We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the madding crowd” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garden

Save Saved
You added Hotel Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Custoza 2, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 43 hotels in Siena
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Away from the madding crowd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Garden Hotel is a very friendly, well managed, and well appointed hotel, but without the five-star sizzle. Nice pool area, and pleasant restaurant with great view of the towers of Siena from the large outdoor area. Rooms certainly comfortable, and spacious, again just not flash, but not looking tired either. Nice grounds for a stroll.
Only a 4 euro, 15 minute bus ride into the city, with the stop right outside the hotel. Plenty of parking too - nothing like the usual Italian city hotel set-up.
Would recommend the Garden to couples or families wanting a reasonably priced base from which to explore Siena and beyond.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear KiwiKew2013,

Thanks for remarking our Hotel’s virtues and the strong points of our facilities.
We are glad to hear that you full enjoyed our ample terrace, our huge garden and the amazing view our clients can admire having dinner or drinking a cocktail at our American bar.

The warm season is the best time to live our beautiful open space.

Thanks again

Massimo Indolfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    397
    405
    130
    53
    24
See reviews for
164
469
23
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Garden for two nights and the experience was wonderful. the rooms are very comfortable and spacious. The terrace is sooooo inviting you could spend all you time there in the peaceful surroundings. The bar is well stocked and the Barman and staff are very efficient and friendly. The view from the terrace is spectacular. The hotel is convenient for the old town and the bus stops very close to the hotel. Will definitely return to Hotel Garden.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Mockymo,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Garden Hotel I very much appreciated your comments, you dedicated to us a really wonderful reiew. You have highlighted all that we stand for in discreet yet excellent and prompt service in a relaxed way....

We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit, let me know if I can personally be of any assistance,

My best regards
Gianluigi Rubbioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Hotel Garden is a wonderful hotel with excellent staff and facilities. Nothing is too much trouble and ALL the staff are friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was superb and not too expensive. The bar, run by an extremely efficient barman, was also amazing and enabled us to unwind after a tiring day sight-seeing. The selection of snacks on the bar was very varied and the music played during the evening was just right.

There was a slight issue a lack of sunbeds one day, but this was corrected the next day.

The Hotel is perfectly situated for bus stops and the train station is a short walk away.

I can thoroughly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Linden
It is so nice to hear that you have liked our restaurant and bar service and food, especially when you are in Tuscany, such a renowned land for his food and wine and culture……
Atla is our barman, actually he is more than that, he is our pride and we are glad you appreciate the passion he does his job with.
I apologize for the sun beds, we already took measures for it, to avoid future inconvenient.
Thanks for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor, it help us to work at our best and improve our job.

Regards
Massimo Indolfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Wonderful hotel. The name "Garden" suits it perfectly. The hotel is an amazing garden, wonderful rooms and great service.

The hotel is not far from the old city and the center. The bus is very easy to use and the bus station is very close to the hotel. Also very easy to get to the main sites.

We enjoyed every moment in the hotel and were very sorry we had to leave.

Hareuveny Family,
Israel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Avraham H,

Thank you so much for your nice review on Tripadvisor following your visit to the Garden Hotel in Siena. I am so pleased that your visit was such a success,

"The hotel is an amazing garden, wonderful rooms and great service....."
nothing more to say except... Thank you again!

We look forward to your return,
Gianluigi Rubbioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Very nice hotel. The staff are so friendly and extremely helpful with local knowledge, tours, etc. outstanding outdoor pool with a pool slide cantina and towels. We were there during the Palio horse race. If you have the opportunity do not miss this. The excitement in the town is contagious. The hotel is a little out of the town centre but the outdoor pool and evening meal makes up for it. You can walk into town in about 15 minutes or a city bus goes right by the hotel. It truly is a little bit of paradise when you are sitting on the large patio enjoying a glass wine in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Lois705,

Thank you for your charming review about our Hotel in Siena, we are working very hard to satisfied all the clients needs. We like to offer our guests as many replenishments as they like of sandwiches, croissants, fresch fruits, scones and pastries during the breakfast or the aperitiv time at the Bar with Atla with his tasty tapas.... the best Barman in town.

I also like that you spend a bit of your time at the pool, during the summer i think is the best place to spend a lazy afternoon.

Our best regards,
Gianluigi Rubbioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We really had a wonderful experience during our five day stay. The hotel is set in its own grounds with fantastic views of Siena and being able to park a car was really convenient. The bed linens and towels were crisp and fresh. Service in the restaurant was superb and the food well presented. The barman really made our holiday with exceptional service. We would certainly stay again and tell our friends about the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Janice N,

Thank you for your glowing report of your recent experience at the Garden Hotel of Siena. We pride ourselves on providing a calm and relaxing atmosphere with discreet service.

I am pleased we were able to make your stay memorable for you and I do hope you will return back soon.

Our warmest regards
Gianluigi Rubbioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden

Address: Via Custoza 2, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestigious Villa dated back to the 1700, located in the north part of the city, just 10 minutes form the historical centre. The large rooms are divided between the main building; different in style and colours with classic refined furnishings. The restaurant “ La Limonaia” offers typically Tuscan tastes with panoramic view. Halls will surroundyou with their frescoes in the reading room and bar area. A large ancient oaks park and a roses garden host an open air swimming pool and a tennis court. Large meeting and banqueting area. Private parking for cars and buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.