We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Garden to your Saves list
Hotel Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Custoza 2, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Middleton, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Hotel Garden and wish we had more time there. We were in a budget room, but never felt like we were treated any differently than the high end guests. Our room was spacious and quiet. The breakfast was wonderful and the terrace couldn't be beat. We loved the bartender who had a great sense of humor. The walk to the city center is really easy. This city and hotel are definitely on our list of places to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Barbscott1,
it is nice to hear that you enjoyed your time at Hotel Garden and actually I am so envious you spent the evening on the terrace drinking Atla’s precious cocktails…..they are gorgeous!
We are glad you really experienced the open and wide spaces we have, from the bar and the restaurant terrace to the swimming pool.
Our Staff thanks you for leaving this review on tripadvisor and for sharing your impression and hints with the other travelers.
Best Regards
Massimo Indolfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    440
    142
    55
    24
See reviews for
197
544
27
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My (new!) husband and I spent one night in Hotel Garden as part of our honeymoon and it was excellent. The staff were indredibly friendly (esp the barman) and professional. The pool is great and the rooms beautiful, clean and bright. Lots of free nibbles and we were given complimentary champagne! It is a 25 minute walk into Siena though so not for those who want to be in the middle of things. Because of that, we ate in the hotel restaurant and like most places in Tuscany, the food was great (if not a little overpriced).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Sara G,
CONGRATULATIONS!!! first of all!

We are glad that our hotel and our land, Tuscany, realized dreams and wishes you planned to how to spend your honeymoon.

This really is a magic land, for atmosphere, culture, relax. Siena is one of Tuscany's pearls and at Hotel Garden we try every day to keep up with the beauties and values of this area......and let's not forget that our hotel is 15 minutes driving distance from the heart of chianti and its wine "Nectar of the Gods"

Hope to see you again, hopefully for your first anniversary to celebrate with us.

Regards

Massimo indolfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Really nice hotel in a beautiful place, amazing staff, very friendly, would love to go back one day soon, nice walk into town but in a peaceful area. Lovely breakfast, lovely terrace for a drink and a nice atmosphere

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Travis B,
the atmosphere is Always a mix between the location, the mood and the persons.

I strongly believe that when the atmosphere is nice at our hotel it is for first because the guests like you, with your courtesy, congeniality and sympathy bulid a connection with the staff, with the other clients and with the structure itsself.

This is a very nice reaction which makes all the climate around special and all our staff thanks you for this.

We really hope to welcome you again at Hotel Garden in Siena

Ciao

Massimo Indolfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This charming hotel is about 10 minutes outside city center but has a lovely view of Siena from the patio. Our too was clean except the bed was very hard even for european standards. The hotel gets its name from the rose garden at the front of the property. Take the time to walk and relax.there or better yet take a glass of wine and relax.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear khgiblin
your words really describes Hotel Garden and we wish each of our guests would feel like that.

From the huge garden to the ample terrace and patio, passing through the open swimming pool, that is all we want our clients can experience and enjoy.

The 125 rooms, located in 3 different building have various size and interior furnishing to give all travelleres a wide choice.

The keyword at our hotel, as you mentioned is ......RELAX!

I am glad you did that!!

Massimo Indolfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We arrived Siena by train. Originally we planned to go to the hotel by taxi, but unfortunately we missed the taxi station and right away took the travellators up to the main road where no taxi could be found. At the end, after consulting the locals, we walked to the hotel. Though within walking distance, it's not a good experience anyway with two heavy luggages:(. After arriving the hotel front gate, it was a totally nightmare when seeing a long stone pathway in front of us. When I went to the reception counter informing the lady that I had left my wife and two luggages at the gate, she immediately sent a strong guy to help us carrying the luggages to the hotel lobby. Thanks for the help! The room was at the annex of the main building and easily accessible. The room was nicely decor. The hotel restaurant offered great menu and great view to the old town with outdoor seating. The breakfast buffets were great with good varieties of foods and drinks. The swimming pool was a good place to exercise before going for sightseeing at the old town. Must choose Hotel Garden again when visiting Siena in future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear UncleDanny,

except the "hard" start ... I see that your vacation here at The Garden went well, for the next time try to call our front desk they will provide for you the tranfer or a taxi from the Station, much more easy and relaxing for you.
Thanks to have appreciated our hotel and restaurant, which is why we work every day to ensure the best service.

