We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garden

Save Saved
You added Hotel Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Custoza 2, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 43 hotels in Siena
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Friendly helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I am a single traveller, and was shown a single room in the main building with a view of the garden. The room was quite small, so they offered me a double room in the outer building which was nicer but without a view. However it did have a balcony.
This room was lovely, large and clean. TV had many channels, but I didn't find one in English.
The buffet breakfast was great, especially if you like cakes and tarts among other things, for breakfast, with really good coffee.
I found the staff to be really friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble, especially at the front desk when I was deciding what to do.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Kuatarina M,

Lovely traveler! We always try to satisfy your needs, especially now during the low season when we can also offer you the free upgrade to the Superior or Deluxe rooms, more spacious and with special attention to the details and the services.

We hope to see you soon,
Gianluigi Rubbioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    397
    405
    130
    53
    24
See reviews for
164
469
23
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spicewood, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Garden in January and were pleased. Although the hotel and rooms were somewhat dated, the staff and the availability of on site parking made it a great place to stay when you are driving. The breakfast selection was incredible and the food in their dining room was such that you didn't want to eat anyplace else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband was in Siena on business, and I went along with him and stayed at the Hotel Garden. Its a beautiful hotel, about a 15 minute walk outside of the old city walls. Not ideal that we were not closer to the city, but it was walkable so not a huge deal.

The hotel is beautiful, the outside terrace has a lovely view of the city. I would have preferred free internet, but they ended up giving us 24 hours for free anyway. The TV in the room got tons of channels. The room and bathroom were nice and clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was nice.

The only thing I wasn't thrilled with was the location of the room. We were in the Belvedere building and had to go outside, around the corner and into what felt like a basement area to get to our room. The view from our room was of the rooms across the way, which was a shame because most of the hotel has amazing views.

If you're going here, stay in the main building facing south if you can so you get better views.

Room Tip: If you're going here, stay in the main building facing south if you can so you get better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear sypremeks,

we wish to thank you very much for staying at The Garden Hotel, as you can see we try to improve our services every day with a nice help from our customers, I also thank for the nice review.

We have more than 100 rooms and all different one to the other, somethimes is difficult also for us understand your needs, but I hope that you have enjoyed us and the nice city of Siena.

Hope to have you in Siena again
Our Best Regards
Gianluigi Rubbioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were delighted with this hotel. Our room was in the main building overlooking the terrace with a fantastic view of the Sienna skyline. The hotel is quiet since it is located in a garden. The room was spacious and well maintained. The staff was always friendly, polite and helpful. The bar was stocked with numerous free nibbles, the bartender was outstanding, and the terrace adjoining was a friendly gathering place with a fantastic view of Sienna. The dining room has a limited menu, but everything we tried was delicious and served by a friendly staff. A city bus does run part of the way into the historic part of Sienna, but it is quite a walk after you get off the bus. We were there a week and after seeing Sienna we found it an easy take off for the small towns of Tuscany, east, south, north and west. Parking was free. I highly recommend the Garden Hotel.

Room Tip: Main building with view overlooking Sienna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Imaromer,

If you recommend our Hotel to other travelers you do not really know how to thank you.

You described our hotel better than any advertising, we really want to make our customers feeling a bit 'special, in a Villa surrounded by a beautiful natural and historical context without forgetting the lovely cusine and the excellent drinks and tapas from the bar... the view from the room I have to say is priceless!

We are waiting for your new trip to Siena and do not forget to let your friends know!

Thanks,
Gianluigi Rubbioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent a month driving round Italy in May and just turned up at hotels and B&B unannounced. With no advanced bookings we did come unstuck a couple of times, but we also had the good fortune of coming across some really nice places, like this one. Our two requirements were that it had to have free parking, yet be close enough to the centre for us to leave the car and walk. Hotel Gaden ticked both boxes with plenty of parking and a leisurely 30 minute walk into Siena, very pleasant on a warm afternoon. If you decide to take a stroll though you may need to bear in mind that the hotel is on the hilly outskirts, quick to walk down into town, a bit slower on the way back uphill, especially after a nice meal! I understand there is a bus service you can take but after a day in the car and then consuming all that lovely food and wine, we were keen to do a BIT of exersise.

Back at the property, Hotel Garden benfits from gorgeous grounds, a lovely pool area and a great outdoor seating area with splendid views of Siena. The staff were polite and unobtrusive, which we liked. As "walk in" guests we had the benefit of being shown around some of the rooms, prior to making a decision. I must say that the standard rooms were nothing special and were in our view a little disappointing for a 4 star hotel. Nevertheless, they were functional and clean but if your budget affords it, go for the "superior" rooms, we did. The rooms are a descent size, full of character and if you are on the top floor of the main "Villa" building, they afford some lovely vistas through several huge windows. The bathroom was also big and bright. The bed was very comfortable and it was very quiet at night so we slept incredibly well, but I think being on the top floor helped.

Overall, a great place to stay in a good location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Alex I,

Define our hotel as a hotel with character makes us proud because it is the feeling that we want to convey to our customers.
Thank you for the wonderful review posted on Tripadvisor, I hope that it'll be useful to future travelers looking for a nice and quite hotel with a great and personal service.

thank you so much,
Gianluigi Rubbioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during our summer tour of italy and had a lovely time, the hotel is situated a good 20minutes walk from the city centre but is in a lovely quiet spot on an elevated position above the surrounding area. Rooms are pretty basic but clean none the less and the pool area is very nice. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great place, staff so cool, good breakfast, free parking, lovely location with a good view of the city.

Yet, rooms although clean were a little old and could use some renewal.

Internet was to be paid, but they gave us for free, i don´t know why.

Rooms were a little far from the reception, outside the main building. Not recommended for women alone of family with kids. Not really sure if it´s safe.

In the end, the place is great. Really reccomend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden

Address: Via Custoza 2, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestigious Villa dated back to the 1700, located in the north part of the city, just 10 minutes form the historical centre. The large rooms are divided between the main building; different in style and colours with classic refined furnishings. The restaurant “ La Limonaia” offers typically Tuscan tastes with panoramic view. Halls will surroundyou with their frescoes in the reading room and bar area. A large ancient oaks park and a roses garden host an open air swimming pool and a tennis court. Large meeting and banqueting area. Private parking for cars and buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.