We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed lodging outside the tourist center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Garden to your Saves list
Hotel Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Custoza 2, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Fishers, Indiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Relaxed lodging outside the tourist center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Chose this hotel for a few days of relaxation after touring Siena and was not disappointed. Hotel is a 30 minute walk from the center of Siena but the tradeoff is a quiet and comfortable stay. Annex room was large if a bit dated. Very professional staff, great pool, great terrace view of Siena, and great breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear HoosierTr,
actually being out from the city centre allows to Hotel Garden to be surrounded from a huge garden, a swimming pool, a tennis court and a little forest.
Our three bulidings are few meter one from the other and have a variety of rooms satisfying all tastes and budgets.
Thaks for sharing your review on tripadvisor with the other travellers.

Regards

Massimo Indolfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    441
    143
    55
    24
See reviews for
197
544
27
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My suggestion would be to stay in this hotel if you are visiting Siena or as a base to see beautiful Tuscany. In other reviews the views and the staff are mentioned fondly and with good cause. Both are excellent. The restaurant is really good although breakfast can be a bit of a challenge when busy. Still the staff hare helpful and will arrange special requests with a smile at all times.

The Garden is an Italian 4 star which might not be the same as UK or US 4 star but is is very. Italian, charming and the rooms are spotless The pool is large and deep with a large child friendly pool, load of chairs and shades and pool towels.

Some complain about paying for wi fi. €5 for a week is hardly worth grumbling about and since it's not free it's fast as well

Bar prices were really good, a large beer and a Prosecco for 10Euros with endless snacks and a beautiful view is great value.

The Garden is about a mile from central Siena, an easy walk or short bus ride. Taxis also plentiful and good value. Not many restaurants very close but loads in Siena.

We stayed for 5 nights, had the half board package for 3 nights and B&B the rest. Hotel was happy to change arrangements.

A few reviews mentioned small rooms, don't be mean! We paid just €155 for a huge junior suite.

We met lots of nationalities and thoroughly enjoyed the stay

Room Tip: Book direct and ask for the junior suites in Belvedere The menu is quite short and does not change...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Steve fro,
thanks for spending your holidays with us and for living at full throttle our facilities, our restaurant, our bar and hopefully our swimming-pool.

We are glad we succeded in making your vacation positive and remarkable.

Regards

Massimo Indolfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Unfortunately we were disappointed with this hotel. First appearances are so important and ours was that it needed updating - the curtains generally and hotel bedding were from several decades ago! Our bedroom was in a separate annexe and was 2 floors down from ground level. It was such a depressing room - dark red tiled floor / dark furniture / outdated furnishings / unattractive small patio which got no sun because of tall trees which also prevented light coming into the room. It wasn't until we went for breakfast that we knew whether it was a sunny day or not! As for breakfast this was another disappointment - not much choice of hot food and at times inedible scrambled egg / rock hard bread rolls/ poor selection of fresh fruit / lack of cutlery. More staff were needed to take orders and make drinks in the evening especially when the coach trips arrived. On the plus side the hotel is only a 20 mins walk from centre of Siena, the pool is well maintained and the reception staff were helpful and efficient.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room on this lower level
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear HofSurrey,
Thanks for sharing your opinion with the other travellers. Actually we do not have any rooms located two floors down from the ground floor.
In both annexes the entrance is from a bridge: In Casabianca the entrance is from the 2nd floor (upper floor) and then clients go down to 1st. floor and ground floor.
In Poggiarello/Belvedere annexe the entrance is from the bridge of the 1st. floor (upper floor) and then clients can go down to the ground floor.
I suppose that only the fact the you go down can give the impression to go under the groundfloor, but you don't.

Regards

Massimo Indolfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Just returned from staying 10 days in this lovely hotel. Hotel is in a wonderful position in large gardens with a stunning view of Siena from the lovely terrace. The room originally shown to us was too small, being in the main villa, however the friendly staff were very willing to show us other rooms which were more spacious, and we finally settled into a room in the Belvedere annex. The room was kept very clean and tidy by the maids and was overall comfortable but could have done with redecorating as the décor was a little dated, this did not detract from our stay though. The staff were at all times helpful and friendly and a credit to the owners. I must mention Alta the barman, who was very friendly and played excellent music whilst we enjoyed an early evening drink on the terrace most evenings. Would definitely recommend a stay at this hotel. Perfect position for anyone not wanting to stay right in the busy centre of Siena. Ideal if you have a hire car as there is ample parking which is free. The food in the hotel was generally good but could have wished for a bit more variety as the menu did not change during our 10 day stay. If we return to Siena in the future this is the hotel we would return to.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miltonkeynes
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We have just returned form a holiday in Siena. This hotel ticked all the boxes for us. We did not want a hotel in the centre but a little bit out of town. One that had a restaurant , a pool and car parking. The centre is about 30 minutes stroll away or there is a bus right outside that will take you into town. It is a busy hotel but they make you feel welcome and valued. All the staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable, some do not have a bath so make sure you request if you need a bath. It is set in a quiet position with some nice gardens and view of the centre from the terrace. Plenty of seating. Lovely supervised pool, a little on the chilly side and good sunbeds. Tennis courts on site if you are feeling the need to expel some more energy after all the sightseeing. Atla the barman has an excellent way with all the customers and he was pleasure to watch, a lovely relaxed manner with a nothing is too much trouble attitude. The restaurant manager introduced himself to all the customers and made you feel welcome. Reception staff were helpful and suggested things to do and were very knowledgeable. The fact that we could only speak a little Italian was not a problem. There is also a bus just a few yards from the entrance that takes you to Florence in about an hour and 15 minutes. It was the ideal location to stay to explore the chianti region and some very interesting towns. We stayed 7 nights and could have still found lots more to do. The breakfast was complimentary on our deal and it was good with a selection of items including fresh fruit. Better than other hotels we have stayed at in Italy. We would have paid much more if this hotel was in the UK so we thought it offered very good value.

Room Tip: Rooms in the block that was unattached to the main hotel were quite dark due to tree cover. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed here due to business, and would recommend to anyone thinking of staying in Siena. Bus outside the door, so very handy location - but just as easy to walk anywhere as well. Great breakfast, clean rooms, amazing view, housekeeping was very friendly and efficient, front desk staff were very helpful, management was attentive - and then there was the barman Atla. He was the icing on the cake! Best mojitos in town, extremely friendly and so very good at his job. A real asset to this hotel! Thank you to all the staff who made this work trip just that extra bit more enjoyable - and a special thanks to Atla!! You really made our stay fun.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. 15 min walk to walls. Regular bus service. Fantastic swimming pool and large grounds. Loungers that don't collapse, always a bonus. The staff are extremely helpful. The 2 stars are the manager Donato and barman Atla. They know how to make their guests feel special and looked after. Other hotels could learn a lot them. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden

Address: Via Custoza 2, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestigious Villa dated back to the 1700, located in the north part of the city, just 10 minutes form the historical centre. The large rooms are divided between the main building; different in style and colours with classic refined furnishings. The restaurant “ La Limonaia” offers typically Tuscan tastes with panoramic view. Halls will surroundyou with their frescoes in the reading room and bar area. A large ancient oaks park and a roses garden host an open air swimming pool and a tennis court. Large meeting and banqueting area. Private parking for cars and buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.