Really, really.... thanks
Gianluigi Rubbioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently returned from 8nights in Italy for our Honeymoon, Four in this fantastic hotel, Four in another which was double the price but We can honestly say that this was by far the better hotel.
The service was effortlessly excellent, the atmosphere made us feel welcome whether we were drinking in the bar, playing cards on the terrace or relaxing in the afternoon.
The speed at which the breakfast buffet was replenished meant that there was always plenty of everything and how could you not want breakfast sat under the grape vines on the terrace. We made use of the pool and although one day there were no sun loungers available it was still nice to lie on the grass next to the pool and it was fab to see that there were toilets down by the pool as well.
The endless supply of nibbles available from late afternoon at the bar meant that no-one ever need to go hungry and our first night meal in the restaurant was relaxed and delicious, Staff were accommodating even though we hadn't booked to have a meal that night.
Our room in the main building wasn't huge but it had all the space we needed and was kept clean, the selection of toiletries available came in handy too.
We had a hire car during our stay here and were always able to park in the ample parking which made getting out and about that bit easier and the surrounding gardens meant that the hotel was so peaceful.
I cant recommend this hotel enough and we have already been trying to work out if we could stay here again.... rumour has it Rome is only 2hours away, we drove to Florence in about an hour and the drive across the country from Pisa was Beautiful. Thank you Hotel Garden for making our Honeymoon everything we hoped it would be.
PS If you stay here, get them to book you a table at La Taverna San Guiseppe.... Best meal in Italy by far!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Emily P,

What should I say .... thanks, thanks, thanks!!
Our staff always try to meet your needs and even just for a few days they trying to make you feel as a King, relaxing you under the Tuscan sun.
We work hard to guarantee the best service from the reception with helpful and smiling people to the bar where we prepare every day nice and tasty tapas for the evening aperitif (always much appreciated from the guests).
We dedicate time and care of all the other services within the hotel, the swimming pool, tennis court (kids love it) and terrace restaurant with the awesome view on the old town.

Waiting for you soon,
Greeting from Siena
Gianluigi Rubbioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My expectations were pretty high after doing my homework and picking the Garden for our stay in Siena. I was not disappointed


The staff at the hotel (with the exception of the dinner service at the restaurant) was exceptional. Atla and Georgiana provided amazing service and the desk staff were always very happy to help with every need.

The breakfast was the best of the four hotels we've stayed in so far and in the afternoon there was a vast array of free snacks set out in the lounge/terrace area. The views of Siena are really beautiful and there are bountiful tables/couches and umbrellas to enjoy them from.

The pool area is really nice and very clean. One suggestion for the management - invest in a heater - the water was so cold during our stay that we couldn't really enjoy it. Aside from that and our service at dinner, the Garden was fabulous.

We stayed in the main building and our rooms were quite nice and appeared to be recently updated. The double was a bit small but just fine for two while the triple was quite large.

I will not hesitate to recommend this spot to friends/ family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Fastpitchcoach81,
it is unusual to be reviewed as TREMENDOUS and it makes us happy, because we succeeded in satisfying you stay in our Hotel. I agree with 100% about Atla, he is “Atla The Great” to us and i also agree with you about the pool, but actually this year weather and climate rowed against us from the beginning of the season…..”where is that nice and hot Italian weather that urge you to jump into the fresh water to be refreshed?!”…. We are waiting for it…...too bad.
We are glad you appreciate the rooms and the location with its facilities and relaxing areas and we hope to see you again at Hotel Garden.
Thanks to you and all your family

Massimo Indolfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden

Address: Via Custoza 2, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestigious Villa dated back to the 1700, located in the north part of the city, just 10 minutes form the historical centre. The large rooms are divided between the main building; different in style and colours with classic refined furnishings. The restaurant “ La Limonaia” offers typically Tuscan tastes with panoramic view. Halls will surroundyou with their frescoes in the reading room and bar area. A large ancient oaks park and a roses garden host an open air swimming pool and a tennis court. Large meeting and banqueting area. Private parking for cars and buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.