.
We're looking forward to visiting Minerva again.
Eero and Caroline Antturi
Helsinki, Finland

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Eero,

many thanks for the commentary you left on this page. We are always happy to know you appreciated our rooms and the people who work in the hotel.
We know that you will come back very soon to visit us again and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel and beautiful town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Minerva for a relaxing week in Tuscany. When we walked into rtheour room for the first time and opened the curtains of our two French doors, the view took my breath away. Even better, we had a balcony so we could sit Outsider, have some wine and cheese and watch life in Sienna. The room wasn't huge, but a nice size for Europe. The included breakfast Buffet had cheese and ham, and hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit and a variety of bread and rolls along with espresso drinks. We were about half a mile from the center of town and all the sights.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Marthy,

thank you for the comment you left about us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Minerva and we hope you will come again to visit us.
Kind regards from Hotel Minerva's staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

It is a lovely place to stay in Siena. The room. was really big and also clean and comfortable. It has a huge balcony with a great view to the city, which was a pleasant surprise. The staff is friendly and breakfast very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Fefa,

many thanks for your commentary. I'm glad to know that you appreciated our hotel and the people working in it.
Kind regards from Hotel Minerva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minerva

Address: Via Garibaldi 72, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Minerva 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Otel, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerva Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Minerva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.