We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing - Don't miss it on your Cathedral tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biblioteca Piccolomini

Biblioteca Piccolomini
Piazza del Duomo, 53100 Siena, Italy
+39(0577)283048
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 81 things to do in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
708 reviews
316 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 552 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing - Don't miss it on your Cathedral tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is Stunning! The colours used on the Fresco's seem to be alive and it feels like it has just been painted. This is the best presented 'room' I have seen so far in Italy, and I've seen quite a few. Take the opportunity to sit around the edges and look at the detail.
NOT TO BE MISSED
Just be careful as this is part of the main Cathedral and while it is signposted it would be easy to miss.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    556
    74
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Go into the library”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had finished looking at the cathedral, been impressed by the Bernini and Donatello works and finally figured out which sculpture was the real Michelangelo when my wife asked if wanted to "go into the library--apparently it's part of the tour." Wow, am I glad we decided to go in! The colors are amazingly fresh. Really worth the visit, especially if you get lucky as we did and visit when there isn't much of a crowd.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This seems recently restored, and it looks like a box of jewels! Frescoes and ornamentation cover the upper walls and ceilings. Along the walls, below the frescoes and behind glass, are large illuminated manuscripts from the fifteenth century. This is a small room off the main Siena cathedral, but well worth the extra minutes. Don't miss it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing colors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

It is hard to believe the frescoes in here are hundreds of years old, they are so colorful and bright... it was fun to study the walls from the other side and discover pieces of gold attached to decorate capes, buckles and swords. True masterpieces! It is useful to take visit with a guide (ask at the desk once you're inside) or to rent a tablet so that you can understand the various scenes in the life of the Piccolomini pope to whom the "library" is dedicated.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
214 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Piccolomini Library”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I visited Siena with family in April. While in the Siena Cathedral, the Piccolomini Library is a must-see! It was quite crowded while we were there but you could take photos. Just beautiful!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biblioteca Piccolomini also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Biblioteca Piccolomini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biblioteca Piccolomini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.